We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Joy of Taste

The Joy of Taste
25 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1DY, Scotland
01463 241 459
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 199 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Went for an evening meal and had an excellent time and they managed to squeeze me in but only just - next time I will definately book! Service as even better than last time. Starter of Scallops simply wonderful. Had pork for my main meal with a honey/ mustard sauce which was lovely.

Each time I go this place appears to have improved, with Stephen a great front of house asset.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    108
    32
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“luch time joy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Just had a wonderful lunch in The Joy Of Taste, extremely good fish pie and a HUGE burger!!!.
Great atmosphere and fast service from the attentive staff make for a happy Saturday!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“lovely food, shame about the cabaret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were lucky to be fitted in on Saturday at 6pm without a booking- as it was already quite full and clearly the later sitting had to be accommodated. The food was excellent- particularly the twice baked souffle which was one of the best starters I've had in a while and my husband's lamb which he said was "melting". Unfortunately the couple that were placed next to us were a total nightmare. Drunk, verbally abusive to each other and just the people you'd never ever want to be placed beside in a restaurant. Knowing the waiting staff were not professionals was not helpful in this instance- I genuinely didn't want to complain or ask to be moved as I wasn't sure how they'd deal with it. The tables are quite close together so we could every insult traded- my husband thought they were placed as "cabaret" and couldn't stop smirking at their antics but I was genuinely a bit worried about the female half of the couple. So- in short- a memorable mean, partly for the food for which we'll gladly travel through from Elgin again, and partly for the cabaret about which we genuinely didn't know what to do. Luckily, it's hardly likely they'll be a second showing (and if there is, I think I'd propably take a more proactive stance) so hope to be back very soon:-)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch time experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have eaten here in the evening but this was my first experience of lunch. Both can be highly recommended.
It was a Saturday lunchtime and by 1245 filling up nicely. There is plenty of space between the tables so you have privacy.
Service can be described as 'leisurely' so perhaps not for people in a hurry. We were seated and waited a few minutes to receive the menus. Drink orders taken quickly. The lunch menu ranges from soup and sandwiches to more substantial fare such as stir fry, pasta and fish pie. We both opted for 100% Aberdeen Angus steak burgers which came with a good portion of chunky chips, home made tomato relish and a side salad. Couldn't fault it and at a very reasonable price. Neither of us had room for any dessert.
Will definitely be back soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Saturday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Had lunch at Joy of Taste on a Saturday in Feb with four friends.

Service was very good and food was excellent.
Best fish pie I have tasted in years!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Joy of Taste also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Joy of Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Joy of Taste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.