We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River House Restaurant

River House Restaurant
1 Greig Street, Inverness IV3 5PT, Scotland
01463 222033
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 196 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $32 - $58
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: For an authentic taste of Scotland���s islands and Highlands look no further than River House, a beautiful restaurant on the banks of the River Ness overlooking the Grieg Street bridge to the Free North Church. The restaurant���s spectacular view���s are complemented by the casual sophistication of the dining room, a comfortable and unpretentious space with timeless design and a warm, cosy atmosphere which invites you to relax and really enjoy your dinner. Dedicated to sourcing the best possible ingredients from the surrounding areas, the River House kitchen cooks each dish to order in the open plan kitchen, using fresh, seasonal produce prepared in such a way that individual flavours shine through. Though mainly Scottish in heritage the River House���s recipes also take inspiration from international cuisine with, in particular, a nod to French cookery woven in to many of the creative, modern dishes. Wines are carefully selected to complement the River House menu, providing a good, but not overwhelming, choice of labels.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Really very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We found this place from a recommendation by our cab driver. The food and service was excellent, especially the pickled herring which was nothing like the usual rollmops and their ilk. Delicious

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    55
    10
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Still a fabulous restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This simply has to be the best restaurant in Inverness. Fine dining in a cozy atmosphere, just cannot be beat! Presentation and taste are what it's all about in this house of Alfie. Very nice selection on the menu, super wine list, outstanding service. River House is the place to go for an unforgettable dining experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Sea the River House - book a table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have reviewed this restaurant before but having been there last week, just have to add my comments again. Alfie (the chef / owner) advertises special nights and this one was 'fruit de mer' accompanied by a bottle of Muscadet. Having cycled extensively in Brittany and feasted on both, we just had to go. Wow! TEN different fish on the platter (and we declined the oysters!). It was one of the best meals of my life - everything from the Orkney crab to the Loch Ewe smaoked salmon for first rate. (We now know where to buy Loch Ewe Salmon in Inverness.)

It was a Thursday in a clod May and he was having to turn people away. That speaks for itself.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We ate here during a weekend away. Truly loved every second. The restaurant was busy so I was glad that I'd phoned ahead. We were given tables with a lovely view across the river, served quickly by confident and knowledgeable waiting staff.
Not often do I have 3 courses at a restaurant but at this place I had to, the food was to good to miss. Fresh and locally sourced.
The place had a great atmosphere and you can see the cooks preparing food which is always reassuring.
I can't recommend this place enough. Go visit, enjoy!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderlecht(Brussel)
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One off our best meals in Scotland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great food you realy have to try the scallops. Ask as main cours for the fish of the day.
By the way , we have eated here two evenings in a row.
We were with 2 couples and we were all four agreed with this review

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River House Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to River House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.