We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bazpackers Hostel

Save Saved
You added Bazpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bazpackers Hostel
4 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV4 2AB , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Cozy hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. The staff were very friendly.

We had a twin room with shared bathroom. Decent size rooms- the room had a dam smell possibly due to the carpet. The hostel is clean. Walking distance to town and down to the river. Supermarket nearby. About 7 minutes walk to train and bus station.

Great kitchen facilities- oven, stove, grill, kettle, microwave. The common room can't cater for too many people but is very cozy with a wood fire chimney.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    48
    23
    9
    3
See reviews for
5
36
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Warm welcome, fireplace, friendly staff, light bedrooms, free towel and padlock. Good asmosphere & price. Best hostel @Inverness. One Thing, the place isn't very clean... So better take your flipflops.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Friendly receptionist, helpful and shows you around. Nice clean kitchen, perfect location. and a really nice relaxing lounge, with a nice fire which was very welcome in this cold weather !!! I travelled alot round NZ so this free internet was a surprise and very nice ! towels are also free which is great :) had a good night sleep and for me, i would recommend this place and not be afraid to do so :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findhorn, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The standard of cleanliness in this hostel is poor. The kitchen and toilets need a good clean (e.g. there was old faeces underneath the toilet seat and at the back of the bowl and thick layers of dust on the rubbish bins). And, we were not sure when the duvets were last clean - they look and smell dirty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Cosy common areas with a small fireplace. Kitchen with common
Kitchenwares if you want to cook
On your own. Walking distance to city. Not for the super fussy. Clean washroom and free wifi. Friendly receptionist

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We recently stayed at Bazpackers Hostel while on a trip to Northern Scotland. The rooms were a good size and a great price. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The position was unbeatable. Just across the road from the Inverness Castle and next door to a Pub with great meals. The building was very old and interesting. Would stay there again. There was 8 of us travelling together, so we had two x 4 bed rooms. One of us left some items behind. Staff were happy to post them onto us. Great service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Party of 4 females stayed overnight here in May 2012. We are the type of travellers who were looking for cleanliness, comfort and location for our accommodation and this certainly met our expectations. Staff were helpful and friendly. This place is about 20min walk from Tesco if you need to buy supplies. The room we stayed in is actually an apartment of sorts, just a short walk around the corner of the main hostel so if you have a car with lots of luggage to bring in, I suggest you find a nearby parking spot, check in, then grab your luggage to take it straight into the room. The apartment was cosy consisting of lounge/dining room, kitchen, bedroom with two bunks, bathroom off bedroom. The heaters were excellent! The bathroom was a little bit wet due to a leaky shower. The only downside to this place is that I had booked us in for another night on our way back through Inverness and they got the date wrong so we had no place to stay - I accept part responsibilty of that for not insisting they send a booking confirmation, so to avoid our mishap, ask they email you a booking confirmation!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bazpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bazpackers Hostel

Address: 4 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV4 2AB , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Specialty lodging in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Bazpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bazpackers Hostel Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bazpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.