We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B of our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballifeary Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ballifeary Guest House to your Saves list
Ballifeary Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   10 Ballifeary Road, Inverness IV3 5PJ, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Parking and WI-FI
Ranked #18 of 227 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best B & B of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

This is a gem of a B & B and sets the standard very high for any other place. The location is quiet and an easy walk to the river and downtown. The house and bedrooms are lovely. We spent 2 wonderful evenings in the sitting room after dinner playing games and reading. The owners are gracious and have lots of information on local sites and restaurants. We enjoyed walking along both banks of the river.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
55
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

We stopped here for 4 nights in July 2009. We did a fair deal of research on TripAdvisor to make sure we selected somewhere good. We certainly chose well and were not disappointed. The rooms are spotless as is the whole of the house. Bill & Morag are freindly and helpful and were interested in what we were doing each day giving tips and hints that would help ensure we enjoyed ourselves. Overall an excellent guest house and we will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed here as a break from our usual job in a hotel in northern Scotland. It was absolutely fantastic - a warm welcome from the owner (didn't catch his name), a choice of the 2 rooms that were available (he was concerned my very tall husband may not be able to fit under the shower, so he showed us both rooms so that he could choose), and a super comfy bed and luxurious room. The breakfast was also great, served by the very friendly female owner. I would love to come back here again - it was a pity we could only stay the one night.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

I want to add my congrats to owners of Ballifeary House. It is one of the nicest guesthouses I have stayed in--ever. If you come to Inverness (and you should) find this place and you will be so glad that you did.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ditcheat, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

We stayed at the Ballifeary for 2 nights at the end of October.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Everything was excellent.
Bill and Morag have been in the industry for a long time and it shows.

The entire building is spotless.
Breakfasts are a delight. A Plateful of Bill's scottish breakfast sets one up for the rest of the day.

Our room was at the front of the house but the road is a quiet residential one and we were not disturbed at all.
The room was huge with lots of space, two easy chairs provided somewhere to sit and relax whilst watching the TV/DVD player.

We were arriving early in the afternoon, to catch a scenic train ride. When we arrived there was no-one there but a quick phone call resulted in Bill walking back from his afternoon shopping trip to give us our room keys!.

The town of Inverness is a 10 minute level walk along the riverside away.

Finally - we would recommend the "Riva" restaurant, close to the bridge over the river and on your way to and from the hotel.
Excellent Italian food at very reasonable prices. We weren't the only Ballifeary guests eating there the night we did.

  • Liked — welcome, food, service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

Ballifeary House is a truly exceptional accomodation. Everything is exceptional. The decor is is lovely and amazingly detail oriented. Cleanliness is exceptional. Service is responsive and efficient. Food is excellent. A great value.

  • Liked — Perfection
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

Well worth the stay in Inverness. Great rooms, newly renovated. Hosts Bill and Morag have an elegant hotel. Breakfasts are incredible and plentiful. Very good value.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballifeary Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballifeary Guest House

Address: 10 Ballifeary Road, Inverness IV3 5PJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballifeary Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Ballifeary Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballifeary Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballifeary Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.