We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best guest houses ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torridon Guest House

Save Saved
You added Torridon Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Torridon Guest House
59 Kenneth Street, Inverness IV3 5PZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 217 Inverness B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best guest houses ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Wow myself and my brother were on our motorbikes and were trying to find a place to stay at 5pm, we rang the bell and what a very nice welcome we got, places to store the bikes, very very clean guest house, introduced to Russell and Ellen, what a lovely couple, got advice on where to eat/drink and there advice paid of, we chose our breakfast that evening and we got it to a very high standard at time we stated, there was enough to eat that could even make you miss out lunch, what I thought was really fantastic was in the background while eating breakfast there was pipe bands playing it was so so nice. I have stayed in a few guest houses and this is definatly up there with the best. thanks so much to them both....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
20
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A ver warm welcome, a very comfortable (small but beautifully formed) bedroom. The en-suite was immaculate, there was a chocolate for each guest in the room, as well as a bowl of them by the stairs. Breakfast was beautiful, well cooked, well presented and served with a smile. If you're looking for a friendly, clean, central B&B in Inverness I would reccommend Torridon without a second thought- I'll be back :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Torridon Guest House is within a short walking distance to the centre! The owner gave good recommendations for dinner and things to do in Inverness. The triple room we had was slightly on the smaller side but it clean and had modern design. The breakfast room, on the other hand, had full on Scottish deco - it felt like we were having a Christmas breakfast in the morning!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Lovely stay that we had with Russel, and I'm so grateful for him giving us the hints where to find Scottish music in town, we had the best night of our trip there! Upon our arrival, he took the time to give us a map, and show us what we could do in the evening to see the city, and for diner and entertainment!
Rooms are amazingly comfortable and clean, that's the kind of place where you can really relax after driving all day ! I wish we could have stayed longer !
Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Overseas relatives wanted to see something of 'The Highlands' so we drove up from Glasgow to Inverness as the starting point to our mini tour. Beautiful weather when we set off but when we got to Inverness the rain was there to chill us - a warm welcome from Russell helped us feel a lot better. He took the time to show us the guest house and our rooms, making sure we were settled before leaving us to get acquainted with the area. What a wealth of knowledge he has of the restaurants in the centre, advising us on the value for money ones as well as the 'fancy' ones.. We chose Johnny Foxes which was a great hit with all...especially the fish'n'chips. Breakfast was lovely and a great mix of homemade preserves on the table and the only thing I was personallynot taken with was the heated, not fried, 'tattie' scone. I'd never tasted that before, and even with a knob of butter I would still prefer the extra calories the fried one has. Both Russell and Helen are very approachable, and they were delighted in our interest of the various teapots, maps and ornaments in the breakfast room and explained all to us . We'd most definitely make another stopover if we get back to Inverness.

Room Tip: Rooms are really nicely decorated and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coatbridge
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights to go to the Scottish golf open, and I can safely say that I cannot complain about Torridon guest house. The owners were very helpful in suggesting where we could go to eat. very clean and very welcoming with delicious breakfast too. I would stay there again. Just a short walk to Inverness city centre

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

A brilliant B&B- A few mins from the centre of town, easy access to the main roads, private parking, lovely rooms, lovely hosts, lovely breakfast... Need I say more?

Russell was very hospitable and helped to suggest places to see, things to do.

A great place and a great couple- I'd recommend the Torridon to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Torridon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torridon Guest House

Address: 59 Kenneth Street, Inverness IV3 5PZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Budget Places and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Torridon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torridon Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torridon Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.