We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inverness Student Hotel

Save Saved
You added Inverness Student Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverness Student Hotel
8 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Third hostel we've stayed in on our trip so far, and by far the friendliest! Staff are wonderful (especially Paul!) and provided us with a warm welcome. Made new friends within five minutes and learned all the best places to go in the area from knowledgeable locals. Thumbs up and woo hoo!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves - Paul is certainly a welcoming face when you first come in for sure!
Hope the rest of your travels go as well as the start and you'll be welcome to return for another visit when ever the opportunity arises.
Thanks for giving us such positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    22
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
2
4
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had everything to be expected from a hostel. Clean rooms and facilities were sufficient. Kitchen was somewhat cramped but areas to store your food labelled in baskets. Location and parking were fine and close to town centre. We used the hostel as a base to drive around Loch Ness and so it was comfortable. The 6 bed dorm was quite small and got very warm at night, although we were there during a heat wave! No major negatives.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write us a review.
It certainly was delightfully unusual weather for us up here - infact it still is.
Thankfully we're getting a wee bit more wind - so it helps to keep the rooms cooler with the windows open.

Our kitchen certainly is 'cosy & intimate' as we like to refer to it!
We'll hopefully see you back up in Inverness some other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Have been here a couple of times with a group. Each time we've been welcomed warmly by staff, who remember who you are throughout your stay and if you return. They're always quick and ready to help and are so friendly and social. The atmosphere is amazingly friendly, and even a shy person like me can feel totally at home in a room full of people they don't know.

Plenty of spaces to sit, arranged to allow easy conversation in a group or with another guest. Kitchen is small comparative to the number staying, but everyone is so courteous and friendly, it's actually a fun experience to cook in it! And your food is safe. We've never found any of our food to have been taken.

The rooms are comfortable and spacious, and the beds are named so you know where you're sleeping! The bed's are lovely and comfortable and I've always had great nights there. The whole place is clean and pleasant, and I would never hesitate for a place to stay in Inverness, it's my first choice.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Aisling - we'll be looking forward to welcoming you back again on the next visit when ever that may be.

Thanks so much for giving us such positive feed back - we really appreciate it - especially in the Summer months when things can be so busy.

Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We went there just before going up north. We have had a very warm welcome. The Hostel is very clean, and there is much attention to details, which you see all over the place. We didnt miss anything. Breakfast is okay, also the location is rather calm but not too far off the center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks for your beautiful review.
We certainly hope you had a wonderful time further North - the weather has been fantastic recently and the views would have been fabulous up there.

You'll always be welcome back for the next holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Spent two nights here. Our group of three was immediately warmly welcomed by Ruth. The place itself is cozy and nice. The room itself is standard with me staying in 6 beds room with three bunk beds.

The hostel is pretty easy to find and located quite close to the city centre and Morrissons. However, the best thing that i like about the hostel is the atmosphere and the people. As the hostel inside is very homey with many pictures and cute words on the walls, it helps to set a tone among the guests staying there. The small dining room made the perfect place for people to gather and just chat away the nights and here, I met warmest people during my trip so far.

Things that i think can be improved: number of bathrooms. Toilets were plenty enough but only one bathroom has a proper lock (on my floor) that is shared among 4 rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
The pocket rocket (aka: Ruthie!) is always a very welcoming face to have check you in!
We love her too!

Also thanks for letting us know about the lock - I've had a look at it as I hadn't realised any of them were broken. They're all in working order again... so thanks for the heads up and we'll look forward to welcoming you back on the next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay in inverness. Arrived having walked the final 19 mile day of the great Glen way. Warm welcome from Ruth. Nice staff, nice kitchen, nice lounge to hang out in. Great tunes being played througout the evening. =)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
After walking all that way I reckon you deserved a big high five - Ruthie is always a lovely welcoming face!!
Thanks for such a lovely review and we'll look forward to welcoming you back when you come back to do some more walking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Sacatepequez, Guatemala
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I had a really nice stay here for a few nights. Nice, friendly, sociable atmosphere in a cosy common room and the rooms are warm and clean if not the biggest when crammed full of backpackers with their backpacks! The staff were great and will help you out with any questions you have, the kitchen is well equiped and the location is on a hill by the castle overlooking Inverness. It is a bit of a walk but Inverness is tiny and it isn't that far from the bus station really.
Only criticism is the bathrooms which are absolutely teeny tiny! They are very clean as is the rest of the hostel (they have a team of cleaners cleaning after hours) but I think a tall person would struggle to fit in them!

All in all I really liked it here and so did everyone else it seemed (many had been there for ages, almost living there). I'd go back anytime!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hi PotterNo1,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review - we really value the feedback that our guests offer.

I'm very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass on your praise to our hardworking cleaning crew, I'm sure they will appreciate it! :)

Hope you can come back to visit us in the future.

Cheers,

Inverness Student Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inverness Student Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverness Student Hotel

Address: 8 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Specialty lodging in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inverness Student Hotel has a terrific outlook over the river and the city to the hills beyond. It's a cute building with real character and a fun and relaxed atmosphere. Our comfortable dormitory rooms have between 5 and 10 beds in each room that come complete with full bedding and 2 comfy pillows! We have a spacious common room with big Victorian style windows that offer stunning views over the River Ness. It is a great place to meet like minded travelers, whilst enjoying all the free tea, coffee and hot chocolate you can drink! You can also relax in front of our beautiful real fire and take advantage of our FREE WiFi. The Student Hotel staff are always very friendly and approachable. We can help you book your tours, recommend places to visit and most importantly we know the hidden gems of the city to ensure you a memorable time in Inverness. We can arrange bike rental and will send you on your way with free maps to help you discover the magnificent beauty that is....Loch Ness! If you do see Nessie, don't forget to mention that you're staying with us when you talk to the press!Also, if you are completing the Great Glen Way and need a bed to rest your weary legs then you are in luck as we are only 100m metres away from the finish line. Hurrah!! We are also only 10 minutes walk from the Train and Bus Station and a quick 5 minutes walk into the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Inverness Student Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverness Student Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inverness Student Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.