We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a charming place to stay in highland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atherstone Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atherstone Guest House
Save
You added Atherstone Guest House to your Saves list
42 Fairfield Road, Inverness IV3 5QD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 220 Inverness B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a charming place to stay in highland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I was surprised by the high quality of service this B&B has offered. The location is great. The room is very thoughtful. Obviously, the owners were seasoned travelers themselves. They really understand what travelers have desired for and they do care about their guests. So, you got a very cozy room with fresh flowers, delicious home-made cookies, and, even the TV set is made to be adjustable to your most comfortable angle. So, no need to mention the cleanness, hospitality, and the wonderful breakfast made of local specialty. For me, a traveler with curiosity, I am especially pleased that I got a chance to learn their views about the future of Scotland. They are a great couple who are sincerely willing to share their knowledge and cultures. I will recommend this B&B to those who travel to highland.

Yun
from Taiwan

Room Tip: As I said, my room is wonderful. I am sure the rest of the rooms are of the same quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Hi Yun!

We would like to apologise for the very late delay in responding to your review - sorry.
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a kind review.
You are right when you say that we really do care about our guests and hope that we can provide all that you need when you stay with us. We also enjoyed the opportunity we had to chat with you and share knowledge about our respective cultures.

So thank you once again, and we do hope that we will meet you again in the future - and thank you for recommending us!

Best wishes and Happy travelling in 2013!

Ruth and Ally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
46
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Ruth and Ally did not only invite us into their house, they gave me and my friend a home in Inverness. We had a lovely room with big comfy beds and a fine and very clean ensuite shover room.
Our breakfast was well prepared and delicious, and served, on time, in a cosy atmosphere and in a very fine breakfastroom.
Ruth and Ally are very good at doing B&B, and they even extended their servicese out of the house, as they helped us by ordering a table for our eveningmeals and with a drink to go with it.
When I visit Inverness again I shall be back at Atherstoe Guest House with Ruth and Ally

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Hi Anne,

thank you very much for your kind review. It was our pleasure to have you to stay with us!
We are delighted that you liked your room - If I remember correctly, you were in room 3 and I really like that room too!
If you felt at home here, then we feel like we are doing a good job, and that is the best compliment that we can recieve, so thank you for that.
We hope you keep your promise and return to Atherstone Guest House on one of your future adventures!
Thank you again, and best wishes,

Ally & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay. Ally and Ruth are brilliant. They are both warm and friendly. This B&B has warmth and is a place to feel at home. I loved that the room has a DVD player and coffee and tea making facilities. It was definatley nice to come and relax after a hectic four months traveling in hostels. The breakfast was delicious. The bed was comfy and room was very clean. I would recommend to anyone traveling to beautiful Inverness. All the best! Cara ~ Australia :))))

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hi Cara,

Thank you for reviewing our home so enthusiastically. We were just delighted that we were able offer you respite from the hostelling!
The room you were in (room 1) is one of our favourites - as you mentioned, it has a comfy bed and we have tried to include everything you would need, so we are happy when it we here that you liked it too.
We hope that the rest of your Scottish experience was everything you hoped for - when you left us, we were quite envious as it sounded like the next stage would be fantastic.
Take care, and many many thanks again, it was great to meet you.

best wishes,

Ally & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I'm still in love with this house. That's a place which presents welcoming atmosphere, secured privacy, nice spacious rooms, comfortable bed, wi-fi and nourishing breakfast. In a word, Ally and Ruth offer everything a traveler needs including a good piece of advice on what to do or to see in the city. And those home-made lemon cakes in the room on a tea-table as a final touch of hospitality! The location is also perfect. The street is quiet and calm and is just a 10 (well,15 if you explore the area leisurely) minutes walk to the center of Inverness. If there were enough of walking during the day one can stay in-house with a good book or DVD which are also available. So, it's all well-thought and organised.Thank you Ally and Ruth for this unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtherstoneGuestHouse, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hi VictoriaPon,
Well, what can we say, but, a great big Thank You for your kind words in reviewing our home, It was our pleasure in helping you to make your stay such an unforgettable experience, and I for one agree with you about Ruths home made lemon cakes, a second on the lips, it's the wee things that make it all memorable.

Many thanks,

Ally & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Our stay at Atherstone was organized by a 2 day tour we were on, an we couldn't have been happier with the choice. Ruth and Ally are both incredibly friendly and helpful. They helped us pick a place for dinner and even phoned in a reservation. Because we were on our honeymoon, they even surprised us with a mini bottle of sparkling rose.

Our bed was incredibly squeeky- a bit of a task for a honeymooning couple, but more charming than anything. The room and bathroom were both relatively spacious, especially compared to other B&Bs we stayed in.

The location was along a row lined with other B&Bs, but was a short walk to the river, the central location of Inverness. Overall, a fantastic stay. If we're ever back in Inverness, we'll be sure to stay here. Thanks again to Ally and Ruth.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Hi Mr & Mrs John P,

Thank you both for taking the time out of your Honeymoon to write such a lovely review of our home. We are delighted that the wee bottle of Champagne went down a treat.

As for your squeeky bed, its too late for you guys, but just to reasure future Honeymooners, we took your feedback on board and have replaced it with a new bed. We appreciate your honesty, and it helps us for the future.

many thanks,

and congratulations once again

Haste ye back,

Ally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Located in what seems to be the city's B&B district, the Atherstone looks fairly typical at first. There is some limited off street parking. This and all of the neighboring buildings are a little aged. The interior is clean and comfortable. Due to the age of the building, the sub-floor felt worn (not unusual for some of the older B&Bs). The ensuite was a converted closet, but shower was decent size for this type of set-up.
What makes the Ahterstone exceptional for the area are the owners, Ally and Ruth. Both are warm and friendly. Ally's knowledge of the region can be most helpfull.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Hi bB,

Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted when guests take the time to review our Home.

We are glad that that we can provide our Guests with a car parking space each because we know how difficult it can be when their is none.

We are in a popular area for B&Bs, because of the conveniance of the area in relation to local amenities. And yes, most of the properties around us are, like ours, period properties, which we love. The characteristics and quality of such buildings, inside and out, are not found in modern buildings, but yes, after 120 years of age, I'm sure something is liable to creak!

We are delighted that Allys knowledge of the Highlands was put to good use, to help you get the best out the area and for your onward journey.

Thanks again. Haste ye back,

Ally & Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Ally and Ruth are just the best hosts in the world!
Two of the nicest people we met in Scotland!
The B&B is warm and cozy especially our room....we love it!!!!!
Unfortanally we were there just for one night, but was the best night of a 8 days journey!!!!!
Ps: i love music and having breakfast with the Stone Roses on the background was the icing on the cake!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Atherstone Guest House, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Hi Elisabetta,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in our home, and for saying all your kind words, and we're so chuffed that you liked your room, that one is our favourite too,

and as for the Stone Roses........you most certainly will not get that in any other Guest house.

Many Thanks,

Haste ye back,

Ruth & Ally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atherstone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherstone Guest House

Address: 42 Fairfield Road, Inverness IV3 5QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Atherstone Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atherstone Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.