We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & comfortable with really nice staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columba Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Columba Hotel to your Saves list
Columba Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice & comfortable with really nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

Well, I read all the reviews and I thought I might be disappointed but what I got was quite different. I had a nice room with a view of the river and the hotel was quiet which is important to me. The breakfast was so bleeding enormous as either a buffet or as a "plated" meal when they were not doing the buffet, that I had no room for even a small biscuit at lunchtime! All the staff were friendly and helpful even when one evening there was only one girl at Reception doing just about everything from 'phones to checking in clients. Would I stay again? Yes, absolutely no doubt.

  • Liked — Everything. It was excxellent
  • Disliked — Extortionate WiFi costs
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    175
    164
    100
    66
See reviews for
59
308
30
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

Booked a double room B&B offer at £60 per room per night for two nights which I have to admit was a very good rate. Had thougth of the DB&B option at £90 but being in the centre of Inverness and knowing of a number of good eateries in the vicinity decided against this.

Our initial view of the hotel and reception was very good with the receptionist, both on arrival and departure being very friendly and polite. The same went for most of the staff except some management who seemed to have missed the PR course and could not even manage the slightest of smiles to their guests in aknowledgement of their existence.

We were in a small double room on the 2nd floor with a view out to the back. In fairness I had requested a quiet room. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable if slightly on the firm side.

We we ate one night in the hotel's McNab's Bistro which was very good and reasonably priced and served by two polite and friendly waiters/bar persons.

What a wise choice I think that we had not included the dinner option as on each night of our stay there was a coach party who all trudged along one behind the other into the restaurant at 7pm. The restaurant was, can I say, a good breakfast room but I somehow have the feeling it would not be the most relaxing place to enjoy dinner. I did not see the menu that was on offer with "the package" but can only assume it was quite basic.

Breakfast itself was OK with a reasonable choice but you had to fetch fruit juices and cereals from one area then go through to what was the carvery for hot food. The usual items were on offer for you to help yourself but unfortunately some things had been left lying a liitle bit too long under the heat (fried eggs for example) which totally spolied adequate food.

  • Liked — Central location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — small room - and the lift did not workl
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glamis, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

Stayed here 4 nights September 08. Terribly disappointing, lifeless, lacking atmosphere - definitely not 4 star quality and the restaurant food was astonishingly dire, below par bar food in essence; the coronary breakfasts not too bad though. Lots of fairly stern eastern European staff present struggling with their English. As a Scot myself, is it really asking too much to expect a friendly Scottish person working and welcoming all the tourists with a smile and a Scottish, or particularly the delightful Inverness, accent?! For an ostensibly 'quality' hotel it just doesn't fit the bill. There were a lot of foreign tourists there and if this is the best that Scotland can offer, it's extremely embarrassing.

Poor Americans, Germans etc ( and me of course) were forced to tuck in to a limited choice of overcooked frozen veg,a lacklustre pie or macaroni cheese(!). Felt like Oliver Twist queueing up for my gruel.

This hotel has been refurbished, however, rooms and specifically, bathrooms, are small and not fitted out very well.

One strong point is its situation - it is ideal, faces Inverness Castle - as long as you get a room with a view - would appear anyone on an 'offer' has the delightful view of the backyard and the tatty old flats facing you. Wouldn't be a scene that would've inspired a budding Van Gogh that's for sure.

Oh and some of the black and white pictures dotted all over the hotel are well worth a nosey..interesting pictures of Queen Victoria and the Russian Czar in the lounge

HINT If you elected to have a few, well a good few, of the overpriced drinks you might just not notice a lot of these things....

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

Only just came back from four days at this hotel, in our opinion this hotel does not warrant four stars. We paid extra for a superior room with a river view (luxury we thought) wrong the first room we were given room 305 had a shower which needed a good clean, we complained and were given 306 which was adequate with a very small window overlooking the castle.

The beds were comfortable, very economical with the toiletries(1 of each), small soap, shower gel and shampoo for two people bit mean.

Breakfast was ok, reception staff varied from good to average.

Would I recommend this(over priced) hotel to a friend probably not.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

I travel to Inverness pretty regularly and have tried one hotel after the next. Finally found one worth writing about (doesn't mean there aren't many more though).
The hotel is on Ness Walk, a few minutes out of the city centyre which is an advantage. Nice ambience, good clean rooms and nice dining room for breakfast.
I would recommend it to anyone stopping in Inverness for one or two nights.
The only downside was that they have no carpark but there is ample parking about 2 mins walk away by the Cathedral.

  • Liked — Clean, tidy and convenient
  • Disliked — no parking
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

This hotel was booked for us as part of a tour package. Since I couldn't change it, I didn't read reviews beforehand and didn't know what to expect. The hotel was just okay. The location was great, right on the River Ness and right across from the city center. The restaurant next to the hotel was excellent.

The staff friendliness was hit or miss. Sometimes friendly, sometimes not so much. The room size was fine, but not particularly great decor. Much like a previous review, the hair dryer provided failed on me. It actually began smoking. The hotel staff did bring a replacement for me though. The view from our room was a roof top and backside of a building. Not very nice.

Breakfast was included in our room package. I would not have paid for this breakfast. Nothing looked really good, so we ended up eating cereal both mornings. We got toast the first morning, but were not given any the second morning. In fact, the wait staff never came to our table on the second morning.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights. Staff very friendly on the phone when booking. Room was compact but reasonable. Hairdryer was on its last legs (making loud rattling noises and smelling of burning) and when reported to reception, they said a new one would be brought to the room but it never materialised. However, impressed to find an ironing board and a very new-looking iron in the wardrobe. There was a bit of a mix-up over a taxi we asked reception to order for us to take us to the airport - reception ordered a taxi to the train station. The location by the river was lovely and a very short walk into the centre of Inverness. Seagulls were quite noisy - they served as our wake-up call at 6am. Not particularly fast service in clearing empty breakfast plates away, and when we asked for a table to seat six the best they could manage was sitting four at one table and two at another, rather than offering to move the two tables together. However, the breakfast itself was quite good quality. Think you are probably paying for the location and you can't really beat that if you are looking for convenience and a lovely view of the castle from the doorstep. Wouldn't actively discourage anyone from staying there, as long as they know they won't get a luxurious room and faultless service - but next time I think we will try the Best Western next door.

  • Liked — Superb location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.