We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8-15 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent position by the river ness. Very quiet. Easy to walk into the town. Very good variety of eateries and pubs close by. Guest house run very well by Marissa and her husband. Very good choice for breakfast. Fresh coffee in a cafetiere most welcome.The bedrooms are compact and the en suites very small but adequate.
Would be good if a drink license was given as it would be nice to have an aperitif before going out. There would be a reason to sit in the sitting room. Tartan carpets and curtains and lovely wooden floors added to the comfort. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 8 and 1. Very small en suite in 8/ door needed easing as it kept sticking. Nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    142
    81
    34
    30
See reviews for
74
214
25
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just stayed for 3 night and once again the food was excellent. Rooms are ok but a bit cramped, they are clean and no issues with that. The bar area is great for relaxing and chatting and a good choice of whisky. If you are eating there you have to try their steaks and fish dishes.

Room Tip: The food is better than the rooms but still worth the visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We're glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night and thanks God we didnt book it for longer. We have booked room with river view but got the key to room with car park view (sic!), after complaining we got the room facing river but:
- it was ground floor room with no net courtains in the windows so every passer by could look in,
-window lock was broken so it couldn't be lock (fixed after complaint with piece of wood),
- furnishing in the room have seen better days (stained soft furnishings),
- shower courtain lost its white colour some time ago,
Good point of our stay was the breakfast, although I had to put tissue under a table leg to stop it wobble.
In couple of words the room we have stayed in is not worth £109.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We are truly sorry to hear about your disappointment.

We do appreciate that we have some classic rooms that need upgraded and we are in the process of refurbishing them. Already 14 done this winter and spring and we keep going....
We always advise to go for our upgrades if you wish a special treat.
Please bear in mind that we are market competitive and most part of the time cheaper than our competitor.
We sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to show you all the work done soon.

With kind regards
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel for 3 nights, from 2 till 5 June 2013. Everything was great about this hotel. Location is the best which can be. It is very close to city centre, not more than 5 minutes, but at the same time it is located in such a nice and pieceful part just on the bank of the river Ness, that you dont hear the noise of the city, only fresh air and fantastic view. Hotel is very clean, towels are snowwhite, bed is very comfortable. Breakfast is delicious, hosts are very friednly. The whole atmosphere of hotel makes you feel like at home and you are looking forward to coming back to this lovely place. So if you want conveneint location close to city centre, marvelous view, pieceful and friendly atmosphere and very good price, you should not even hesitate at chosing the hotel. It should deffinetly be the Alexander. Special thanks to hotel owner Andy for very warm welcoming from Natasha and Andrey

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Rude receptionist, came restart TV when not working banged door when she left. Drawer in room not cleaned, garbage left by previous guest was still there. Pancakes served at breakfast was burnt. What kind of hotel is this, if B&B this standard may be acceptable. Think the hotel management is not aware of this, bad reputation for the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

A wonderful old hotel on the banks of the River Ness. A short stroll into the centre. The hotel car park can be filled (crammed) but there is ample overnight parking adjacent. The rooms are immaculate, staff professional and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic 4 star review on Trip Advisor. We certainly value all guest feedback at the Glen Mhor Hotel and apartments and I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Inverness.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We checked into Glen Mhor hotel to pamper ourselves after staying in cosy B&Bs for the last few days. Terrible decision it was, we would have done better and saved some money staying in a B&B!

The room was small and not ventilated properly, the windows cannot be opened. On a hot summer night, we felt as though we were sleeping in a stuffy oven.

The room was also not cleaned properly. There were leftovers in the drawers from the previous stay.

There was no fridge or tissues in the room, and this was not up to international standards.

Wifi was impossible, it kept resetting and we were unable to get online for a long time. And contrary to "unlimited device connections" mentioned by the front desk, we could never connect more than two devices.

The pancakes at breakfast were badly burnt and we had to request for a new set.

Service was horrible. When we requested for assistance for the tv, the response was rude and unprofessional. The staff banged the door hard upon leaving the room. That is not acceptable.

For 129 pounds a night, I definitely would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments

Address: 8-15 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen Mhor is a privately owned collection of period Victorian townhouses and apartments, all stunningly located on the banks of the River Ness. The Ness Bank is the finest conservation area and address in Inverness, below the castle and opposite both the Eden Court Theatre and the Inverness Cathedral. The seventy one bedrooms and nine apartments cater for all leisure and business requirements - from stunning suites with river views, luxurious three bed apartments, to small singles for the modest budget. Great hospitality, ample free onsite parking, free Wi-Fi and the premier location makes this the number one place to stay in the city. Situated within the hotel, Nicos Bistro & Bar is inspired by French home-style cooking - guests are offered a relaxed and informal dining experience and it is one of the best known restaurants in Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments Inverness, Scotland
Hotel Glen Mhor
Inverness Hotel Glen Mhor
Glen Mhor Inverness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.