We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd. to your Saves list
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Annfield Rd, Inverness IV2 3HX, Scotland (Formerly Swallow Craigmonie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here for night. Very friendly and helpful staff, lovely dinner and breakfast, nice room but bathroom could be better because no water pressure and paint coming off in couple places.
Excellent swimming pool and nice small gym. Not far from city center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    107
    46
    17
    6
See reviews for
56
112
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I paid £150 per night for what was sold to me as a 5 star hotel for my husbands 40th birthday...
The staff were very friendly however that was about it....
The room was a 4 poster bed which on first glance looked really good.. However the bathroom door not only did not shut, which a member of staff tried to fixed with a screwdriver but it was split & warped.. The sink didnt work properly or the toilet and infact the toilet pan was broken. Went to use the swimming pool and there was no keys for any of the lockers in the ladies and both of the ladies showers were out of order. Also the Sauna was not working ( turns out this is because you need to inform a member of staff you want to use the sauna so they can turn it on !)
. The view was terrible for what they classed as a honey moon sweet as all you got was the roof of the conservatory and heating systems... The hotel itself inside is very tired looking and badly in need of both updating and repair... If you want to call for the lift best get yourself a drink & seat first as it can take approx 5 mins to go to 1 floor... The food for what it was was expensive and the breakfast on the first & third day was nice but the 2nd dreadful.... The staff was always friendly although it does amaze me why some people put someone to work behind the bar that can not serve drinks as they are under 18 ?... Anyway we will not be staying here again certainly not at these rates... I have stayed in nicer hotels for half the money.... Interestly the twins rooms are £60 cheaper for a double so maybe keep this in mind if you decide to stay here.

Room Tip: On this one as for the twin room not a double its £60 cheaper !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here this week for a couple of nights for a break. It was booked as a surprise by the wife for my birthday. On first looks the hotel looks impressive. There is only one parking space for disabled badge holders, however there is ample parking at the front and round the sides of the hotel so I didn't find this a problem. On entry the staff were warm and friendly and booking in was painless. There is a lift however there are a couple of steps to where our room was. The room itself was ample size with a four poster bed and ensure with bath and overhead shower. The view it the side window was of what appeared to be the air conditioning unit and the front view was the roof of the conservatory and car park. The bathroom door was warped and we had to get a member of staff to put it back on its hinges. The sink plug didn't work, and if you wanted a long flush on the loo the plastic button popped off! We arrived at 2pm and thought we would get a sandwich but the bar stops serving food at 2pm and we were told to go to another hotel (which also stopped serving at 2) and eventually got something in the town centre about 5 mins drive. The swimming area was a bit run down, no lock on gents toilet door that worked, the sauna wasnt working as it wasn't turned on although the pool itself was a decent temperature. The shower in the ladies changing were also out of order. The evening meal we had on our first night was tasty although not cheap but of good quality. The breakfast is a buffet affair with the usual choice of cereals and fruit juices. The cooked items are self service on a hot plate, but as we came down towards the latter end of breakfast time, the food had started to go cold and the bean's had started to congeal. Room cleaning were keen as we got a knock on the door at 855am!! We were asked if we wanted a newspaper on check in and when we asked for it in the morning we were told that if the shop had it it would be at reception, if not we wouldn't get one........
The bar prices were reasonable with a latte costing around £2.25.
Although the staff were warm and friendly, it doesn't make up for the very expensive room prices for a three star establishment (over £100 a night!).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights for work. Staff were very friendly and we had a lovely evening meal. The room was fairly spacious, and well kept. Wifi was a bit patchy at times. The hotel is about 10 mins walk from town and is well placed for Loch Ness!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Not too far from the airport and only short walk into town for pubs with live music - our favourite was The Gellions. Hired a car and drove around Loch Ness, also enjoyed very informative cruise from Nessie Hunter. Climbed Ben Nevis, well the bottom bit anyway and for a dramatic change of scenery, John O'Groats is worth the long drive (with a bit of sightseeing we did 300 mile round trip). Very comfortable room at the Craigmonie with the most helpful + friendly staff. Small swimming pool + gym but we had it to ourselves on the day we used it so no problem there. Best bit...............amazing breakfasts!

Room Tip: The only thing we would advise is that if you can't stand noise from other guests you need to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of a Great Rail Journey tour. Our room (although the hotel is non-smoking) stank of stale smoke and there were several cigarette butts outside the window which opened onto a flat roof. Also on this roof was a large stagnant (and, also, smelly) puddle due to a displaced pipe. The manager, however, sorted this out whilst we had our dinner which was impressive service; shame he couldn't shift the pervasive smell of tobacco smoke which persisted throughout our stay.(We did speculate that as we were at the end of the corridor and the window opened in fully if cleaning staff had a crafty break out of the window!). The food was good (both breakfast & dinner) and special praise to the bar & waiting staff who were attentive and professional. Some drawbacks though - one was location; the hotel is by no means near the centre of Inverness and is uphill from both bus & train station; the second thing, although minor, is important. First impressions count and the hotel needs to replace the shredded and tatty flags that are at the front of the hotel and are one of the first things a visitor sees! Thirdly, there is no soundproofing between floors - we could practically hear when the people in the room above us turned over in bed; and, last - but not least - the hotel (bedrooms and public areas) was unbelievably hot; several guests even had to keep going outside for fresh air during dinner. Just to add that our room was in the main building - there is a annexe which I understand has bigger rooms and is more "modern".

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxby Downs, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel when we go there. we were greeted by friendly staff
the reception rooms were quite big and the dining room out in the comservatory was lovely.
Breakfast was delicious
thanks for a lovely restful stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.

Address: 9 Annfield Rd, Inverness IV2 3HX, Scotland (Formerly Swallow Craigmonie)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd. 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigmonie Hotel And Leisure Ltd.
Craigmonie Hotel Inverness
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd. Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.