We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, hospitable and great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ness Bank Guest House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ness Bank Guest House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ness Bank Guest House Bed and Breakfast
7 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 227 Inverness B&B and Inns
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
“Wonderful, hospitable and great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

This was our second time staying here, but first time with our baby. David and Jude were so nice, went out of their way to make our stay pleasant (held my baby during breakfast, made a hard boiled egg for her). The breakfast is delicious.
The rooms are very clean and they use good products in the bathroom that are environmentally friendly.
We stayed 5 nights and on day 3, David offered to do laundry if we had anything we needed washed. Traveling with a child, this was music to my ears. We had clean clothes only a few hours later.
The location is perfect for walking along the river Ness, going downtown or jumping in the car to explore th highlands.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    16
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
26
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Traveled through Inverness on Holiday in late November. Location is on the River. Very friendly owner who was also very helpful.
I would stay here again !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

I picked this B & B, sight unseen, off the internet using only trip advisor as my guide. So to those who follow me, I can assure you that you will not be dissappointed with Ness Bank. David is a perfect host and the house is well appointed, perfectly located on the river within quick walking distance of the Inverness town centre. Best of all it is close to the best pub in town about 150 metres up the road.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I’ve spent lots of time in UK bed and breakfast homes, guest houses and hotels during trips to the UK; I estimate a total of 336 nights in such establishments. I also admit to being a fan of The Hotel Inspector which has added a bit to my understanding of UK B & Bs. I’ve personally experienced everything from squalid to luxurious (inadvertently in the cases of those extremes) homes-away-from-home and experienced a wide variety of hosts; however, I’ve never found hosts more gracious and accommodating than David and Judith Milne. Their tidy guest house, so close to Inverness city center and the castle, is perfect for limited old cane-limpers like myself. Their carefully tended front garden and open aviary, alive with the antics of many feathers species of Inverness, is a delight, especially in the morning while enjoying their excellent breakfast - my favourite is their delicious porridge. I can’t imagine anyone thinking Ness Bank Guest House ‘standard’ or ‘average’. As I told David during my last visit to his comfortable Victorian guest house by the River Ness - my favourite home-away from home - I think there should be more stars on his Scottish Tourist Board rating plaque.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We chose Ness Bank almost at random after Googling and working through the results, and what a good find it was. Centrally located on the bank of the River Ness, as it's name suggests, it is walking distance to just about everything, pubs, restaurants, tourist office, shops, etc. The street that is Ness Bank does not carry much traffic so noise is not a problem here. There is no off-street parking but we had no problem getting a spot right outside the door.
Our room on the top floor was well set up and absolutely spotless. We had a beautiful view across the river, a comfortable bed and a neat and tidy ensuite.
The breakfast room on the ground floor is also at the front of the house and has views across the river. Again, the room was well set up and spotlessly clean. The food and the service were excellent.
It's easy to see that David takes great pride from looking after his guests and we had a very pleasant stay at Ness Bank. Even though it cost a little more than we would normally pay it was money well spent, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We stayed in room 5 for one night. Location of this b&b is very nice, close to the center, lovely by the side of the river. Room 5 has a view of the river and the church. Breakfast was ok, nothing special, but had the option of vegetarian sausages although not previously mentioned.

Room and bathroom as mentioned below: average but ok. However, try to avoid the small bed in room 5 against the wall with the window. I woke up with a very stiff neck because of it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Of the accommodations we had during our trip around Scotland, Ness Bank was about average. The rooms are very basic, but to be honest everything you need is there. We did have nicer rooms for the same price elsewhere, but the location in this case (walking distance from the city center, plenty of restaurants around, and a lovely riverside as a view) is part of the price. Very nice neighbourhood also, very close to all amenities including Inverness Castle.
We had the two top rooms (3rd floor) so we did not have a view of the river from them. They are a bit different to the pics in the website, a bit out-of-date, but OK.
The owner was very nice and helpful, you a wi-fi connection for free and a parking permit from him, which is essential in this area of Inverness). Breakfast was nice. Booking was done online very easily, no big issues.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ness Bank Guest House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ness Bank Guest House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ness Bank Guest House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ness Bank Guest House Bed And Breakfast Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ness Bank Guest House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.