We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night trip ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8-15 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Over night trip ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for one night as we were attending a sporting event the next day in the city. The room was basic but clean although the sheets on the bed were tired and very bobbled. Which meant for an uncomfortable nights sleep.The bathroom room 600 could do with an over hall as mould outside of the shower cubicle. Every time we used the toilet and flushed the cistern made a lot of noise which we were very aware of.
We asked for an early breakfast at 0530 this was a continental one provided by the night porter. It was of a high standard and contained a good selection of cold food.The hotel was in a fantastic location on the river and was with in easy walking distance of the shops.
The room was not somewhere I would spend a lot of time in but ideal to go out and about exploring. Over all ok for an over night stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    182
    103
    38
    33
See reviews for
85
259
27
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Had a very good stay at this hotel found the staff friendly food very good clean rooms and in a central location to the city centre. Would definitely return some time in the future. Inverness itself has lots to offer in riverside walks and historical interest. The highlander breakfast after cereal filled a hole to be finished off with coffee and causants. 8/10

Room Tip: Book a classic double room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here with my friend as a night out for her birthday, when we arrived we got in and weren't greeted very well, the receptionist was sour faced and when asking her stuff it seemed like we were bothering her, given me and my friend both work in hotels if we greeted a guest like that I would feel ashamed, you should always greet guests nice and politely but she never.

We were put in a room on the top floor, we asked for an upgrade and spent £50 on the upgrade but the room was quite bog standard, a tall room but not much walking room, bathroom was lovely and well set out. The views from the room were lovely, nice and right on the riverfront.
Breakfast in the morning was good other than the scrambled eggs, they were well over-cooked.

We dined at Nico's restaurant and the man serving was very nice, spoke to us for a while before service, after we ate, we bought a bottle of prosecco in the restaurant and he said he would get it brought up to our room for us with 2 glasses so that was fine, up we went to our room and we waited for a few minutes then phoned down to the reception to ask about the bottle, while speaking to her and after telling her about the bottle and how we paid for it and were told it be brought up for us, she actually hung up the phone on me and then 5 minutes later the man from the restaurant brought it up for us instead.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a room here last minute with LateRooms.Com because it had free WiFi with the room & parking. This was stated in the advertisement of the superior 3 person room we had booked. On arrival the room was lovely, clean & very roomy. Kettle had to be boiled on the floor but wasn't a real problem. Turned on WiFi to discover we had to pay for it. A trip to reception later & was told "only free if you booked with them direct not with LateRooms".. Checked LateRooms web site & it clearly stated that WiFi was free for the room we booked. Phone call to reception this time & asked if LateRooms were falsely advertising as it clearly said FREE!! I even directed her to the details. She was very rude & said she didnt believe me & i asked if she wanted me to come down & prove it! Was gobsmacked when she said Yes!!!!!!!!! Anyway down I went & an apology later we got the code for the free WiFi... They really should sort out this issue, either have it all free or charge.. Apart from that the other staff in the breakfast room were very pleasant & we had a nice breakfast. The hotel is very central for shops etc. Parking is chargeable in hotel car park but as we were leaving before 10am we parked out front for free. Check out is 11am anyway.

Room Tip: Had a room overlooking river but you have to go outside to get to reception & breakfast..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We offre free car park and free wi-fi when guests are booking directly on our website.... Laterooms.com says free wi-fi when booking three nights. We agree this is not very clear from Laterooms.com but unfortunately we can't change it.... Always worth speaking to us to book a room and to get the best deal!
We will take the time to review the comments made and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.
We hope you will give us an other chance.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely hotel, split over a few buildings. We had room 112 in the Lakeside building, no view but we don't stay in to have time to admire it anyway so this didn't bother us.

Entering the room is a corridor, 1st door is the bathroom which was really hot, water was very hot too. 2nd door is a wardrobe with iron and ironing board, door at the end was into the bedroom. Nice bed, not the most comfortable I have ever slept in but it was fine, good tea/coffee tray, hair dryer etc.

All in all we would stay here again, it was clean, in a great location and had a good breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms 100 and 101 were on the ground floor at the front if you like a view, saw maid cleaning them a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Many thanks for your very kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked the Glen Mhor Hotel on-line and on arrival we couldn't believe how good the location was - right on the river front. Eating establishments for an evening meal were close and plentiful.

The room and service was excellent, as was the price for the quality of the establishment. Breakfast was busy, but the service by the staff was second to none - thank you. They also catered for special dietary requirements, which was appreciated.

A very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Many thanks for your very kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great experience. Great room, had an issue with water leak in bathroom and it got sorted asap. Clean, comfy, as described.

Breakfast included was brilliant and of great quality.

Located in a perfect spot for all you would want to do In Inverness

Highly recommended

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Many thanks for your very kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments

Address: 8-15 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen Mhor is a privately owned collection of period Victorian townhouses and apartments, all stunningly located on the banks of the River Ness. The Ness Bank is the finest conservation area and address in Inverness, below the castle and opposite both the Eden Court Theatre and the Inverness Cathedral. The seventy one bedrooms and nine apartments cater for all leisure and business requirements - from stunning suites with river views, luxurious three bed apartments, to small singles for the modest budget. Great hospitality, ample free onsite parking, free Wi-Fi and the premier location makes this the number one place to stay in the city. Situated within the hotel, Nicos Bistro & Bar is inspired by French home-style cooking - guests are offered a relaxed and informal dining experience and it is one of the best known restaurants in Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments Inverness, Scotland
Hotel Glen Mhor
Inverness Hotel Glen Mhor
Glen Mhor Inverness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.