We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NG, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 34 hotels in Inverness
fochabers,moray
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight here in a top floor room that overlooked the castle.Lovely view,lovely room.Everything was spotless,big comfy clean bed,modern bathroom with toiletries,and there was two bottles of spring water,tea and coffee making facilities and shortbread.The room was also fine and warm as was the rest of the hotel.The swimming pool,sauna,steam room and jacuzzi were lovely,its open from 7am-9pm,they gave you towels for this so no need to bring your own.My hubby and myself also both had a back massage at the beauticians in the hotel and both enjoyed it.There is a gym there as well which if we had been staying longer we would have gone to.Apparantly if you have not taken your swimming so stumpers with you,they hire them as well.Also,if you forget toiletries I read in the book in the room they have all sorts of toiletries free of charge.you can also bring your pet with you as long as you take their own bed,someone had a dog with them along the corridor from us,but it didn't make a noise at all,in fact we had a great sleep.The breakfast was really good,staff very polite and friendly,as they were throughout the hotel,the reception staff were especially jolly and helpful.the Wifi was the best I've seen in a hotel,usually it's not that great,but we were top floor,and there was no connection problems whatsoever.I took my iPad with me anyway,but I read in the info book that Laptops can be borrowed for just a deposit.There were irons and ironing boards in the rooms too,if perhaps you were going to a special do.They even have brollies in case of a down pour!!! There is Starbucks coffee and cakes in the lounge from early on to late at night,and you can get soups and sandwiches etc in the lounge at lunchtime and there are evening meals too.We got the feeling that nothing was too much trouble for the staff at the palace.I would definately get a luxury room though,with a nice view,depends on what you want,I'm sure the basic rooms would still be clean and up to standard but I can't vouch for this.Our only gripe was the parking,or I would have given full marks.Small crowded car park,and if there are no spaces the young lad takes your car and parks it in the reserved spaces in the car park beside the cathedral at the bottom of the road.But if something was to happen,while they are parking your car,they take no responsibility,so no matter if there is CCTV etc,you still have to hand over your keys to the hotel and they keep them until a space does come up,it's just a bit of an inconvenience.Of course you can always park the car yourself at the car park down the road,but it's far enough if you've got luggage.But that's our only gripe,we loved everything else about the Palace,and would very much like to come back soon for a weekend in lovely Inverness.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel.

I'm really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    197
    88
    40
    11
See reviews for
60
240
25
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

this hotel is right on the banks of the river ness so is in an excellent location for exploring inverness. Our room (112) at the back of the hotel had a view of some roof slates out of the window, but i assume the front rooms overlooking the river would have a much better view. Swimming pool and facilities were lovely, really nice to relax in. Bar area was nice in the evening as well.

Only complaints are that the walls are paper thin and doors slam loudly. We could hear conversations of people in the next rooms. This meant we did not get a good night's sleep. Also the breakfast was £9.95 per head which we thought was ridiculous, so went to the nearby tescos for a full breakfast at half the price!!

Overall, think this hotel was good but probably overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel.

I apologise you were disturbed by the room next to you and hope this didn't spoil you stay with us.

Hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sale s Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Situated almost in the centre of Inverness yet in the banks of the River Ness with aview accross to the castle. Good spacious warm rooms in the Wing with power shower in bathroom. Good choice of food on the fixed rate menu. Good lounge & bar facing river and all followed by an excellent breakfast. Friendly staff although a bit stretched in restaurant at breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel.

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff helpful and friendly.

I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

...they treated us so well. Absolutely classic warm highland welcome with a large room (no 020) that will be hard to beat in the city. What a great view across the river to the castle, and an absolutely enormous, luxurious bed. Best sleep I have had in ages topped off with a fantastic breakfast the following morning. The quality of the food and the selection available was impossible to criticise and the waiting staff were great.
Add to this that the pool and gym are modern, well equiped and attractive and you just about have the package
Both my wife and I are already thinking about a 4-5 day trip using this as our base.
I usually like to offer some constuctive criticism, but right now all I can say is how positive an impression every member of staff and every aspect of the hotel made on us. The only tiny thing was that parking spaces are at a premium - but this is ticked off the criticism list as the hotel offers a valet parking service at the nearby (secure) permit only cathedral car park.
Well done to all at the Palace Hotel and Spa!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view - brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel.

I'm glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here one night and also booked a meeting room here. Staff were generally helpful and friendly although they have a lot of coach business checking in and out and sometimes seemed overwhelmed. My room was large but freezing cold, radiator clunking but no heat. Was quickly sorted with a portable radiator brought to the room. Rooms at the back overlook the annex building and you are VERY overlooked if you leave your curtains open!! My room was next to a store cupboard that staff seemed to raid and then slam about in several times until 10.30pm (Room 33) and you could hear the lift pinging when it arrived. Ask for a room on the front if possible! Very good room service meal delivered promptly after a long day and the Starbucks type outlet in the coffee lounge provided great drinks in the morning. The gym is very tired; I'm a keen exerciser but the equipment was poor apart from two new rowing machines and then a man came and hoovered around me at 7.00 p.m. whilst I was training. Not ideal! The bed was comfortable, plenty of pillows and a decent duvet. Lovely spot to wander along the river from and then up into town. This must be a plus of the hotel. Overall, I'd probably stay again as its generally a decent value hotel with good staff, but I'd ask for a front room and be away from cupboards!

Room Tip: Front rooms have best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel.

I have noted your comments and these will be passed to each department to review.

I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Lovely room with big bathroom and lovely view over the river to the Castle. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good leisure centre with good sized pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Just a short walk to the centre of Inverness.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel.

I'm glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in th near future.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Palace was a good base for exploring further north and west. We got a warm welcome and were able to order newspapers. The swimming pool looked inviting but very under used. My room was comfortable, but in need of a facelift. A handle missing on the chest of drawers, for example. The ensuite was roomy, but I would have appreciated a shelf over the basin. The staff were very warm and helpful, even though on some days they were extremely busy. We had set menus as we were with a coach party, and the food was ok and plentiful but not exciting. My room suffered from squeaky floorboards above, and I was offered a move immediately. The hotel is right on the banks of the river Ness, with lovely walks and very near the town centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMilton, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Deat Guest,

Thank youf ro taking time and writing a review on the Palace Hotel.

I'm glad to read the staff were welcoming and help make you stay better when you requested a move.

I hope we can welcome you back int he near future.

Kindest Regards

Laura Kelly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: 8 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a warm and friendly welcome at the stylish 3 star Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa in the heart of Inverness. Located on the banks of the River Ness overlooking the Castle it is just a few minutes walk to the town centre. You'll enjoy a fresh and contemporary hotel with a choice of dining in Eight on the River or the Brasserie. You can sit back and relax with a Starbucks Coffee and surf the web for free. As well as a lovely selection of bedrooms from Classic rooms to period River View rooms with a lovely view towards the Castle. You will enjoy a relaxing break in stylish surroundings with extras including FREE Wifi, Free Car Parking and a superb upgraded Leisure Club with 50 foot swimming pool and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel And Spa
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel Inverness
Inverness Best Western
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.