We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cheese Pantry at Connage

The Cheese Pantry at Connage
Milton of Connage | Ardersier, Inverness IV2 7QU, Scotland
+44 1667 462000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Shopping in Inverness
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You can come and buy your cheese direct from the CHEESE PANTRY, our shop at the dairy, near Ardersier. Come and see into our production room, where you may be lucky enough to see Helen and her team making cheese! CHEESEMONGER COFFEE SHOP GIFT SHOP VIEWING GALLERY The full range of Connage Organic cheeses are available, hand-cut to your requirements and wrapped in quality waxed paper. We also offer an unrivalled selection, locally, of artisan British and Continental cheeses specially selected to compliment our own range and provide a superb choice for any good cheeseboard. All products selected for our shop are chosen carefully by us for their quality and taste and we offer advice and recipe recommendations to all our customers.
1 review
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Went to connage dairy for the first time last week, the ladies serving were lovely and their hot chocolate and cakes are to die for !! Also bought some cheese on the way out and it's the best cheese I've tasted. Well worth a visit :)

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING - Must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We were driving through the area and saw the signs, and just went in on spec.

The place is a gold mine for cheese lovers. We arrived during a really hot spell, and as we were camping, we could not take any away as it would go off.

The two ladies could not have been more helpful though and with their patience, we tried several cheeses and picked small portions of 4 for our lunch. Highlight was our first ever taste of Stinking Bishop. Was reluctant to try initially as the impression we had built up was of a really unpleasant tasting/smelling cheese. Could not have been more wrong.

They then suggested we try another one which was even better!

Not only are the ladies extra helpful, but the place is spotless, and every cheese looked like it was in absolute perfect condition. The shop was well stocked too, and we were able to buy a nice present for friends.

Unfortunately we live over 150 miles away, so visiting will be not as regular as we'd like, but we will be back every time we visit the area - luckily we have family who live not too far away!!!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Ardersier's Temple of Cheese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

If you're anywhere East of Inverness on the southern shore of the Moray Firth, you should stop by at the Cheese Pantry at Connage Farm. In the cheese larder you will find an opulent range of cheeses from all the best places that cheese comes from, all kept in the best condition possible.
And in the restaurant area you can try cheese boards of Connages own organic cheeses. The coffee is excellent, too, as are the cakes to go with.
The place is a labour of love on the part of the owners. I should just love to see the place busier and more bustling. It really deserves it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This cheese shop rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stopped by on a rainy day in the Summer holidays. My kids loved being able to taste so many different cheeses. The lady who served us was knowledgeable, generous with the samples and very patient! We spend our holidays up here quite often so we'll make sure we visit again!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauly, Inverness-shire
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Cheese lover's heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I try to visit the Cheese Pantry at least a couple of times a year and always come away more impressed than the last time. You always get a warm welcome and the staff are so knowledgeable. They suggested a new cheese for me last time, based on what I normally like and it was the best cheese ever. It's also got a great selection of biscuits and oatcakes and other cheese accoutrements - we bought a brilliant set of cheese knives here. This is one place I always recommend to friends and visitors to the area. If you like cheese you will love this place. If you think you don't like cheese, this may be the experience that will change your mind.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Public Relations Manager at The Cheese Pantry at Connage, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. Our staff are all cheese lovers themselves and so are always keen to share their knowledge and discoveries. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cheese Pantry at Connage also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Cheese Pantry at Connage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cheese Pantry at Connage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.