We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columba Hotel

Save Saved
You added Columba Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Columba Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 34 hotels in Inverness
Alexandria, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“superb hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

very tidy and friendly hotel. very clean. couldn't fault anything about the stay. only issue was parking. would try and arrange parking if you have mobility issues. I was in a room on the third floor which some have criticised yet I had no issues.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest, WOW thank you so much for your very kind words following your recent stay with us and my team will be equally delighted you had a good time. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    147
    141
    93
    57
See reviews for
50
266
27
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

My daughter (aged 4) and I recently stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed a lovely stay. Our room was on the second floor and and in my daughters words was 'lovely and cosy'. We had no concerns with the standard or cleanliness of the room. At breakfast, all our requests were met by the friendly and responsive staff. We would have no hesitation in returning.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I was deligthed you enjoyed another great stay and your kind words will be shared with my team. I hope we have the chance to wlecome you back soon. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

How sad that my fav hotel has let me down big time this last weekend. Have always enjoyed staying here but we were put in room 317. My advice if your given this room. Say NO NO NO. The windows were very very draghty and we had to put cushions in front of the windows to try to stop the cold air howling in. Bathroom was worse. Icing to the cake was no hot water so had no shower or bath the two days we stayed. We did get a heater to help heat up room. The manager was very nice and offered us a chance to go to another room to shower but we said no as had no time as our table was booked. Wish we had as what was promised as being fixed asap it still wasnt when we left. Food was luke warm and had to put back my starter to be reheated. Mind you if their was hot water I wouldnt have fancied having a bath in the freezing bathroom. We said to girl on checking out our problems and we got £20 of our bill and was told manager would look into it and phone on monday. Now 8pm and no phone call. Feel £20 off for a terrible room with no heating or hot water an insult. The worst bit is we are booked to go back in with two other couples in march as I recommended the hotel. Will have to rethink our plans I think!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not go to room 317.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am so sorry that this visit has not been so enjoyable and again, I am sorry for the issues you had during your stay. Unfortunately, we did experience a few maintenace problems which are now fixed, but just sorry we could not get them resolved during your time with us.There can be no excuses for any shortfall and I do hope you will return to us in March and please do feel free to contact me direct so I can make sure we tick all the boxes this time. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on hogmany as it was close to the event, good location and that's where it ends! We received a room on the 3rd floor , came through double doors and there was a bucket collecting water from the roof, that was the 1st warning signs.. Opened the door and it had to be the smallest room I'd stayed in in my life, the heating had broken so they had put a small convector heater in which gave out very little heat , no double glazing so any heat went right out the window, small double cramped in between small gap, thought I'd been put in cleaners cupboard..very shabby , paper hanging off wall in corner, no chance of a shower as water stone cold...bar ok, dj played great music I didn't want to go to event, bar prices quite expensive....got up for breakfast and it was very poor.. Had to ask for milk for tea and sugar!! Didn't enjoy it one bit and service was terrible..I visit inverness every 6 wks..last stayed at hotel across the river ..what a difference...travel lodge a lot better and cheaper and cleaner!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following a recent stay with us. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy all aspects of the stay and I do hope you spoke to one of the team at the time as I know my team would of done their utmost to try and alloacte you a different room given the chance. It is always a great disappointment to read a guest has left unhappy and I am very sorry. I will share this feedback with my team and correct what we can immediately. I hope we may have the chance to welcome you back as I know we can be remember for the right reasons. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights over Christmas and had a lovely time. We had a river view room which is definately worth paying the extra for as the view itself was stunning. I was delighted to find a proper hair dryer in the room which was every bit as good as my one at home! I can't be doing with those hand held hose things! Location is excellent as you are just across the bridge from the city center so a minutes walk and you have all the shops, bars and resturants you need. Handy for our last minute shopping! Despite it being a city center hotel we were never bothered by any traffic noise etc as the street the hotel is on is a one way, very quiet street. The staff we saw were welcoming and friendly, always ready to chat with us and make us feel at home despite it being a busy time for them. We really liked the Scottish feel to the hotel, with it's traditional but modern decor in the public areas, the big sweeping staircase leading upstairs and Macnabs Bar which we enjoyed a few drinks in. I definately think Macnabs Bar could do with a cosy fire of some sort in it as it was a little draughty at times, I would have sat all day on the leather sofa with a good book, drink in hand had it been a wee bit warmer in there as it's a really lovely bar. We both really enjoyed our stay and would happily go back again.

Room Tip: Highly recommend a river view room. With stunning views along the River Ness, the twinkling lights o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for a lovely review following your festive stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your kind words will be shared with all my team. I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I had a pleasant stay here. The room
was good considering the price paid of £45. The room was clean although the fittings were quite old. Good central location. Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food. All in , I would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your time and your kind words will be shared with my team, I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back son. With warm regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

The room was a little dusty, but not as bad as some of the reviews here.
The bar is nice, has a few drinks and I had a good night sleep.
The rest of the hotel and my room was a little dated, and needed an upheaval.
The breakfast in the morning was poor, I had some pancakes that weren't fully cooked.

I don't know how much my room cost, but it would have to be sub £40 for it to be acceptable

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following a stay with us in October 2013. I was pleased that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay and your valuable feedback will be used to ensure we continually improve on all aspecs of our products and services. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon, With kindest regards, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.