We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really good jamaican food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kool Runnings

Kool Runnings
Church street, Inverness, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 195 Restaurants in Inverness
Cuisines: Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Only been open for three weeks. Excellent jamaican food. Flambe fruit cake, rum sauce and rum and raisin ice cream - pudding heaven. Starters and mains excellent too. No licence yet so bring your own.
edinburgh,scotland
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“really good jamaican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

In the middle of inverness, found a real gem. A restaurant with around 40 covers and mixed reports on tripadvisor.
Very friendly welcome and good range of starters and mains on the £11.95 menu wife had pork cheek which she thoroughly enjoyed. I had the prawn and curry sauce mix which must be one of the best starters I have had . An additional cost of £1.95.
For mains wife had the goat curry which has been the subject of much comment and whilst it did have a lot of fat and bone, it tasted delicious. I had the pork chop with black pudding and cabbage with a tasty sauce it was good but not as good as the starter.
2 delicious desserts to finish and really well presented together with 2 large coconut rums total cost £57 well worth the value
We were going to have coffee but the electricity went out! Nothing to do with jamaica . All of the power in the scottish highlands went out that night affecting 200, 000 homes!! Recommended

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    79
    20
    16
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I do see a lot of good reviews for this place but for us it was rather disappointing. I had the scallops and the taste and presentation was rather amateur. My wife went for the jerk chicken and it was just unseasoned boiled chicken with sauce on top. The coconut prawns was ok but the rice was overcooked and again no seasoning. I truly hope that this low quality of food was a one time thing. It was also rather empty for saturday evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Do not go here!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I went to this restaurant with my fiance on a weekend to Inverness. I like planning and we were going to go somewhere else on our last day for lunch but saw this place in the passing. The night before a Sat night there were only a few tables filled and we saw it empty on the Friday so were not sure but i wish we had listened to our intuition and not gone here!
We were going to go to George's but my fiance wanted to try this place and got me excited about it too.
We went in and there was one man at a table finishing his food and no one else. The woman serving was pleasant and sat chatting with her friend. The place has no atmosphere and although brightly decorated there is no soul, it was also freezing cold.
I ordered the chicken wing starter which can slopped on a plate with no presentation, my fiance got the cocnut prawns and i wish i had got that because it looked a lot nicer. He liked it, the wings were alright but very fatty and there was spicy but no real flavour.
We both had the goat curry and as we both love goat my fiance is Congolese we were looking forward to it, the rice was rubbish and the goat not very good at all, a lot of fat and bones and it could have done with some type of bread or accompanyment.
I couldn't finish my goat and started to feel ill, i went to their bathroom and thought i was going to be sick, i felt ill for the next couple of hours not great when you ahve a 4 hour bus journey ahead to get home.
I would avoid this place like they plague! You will not have a good time

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Please open a shop in Edinburgh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Food was excellent! Went for the goat curry and was not disappointed! My partner went for the jerk chicken and ribs and fully enjoyed it. A lovely twist on a 'laid-back' cuisine with a focus on attention to detail evident from start to finish! The presentation reminded me of that you'd expect in a 4*+ hotel! Desserts will leave you forgetting that you're actually sampling Jamaican cuisine!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Favourite restaurant in Inverness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Recently revisited Kool Runnings on a Tuesday evening. Introducing business colleagues this time. Another resounding success. The food here is always excellent the staff friendly and welcoming. I went for the jerk chicken wings to start with, prawn curry to follow (although torn between it and the awesome goat curry) and finally couldn't resist the coconut brulee as a pudding.

Looking forward to finding a reason to head back again soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kool Runnings also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Kool Runnings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kool Runnings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.