We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're looking for a warm and cosy place to stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bazpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Bazpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Bazpackers Hostel
4 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV4 2AB , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you're looking for a warm and cosy place to stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Warm welcome, fireplace, friendly staff, light bedrooms, free towel and padlock. Good asmosphere & price. Best hostel @Inverness. One Thing, the place isn't very clean... So better take your flipflops.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    50
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
5
39
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Friendly receptionist, helpful and shows you around. Nice clean kitchen, perfect location. and a really nice relaxing lounge, with a nice fire which was very welcome in this cold weather !!! I travelled alot round NZ so this free internet was a surprise and very nice ! towels are also free which is great :) had a good night sleep and for me, i would recommend this place and not be afraid to do so :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findhorn, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The standard of cleanliness in this hostel is poor. The kitchen and toilets need a good clean (e.g. there was old faeces underneath the toilet seat and at the back of the bowl and thick layers of dust on the rubbish bins). And, we were not sure when the duvets were last clean - they look and smell dirty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Cosy common areas with a small fireplace. Kitchen with common
Kitchenwares if you want to cook
On your own. Walking distance to city. Not for the super fussy. Clean washroom and free wifi. Friendly receptionist

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We recently stayed at Bazpackers Hostel while on a trip to Northern Scotland. The rooms were a good size and a great price. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The position was unbeatable. Just across the road from the Inverness Castle and next door to a Pub with great meals. The building was very old and interesting. Would stay there again. There was 8 of us travelling together, so we had two x 4 bed rooms. One of us left some items behind. Staff were happy to post them onto us. Great service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Party of 4 females stayed overnight here in May 2012. We are the type of travellers who were looking for cleanliness, comfort and location for our accommodation and this certainly met our expectations. Staff were helpful and friendly. This place is about 20min walk from Tesco if you need to buy supplies. The room we stayed in is actually an apartment of sorts, just a short walk around the corner of the main hostel so if you have a car with lots of luggage to bring in, I suggest you find a nearby parking spot, check in, then grab your luggage to take it straight into the room. The apartment was cosy consisting of lounge/dining room, kitchen, bedroom with two bunks, bathroom off bedroom. The heaters were excellent! The bathroom was a little bit wet due to a leaky shower. The only downside to this place is that I had booked us in for another night on our way back through Inverness and they got the date wrong so we had no place to stay - I accept part responsibilty of that for not insisting they send a booking confirmation, so to avoid our mishap, ask they email you a booking confirmation!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My group of four opted for the apartment unit which is situated 2 doors away from the main hostel. As we arrived late and left early the next day, we did not get to see the hostel itself but when we checked in at the hostel reception, we could see the lit fireplace and that was ever so inviting.

The apartment unit itself is a no frills place but it has everything for a comfortable stay - a separate 4 bedded- sleeping area, a kitchen and a living room area. A nice self contained place which provided the space and privacy we were looking for. Not bad for a hostel accommodation. I would recommend this place for small groups.

There were ample street parking places and the location is ideal for working around Inverness.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bazpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bazpackers Hostel

Address: 4 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV4 2AB , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Bazpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bazpackers Hostel Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bazpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;