We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trafford Bank Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trafford Bank Guest House
Save Saved
You added Trafford Bank Guest House to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   96 Fairfield Rd, Inverness IV35LL, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 218 Inverness B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“The best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hospitality cannot be beaten, and the charm and location are second to none, you will not be dissapointed. In a town full of B&B's, this is the best. Location is only 5-10 minute walk to the beautiful downtown and great restaurants, and a great spot to explore the highlands from.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    22
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
68
207
16
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munster, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

From the comfortable, chic decor to the warm, welcoming atmosphere, Trafford Bank is amongst the elite of Inverness' Bed and Breakfast establishments. Lorraine, our hostess, was friendly and helpful, quick to make us feel at home and point out great local restaurants which were, due to Trafford Bank's convenient location, just an easy walk away. We stayed in the newly redecorated "Thistle Room". Our only complaint? We wish we could have stayed a few days more!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We spent 3 nights here on a recent trip and loved the place. It's a great house with lovely grounds and it's decorated very artistically, featuring the art of some local artists. Our room (the Floral Suite) was nicely sized and airy, as were the common rooms. The location was fine, with a 10-15 minute walk into the city center, and our host, Lorraine, was quite helpful whenever necessary. (The off-road parking was a plus too.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you are looking for luxury and comfort combined with a mixture of peace & quiet but still within walking distance of Inverness city centre for all the best restaurants - then this is the place to stay. The rooms are unique with various artworks collected personally by hostess Lorraine who provides a warm welcome to everyone. Each room reflects a different aspect of the Highlands of Scotland with emphasis on buying from local manufacturers, even down to the toiletries (the Victorian roll top bath is amazing!).The breakfasts are wonderful with so much variety - you will not need to eat again until evening dinner! I felt as though I had been away for much longer than the 4 nights I stayed there such was the relaxing atmosphere and the exclusive surroundings which you will not find in any other guesthouse - therefore it is something special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

What a find. Everything is brilliant from the food to the relaxing and comfortable rooms. Excellent facilities available in the lounge from DVD's to a small library. The sherry also goes down well as a night cap.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We've been on the road for three months, and appreciate small details when we stay somewhere -this place had so much attention to detail and lovely surprises that made us feel both comfortable and like we were having a big treat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We spent a lovely evening at the Trafford Bank Guest House in Inverness. Hostess Lorraine was cordial and the room extremely clean, with a pleasing decor and an incredible eye for detail. The toiletries wonderfully unique and organic. Her restaurant recommendations were tantalizing yet we got a little turned around with her directions (but that's another story... Thanks Tony-the-ex-Cabbie!). Breakfast was wonderful and on par with the best we had in Scotland. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trafford Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trafford Bank Guest House

Address: 96 Fairfield Rd, Inverness IV35LL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 218 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trafford Bank Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1873 Trafford Bank was the house sof the BIshop of Moray and Rosshire. A Boutique style guest house full of orignal art and local pottery and furniture. 5 ensuite double rooms furnished to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trafford Bank Guest House Hotel Inverness
Trafford Bank Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trafford Bank Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.