We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice Cream Sundae :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rendezvous Cafe

The Rendezvous Cafe
14a Church Street, Inverness IV1 1EA, Scotland
0044 01463 718444
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 196 Restaurants in Inverness
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ice Cream Sundae :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Ice Cream Sundae was immense - Mr Whippy Ice cream Choc sauce and Nuts. I believe they do a fruit one as well. WOuld recommend highly. No pretense to this case.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    21
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hessle, East Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Friendly greasy spoon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor we visited this cafe for breakfast.

Nice, small friendly place. Nothing special, bit surprised it is top of the TA list, I would say there ar better places locally. However was friendly, efficient service. I had Haggis, Bacon and Egg for breakfast, with toast and coffee for under a fiver. Good thick bacon, well cooked egg, poor haggis. No pride in presentation, unimaginative breakfast menu, little fresh, lots fried, little veggie options... think more reasonable greasy spoon than bistro and you won't go far wrong. Does what it says on the tin as does the dozens of other very similar places locally.

Tried Filling Station near bus station during our visit as well, much better setting and food, same price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stop off just across from Tourist Information Centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stopped in for coffee here as we saw the Trip Advisor sticker in the window. Not too many tables but we were lucky. We had coffee and cakes all of which were great. Our youngest had pancakes which he really enjoyed and my coffee and walnut cake was nice and moist and a nice sized portion. Coffee was lovely - best I've had on our visit home. Service was good and friendly which is rarer than it should be in the Highlands !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Warm, welcoming and great simple food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Excellent. I was just passing through and happened across The Rendezvous Cafe. What a gem of a place. A friendly atmosphere and simple unpretentious cafe food as it should be, tasty, well presented and made from quality produce. Really enjoyed the fresh crispy home prepped side salad, a refreshing change from dull bagged salad.
The waiting staff were attentive and both they and the chef made an effort to go and have a chat to a couple of elderly regulars. It is small things like this that can make a big difference to people's lives. I left with a smile on my face.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Food, Friendly Staff and Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We searched out this café for the third year running whilst on holiday in the area and it was just as good as we remembered. Staff obviously enjoying their work and a great selection on the menu. We had home made mushroom and thyme soup that was wholesome and delicious, and a sweet chilli chicken baguette that was bursting with hand cut chicken breast accompanied by a side salad and crisps. Lots of Gluten Free on the menu if required.
Well worth searching out, highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rendezvous Cafe also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Rendezvous Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rendezvous Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.