We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Joy of Taste

The Joy of Taste
25 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1DY, Scotland
01463 241 459
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 196 Restaurants in Inverness
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Dinner with friends on 18/4 lots of tourists in town so lucky to be seated, service was, as always ,prompt and professional . Steak cooked to perfection! our party also had Lamb and Seabass couldn't fault any of it.... well done Joy !!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    101
    30
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Although slightly on the more expensive side for Inverness, the dining experience was amazing. The food was of excellent quality and the environment was very relaxed. At no point did I feel rushed and I was able to enjoy my meal. I would probably say that the bill matched the quality of food and I did not grudge paying every penny

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyrigg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Booked for an early Saturday Evening meal, (6 people) food and service and price were excellent. The portions were just right so that you could enjoy a 3 course meal without feeling bloated. Everyone had something different and everyone agreed that all the food was of the highest quality.

The only drawback was because we booked late we had to vacate the table before 8.00p.m for the next clients, and we were politely reminded of this.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was our third visit in the last four months and we were once again impressed with the quality of food at this restaurant. We managed to book a table for Friday evening dinner and on arrival were quickly seated in one of the window seats. I had the scallops to start and my wife had the soufflé, which were both delicious. For mains we had the Sirloin steaks which were cooked as per our preference and were really tasty. We finished with two sweets from the main menu which were also lovely. All in all a really good dining experience delivered by staff that were really friendly and efficient. We are looking forward to our next meal here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Food exceptional, not sure about the service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The steak melted in the mouth, scallops could have just jumped out of the sea. Wish I had room for a pudding, so had to nick a spoonful of my pal's treacle sponge which was heavenly. Our server I don't think was too professional not bad but a little surly or seemed so. I love the set up though. Chef anxious to go home and two parties turned away before nine.. hmmm

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Joy of Taste also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Joy of Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Joy of Taste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.