We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Stuart

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Stuart
Castle Stuart | Petty Parish, Inverness IV2 7JH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Appleton, WI, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The interior has been lovingly restored to perfection, the staff are amazing, the atmosphere was perfect, and dinner with the piper is a must (I stole this review from a previous entry because it said it all). A stay will set you back some serious change, but it is worth every penny!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
66
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had the luck to spend a night in this fabulous castle in August. This is not an old castle done up to be like a modern hotel and that's what appealed to us. We stayed in the Battlement Suite and it was amazing. The staff really made us feel at home and their sense of humour was great! The meal was fabulous and worth the cost. It was a great experience having our own bagpiper announce that our dinner was ready! The attention to detail is obvious in every corner of this magical place. Don't expect huge because it's not but it is worth every penny!!

Room Tip: Ask for the haunted room...or second best is The Battlement Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent a night recently at Castle Stuart and were completely bowled over by everything really.
The castle itself is amazing and its history so interesting, this was told to us by the peerless Caroline who greeted us on our arrival latish in the evening. We were alone in the castle that night (except maybe for the sundry ghosts alleged to inhabit the place) and yet every possible comfort had been laid on for us. The huge drawing room had a roaring log fire and we even had a lovely fire in our bedroom in the tower. Chilled wine and sandwiches awaited us and so much more. Our breakfast was enormous, If you stayed there too long you wouldn't be able to get up the tiny winding stone staircases. That is probably the only downside, that it is perhaps not a venue for those not good on staircases. It was a unique experience and would, I think, be terrific for a special birthday party or wedding. I highly recommend it and thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay.

Room Tip: Don't choose a tower room if you don't like climbing stairs. We were told (wisely) not to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I traveled to Scotland in July of 2012 with my mother for her 50th birthday. We wanted to do something different this time around (we have been to Scotland together before), so I when I found Castle Stuart online, I knew we had to stay there. We originally tried to book the castle for two nights, but unfortunately there was a wedding that Friday, so we booked just one night. This ended up being fine, as it is a bit pricey to stay at the castle anyway! And I have to say, it was the highlight of our entire trip to Scotland. Upon arriving we were greeted and given a tour of the castle and grounds. Our room was the MacDonnell room and it did not disappoint! There was afternoon tea, coffee, and pastries available in the Drawing Room along with FREE WIFI! I have traveled all over Europe, and the wifi is usually spotty anywhere you go, but we had no problems at Castle Stuart! I was even able to Skype my boyfriend all the way in Texas from a real Scottish castle! We opted for the three course dinner and were not disappointed. My mom and I were the only ones staying at the castle that night, and they prepared a dinner just for us. I had steak, she had trout - both were delicious! Breakfast the next morning was wonderful as well. We loved Castle Stuart and will definitely stay again the next time we're in Inverness. Thank you for such a lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

When staying at castle Stuart we weren't sure what to expect. But once we were there we were filled with nothing but surprises. Good ones.
Caroline the proprietor who greeted us was very friendly and informative.
We stayed at the Murray room and it was very comfortable clean spacious and authentic. We enjoyed a food time in the game room and it was truly an adventurous stay since we were the only guests staying. We had the whole castle to ourselves and it made you feel like a kid again. Excited to explore.
We definitely will be back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was the perfect place to end our holiday in Scotland. We enjoyed our dinner followed by a fabulous presentation by a knight templar. We spent two nights here and would highly recommend it to everyone. Excellent service and lovely decoration.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so choose a room on a lower floor if you don't want to haul your bags up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narellan Vale Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The interior has been lovingly restored to perfection, the staff are amazing, the atmosphere was perfect. The dinner with the piper is a must, and I dont just like it because I was proposed to there, it really is worth ever penny!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Stuart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Stuart

Address: Castle Stuart | Petty Parish, Inverness IV2 7JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty lodging in Inverness
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Stuart is a 17th Century Tower House in the Highlands of Scotland, a 10 minute drive from Inverness.Restored privately from a derelict ruin, the Castle has 8 bedrooms available for overnight accommodation on an exclusive use basis or for individual use.Step back in time and enjoy the history and charm of a bygone era, alongwith the luxury of remote control gas fires/wifi/hot water and heating in your private chambers!Ideal for intimate weddings, a romantic escape, a family retreat, or indeed a birthday or anniversary party with style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Stuart Hotel Inverness
Castle Stuart Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Stuart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Castle Stuart to your Saves list