We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill-out weekend.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8-15 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chill-out weekend.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We'd had a very brief stay at the Alexander back in August when we came to Inverness for a Runrig concert. We decided at the time that we'd simply have to come back.....so we did!! We weren't disappointed......the hospitality was wonderful and the breakfast excellent.....& we've already booked again for a weekend in March. Can't recommend it highly enough!!

Room Tip: River view rooms are lovely......
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    182
    103
    38
    33
See reviews for
85
259
27
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland uk
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Our room was lovely and clean, looked newly decorated looking over the river. Beds so comfy only thing you canna open one window because it's sealed with paint. Carpet on stairs needing renewed but you can see their doing work. Don't drink in the bar, very expensive, I recommend you cut your prices then more people would drink in your bar. Breakfast a shambles no one too greet you, had too ask too get our order taken to be told that someone else would take it. Offered tea or coffee waited 20 minutes then had too ask for our tea. Streaky bacon ?? Back bacon would off been nicer, but it was good a improvement than 2 years ago.Yes I would stay here again at discount rate but not worth more than £85 for 2 for bed and breakfast. Sorry just being honest.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall.
We refurbished all our classic and river-view room last winter. We will do all our public area this year.
We will take the time to review the comments made with the team and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and showing you even more improvement!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a complete whim. Was very comfortable and clean. The beds were quite nice. The hotel also was surprisingly inexpensive.
The view of the river from outside the hotel was quite nice and calming.
The bathrooms were also nice and the shower had a nice pressure
The rooms were a tad cold.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review.
We are always glad to hear our guest complimenting the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed for one night in October as a very last minute decision and were able to get the executive room inc. full breakfast for £49. The hotel was in a great location beside the river and a short walk to the town centre. The room was lovely and the bed was probably the biggest and comfiest I have ever slept in. There was a good choice of continental and cooked breakfast. The staff were also extremely polite and helpful and made a great hotel even better. Amazing hotel would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The executive rooms have very comfy beds and rooms with a river view are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Glen Mhor Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
up north
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I have mixed feelings about our stay. It was a great location next the river and town centre, and the apartment had a lot of space inside (great for 3 small kids). However the price and the detail within the apartment let the experience down. For £147 a night you would expect the details to be right, they were not. The bedside lights were faulty and could fold in half exposing live wires - I explained and the 3 were removed and replace with 1 that was safe. The hall cupboard was a miniature building site, it was padlocked when I raised it. there was no stairgate, no coat hooks, no dishwasher, no pictures or ornaments or books or dvds. The integrated fridge was wet inside because the unit door closed before the fridge door did (I told them but it wasnt fixed). It said serviced apartment on the advert but there was no cleaning or bins emptied during our 3 night stay. the windows all had secondery glazing, most of which was either damaged or very heavy to open. the outer windows were in fair shape. the shower had mould in the corners.
It was worth £100 a night for the average quality and large space in central location. However for the £147 you would expect the detail to be right, and it wasnt.
if it was i would stay there again, if it remains below par I will find somewere better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We were sorry to hear of your disappointment and would like to add that this is not representative of the Glen Mhor Hotel.
Please bear in mind that our apartments are market competitive.
As this is a non catering apartment, it is not serviced on a daily basis, but we are happy to help with any request.
We will take the time to review the comments made and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.
We look forward to welcoming ou again soon, in hope we might regain your faith in the Glen Mhor Hotel and Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, beautiful location, lovely room but ensuite bathroom was way too small, with shower curtain clinging, no room for any toiletries and whole floor covered in water from shower ( no shower tray) . Staff were friendly, breakfast was good. Loved the location with river across the road. Nicos restaurant was lovely, unique cosy bar and gorgeous food.

Room Tip: Ground floor room in The Cottage had very tiny bathroom but room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Many thanks for your very kind regards.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combe Martin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed at the Glen Mhor a few years ago with the company I work for. I said then that I would love to take my wife there for a holiday. That time came as our son is now old enough to look after himself and our wedding aniversary came up. I booked our room and it didnt let me down. It is the way we are maybe......wanting a warm, cosy,very clean and tidy room with a bit of character. The view of the River Ness quietly going about its way was an added bonus. The Glen Mhor is just far enough from the main road to loose the noise of busy rush hours, but not far enough to prohibit you from walking to the shops, bars or restaurants (you can feel safe doing so as well). The Hotels staff are pleasant and polite, they do their jobs admirably.The hotels own bar and restaurant are worth using as well.The food is excellent.
Thank you Glen Mhor

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Many thanks for your very kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments

Address: 8-15 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen Mhor is a privately owned collection of period Victorian townhouses and apartments, all stunningly located on the banks of the River Ness. The Ness Bank is the finest conservation area and address in Inverness, below the castle and opposite both the Eden Court Theatre and the Inverness Cathedral. The seventy one bedrooms and nine apartments cater for all leisure and business requirements - from stunning suites with river views, luxurious three bed apartments, to small singles for the modest budget. Great hospitality, ample free onsite parking, free Wi-Fi and the premier location makes this the number one place to stay in the city. Situated within the hotel, Nicos Bistro & Bar is inspired by French home-style cooking - guests are offered a relaxed and informal dining experience and it is one of the best known restaurants in Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments Inverness, Scotland
Hotel Glen Mhor
Inverness Hotel Glen Mhor
Glen Mhor Inverness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.