We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food & friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Joy of Taste

The Joy of Taste
25 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1DY, Scotland
01463 241 459
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 196 Restaurants in Inverness
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Muir of Ord, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious food & friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had an excellent two course meal here. Nothing on the menu suited my vegetarian partner but the chef cooked an amazing alternative. I had the lamb which was excellent and the deserts were both delicious too.

Helpful and friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere and superb food at reasonable prices - everything we are looking for in a restaurant

We will be coming back for more!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    101
    30
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, value and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stopped off for lunch in Inverness and were amazed by the quality of food and price. The staff were all excellent. We'll definitely return here the next time we're in the Sneck!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A joy to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Lovely restaurant in the centre of Inverness a very cosy place on a cold night . Food here is superb service is faultless I had a steak which was cooked to perfection my husband had the venison he also said the taste was excellent very gamey and very flavoursome . The sweet was meringue it was everything you would want melt in the mouth but also lovely chewy bits . Highly recommend this restaurant

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We have now eaten here twice in the last month both times at lunchtime, I can't wait to try it in the evening.
Fab food, great atmosphere attentive staff.
Excellent value for money. Inverness is lucky to have this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We will be back!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Only staying one night in inverness and had a quick browse of Trip Advisor in hotel room, the name 'Joy of Taste' stuck in my head but we accidentally stumbled across it by chance at 8:30pm. The menu is small and compact which is refreshing to see, but more so the prices are very fair even the wine list is of great value. We had king scallops, fig and Parma ham salad, 2 sirloin steaks (cooked to perfection) bottle of prosseco and an espresso all for under £60 !!!! Staff and atmosphere fantastic, give this one a try for sure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Joy of Taste also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Joy of Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Joy of Taste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.