We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming Pool - Aquadome” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inverness Leisure

Inverness Leisure
Bught Lane, Inverness IV3 5SS, Scotland
01463 667500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 16 attractions in Inverness
Type: Health Clubs
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Inverness Leisure is the largest sports, leisure and recreation facility in the Highlands of Scotland. Welcoming over 1 million visitors every year it is a major attraction in this part of the world.Our facilities offer access to leisure waters with flumes, river and pool as well as a conventional 25 metre 8-lane competition pool. We also have excellent fitness facilities, with the largest studio programme in the north of Scotland supplying over 110 classes every week.Inverness Leisure also boasts two dedicated indoor climbing walls; one for bouldering and the other for lead climbing with some awesome overhangs. In addition, we have a large sports hall that accomodates 8 badminton courts or two football pitches.We can cater for major conferences or meetings and have excellent catering facilities which use local, ethically produced and Fair Traid products where possible.Come along and have a chat with one of our friendly team members who will be more than happy to show you around or give you some more information about Inverness Leisure.Fun|Friendly|Family|Fitness
inverness
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Swimming Pool - Aquadome”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Entrance is very expensive. The changing area is never clean and very often smells. The bottom of the pool is slidy which i think is slime.
This pool is horrible and I dread taking my children.
Very poorly kept facility.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks for taking time to write your review. Sorry you feel we are expensive - however at Inverness Leisure we offer the High Life card (£17.50 per month individual or £25 per month per family - which includes 2 adults and as many children under 18 residing in the same household) offering access to Swimming Pools, Swimming Lessons, Gym, Climbing Wall, Running Track, 2 Dance Studios with over 110 classes per week along with after school activities and many other activities. We feel this price to access all of this cannot be matched anywhere in the UK.

We are sorry you feel our changing rooms are not to a high standard - i will make sure this is passed onto our Operations Management Team. In relation to your comments regarding the "slime" on the bottom of the pool - we can absolutely assure you this is not the case. Our pool water is regularly tested independently in laboratory conditions to ensure its quality and standard for our customers. We are very proud of our water quality and our Maintenance Team who maintain it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    12
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The fun pool area has a wave pool, a rapid river, three flumes, an outdoor pool and a toddlers pool while there is a 25m pool for lane swimming. Quite often the flumes and rapid river are open alternately due to staffing shortage which is annoying especially when the pool is busy. The 25m pool is good but often has a lot of areas laned off for kids swimming lessons. The pool opens early for serious swimmers to have a dip before work though.
There is a climbing wall area, a large gym hall and a gym available and all activities are covered under the Highland Council Highlife scheme - meaning if you are a member you can use all the facilities without a charge. Outside there is a running track and athletics facilities.
Big down side is the loss of the cafe. It used to be great to go for a coffee after swimming (or while waiting for the kids) but this has been closed and replaced by a variety of vending machines.
I use the Leisure centre regularly and I really miss the cafe.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Many thanks for your review of our facilities we appreciate you taking the time to outline the various activities and areas we have at Inverness Leisure. In relation to your comments regarding the cafe, this area was operated by a sub-contractor who withdrew their services from the centre. We are currently considering various options and would hope to be able to let our customers know what these are very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

visited in afternoon - changing rooms/toilets could do with a clean. Everyone pays for flumes etc even if only wanting to swim, so about double price of normal swimming pools. Competition pool very overused & lucky if you can get in a lane there!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for your review. The pools at Inverness Leisure can be popular, particularly over the weekend - however our reception team will be able to advise when the best times are if you are just looking to swim in the Competition (lane) pool.
Just for clarity, all of our leisure features (including flumes, river etc.) are included in the access prices to the Leisure pool - so when you state you had to pay for the flumes, we presume you are meaning within your ticket price - if this is not the case, then please feel free to contact us to discuss. info@invernessleisure.co.uk
Thanks for taking time to review anyway, we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I don't really like these places in general but it's modern, clean and does what it says on the tin. It's good to have a facility like this available for those who enjoy it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for taking time to write a review of Inverness Leisure - we're glad you enjoyed visiting us and appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pretty poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Was a bit pissed off, the pool had NO baby floats, what is with that? There is a baby/toddler pool yes but what do u do when u want to take ur kid into another part of the pool, u are expexted to lift them around all the time. Also the staffs attitude..service with a smile!!!!! The pool was not too bad, guess i maybe had a bad day

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Inverness Leisure, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We're really sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to Inverness Leisure. We will check into the situation with pool toys as these have previously been authorised from our special User Group budget for use in the pool and should have been there at the weekend. Apologies also for the attitude of our team if you found it as you described - this is really not how we want to present ourselves to our customers. We hope you will offer us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inverness Leisure also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Inverness Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inverness Leisure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inverness Leisure to your Saves list