We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY AT THIS JOKE OF A HOTEL !!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsmills Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsmills Hotel to your Saves list
Kingsmills Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY AT THIS JOKE OF A HOTEL !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

I can only assume that they have made up most of the positive testimonials themselves because this hotel is one of the worst I have stayed in.

It was so bad that I wrote a complaint asking for my money back. After weeks of follow up they eventually refunded me 30% of the cost of my stay which means this totally ruined weekend away cost me over £150 !!!!

This is my experience:

When we booked our weekend, we were not looking for the cheapest, we were looking for the best but our stay fell well short of even average let alone the best

As part of our package with Classic Britain we were promised the Best Available Room. When we initially queried this at check in, we were told it wasn't the best available room we would receive or had been promised it was was the best available rate.

So I found the documentation that showed in writing that it was in fact the best available room only to be told, that it wasn't the best available but it was a very nice room! Getting nowhere and not wanting to start the stay with an argument we left it there and proceeded to the room.

We arrived at the room which was absolutely freezing cold with the windows open and no heating. We closed the windows and turned the heating on which basically didn't work and sat in our coats for a few hours hoping the room would eventually heat up. The heating came on in the evening after we had gone out.

The curtains in the room didn't close properly in the middle and we had to prop a table up against them to keep them shut.

There was chewing gum on the bathroom floor under the sink and the sink had the correct plug missing and had been replaced with a 20p plastic one. This also left a massive hole in the sink just asking for rings to be lost down it.

BBC2 on the TV didn't work at all, 2 other channels were unwatchable due to interference and SKY sports 2 was just showing the information bulletin channel for our entire stay because the box had clearly been rebooted at some point and nobody had even bothered to check it was fixed and to change the channel.

Our view was of some air conditioning units and the hotel staff smoking area. You couldn't open the window in the room for the noise and swearing coming from the staff downstairs late into the night.

At 9pm we asked for some more tea, milk and sugar be brought to the room. Needless to say it never arrived and so we just decided to forget about it and go to sleep.

At 5.30am we were woken by a bin lorry loudly clanking heavy industrial bins outside our window.

As a special treat we wanted to pay the extra for breakfast in bed. What arrived was a nice selection of food but the hot breakfast was stone cold. We put that down to experience on the first morning only to receive exactly the same the next morning. It was like congealed luke warm items had been taken from a buffet and by the time they arrived at the room were pretty much inedible. The bacon was also badly burnt on both mornings and could not even be eaten.

My strongest possible recomendation is that you do not waste your money and stay here. Many other reviews confirm this hotel used to be good when the Marriott owned it but now it is now just an overpriced dump living off past glories.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
I do not believe this response on trip advisor is fair. I have tried to be reasonable with this guest's feedback and complaint, however we (Kingsmills Hotel) were not prepared to be blackmailed into a full refund, plus traveling expenses, which is what we were threatened with. I can also assure all readers that all reviews of our site are 100% truthful and are the words of our guests.

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    283
    117
    31
    17
See reviews for
167
409
32
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

we ( 3 generations) stayed to celebrate our grandson's 10th birthday. we had a wonderfull time with good service, comfortable and clean rooms, friendly sevice and very good food. The hotel had a good atmosphere and the children enjoyed the pool.We would be happy to return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback.

I was delighted to read you had a fantasic family birthday at Kingsmills. The hotel is great for any sort of occasion, especially celebrations. The team like to look after people and relish special occasions to make people feel very special.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, in the near future or the next special occasion.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands,Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for one night and was very impressed with the welcome and service we recieved.We dined over in the main hotel which was first class and breakfast was served in the dining area next to the reception of the Kingsclub which was fine but service was a little bit slow - but the food was worth the wait! Also managed to get the use of the swimming pool and gym which was great. Will certainly be back

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback, much appreicated.

I was delighted to read that you had a great stay at Kingsmills. I see you enjoyed the pool and leisure facilities and thought dinner was first class. Our chefs are very talented and do buy the best local ingredients, which is refelected in the quality dishes offered.

Kind Regards

General Manager
Craig Ewan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Everyone hi,
This hotel is gorgeous, close from the city center in Inverness. There is a pool closing at 10pm. The breakfast is really good and rich. However, having dinner at the hotel would have costed an arm and a leg ... We went to the city center (1mile only) as we did not want to be broke !
Regards,

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for feedback, it is very important to us.

I was delighted to read that overall you had a great stay and really enjoyed your stay. We find offering longer opening hours in our leisure club is very popular with families allowing them to make the very most of their stay and time within the hotel.

I was disappointed to read that you did not try dinner as it was percieved as expensive. Our Childrens menus offer great value for money options and the a la carte dishes are more expensive than the likes of brewers fayre etc however the quality delivered is worth it.

Thanks for your feedback.

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I wasn't going to write a review but having read some recent ones, felt I should.

I wonder if some of the difficulties some people have may boil down to which room you get. Some friends stayed at the same time as us in the annexe at full price and said they wouldn't stay again but we had an excellent experience in the main building and thanks to Tripadvisor's booking links got a good price for it too.

It would be nice if it were closer to the centre, but the hotel looks good when you arrive, has a good carpark, and a friendly and capable reception. The room was much bigger than we usually experience with large twin beds, and the "dated" look some complain of I regard as "period" and adds a nice classy traditional Scottish atmosphere. We used the modestly sized modern swimming pool free of charge (which also sells costumes) and the hot jacuzzi. There are steam and sauna rooms too. Later we ate in the spacious restaurant and the food was good quality - at £40 for the two of us, a bit more than we usually pay, but the excellent live pianist playing while we were eating more than made up for that and made it an experience to remember. There is also a comfortable lounge area. Breakfast was fine. The only thing I can recall as a problem was the mouldy silicone under the lip of the built-in sink.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
At Kingsmills, we have two hotels the original hotel, Kingsmills Hotel which is 77 bedrrooms and dates back to 1870's and earlier this year (May 2010) we opened the Kingsclub and Spa which is 37 bedrooms. Kingsclub is modern contemporary hotel, which I am disappointed it see it reffered to as an annexe. It is a fantastic modern hotel which has all the services to be a stand alone hotel, however Kingsclub guests are allowed to use all Kingsmills facilities also.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

This time I stayed in the King's Club. I have stayed here a number of times before, almost since the King's Club opened. The staff are attentive, the decor good but there are some things which are starting to need attention. There were bits falling off the shower and the drainage for the shower and sink not great.
Otherwise, this is a good quality hotel, except for charging fro wifi access. There is complimentary internet access in the business centre but I can never understand the need to charge separately for wifi.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. I am glad you like the new Kingsclub and Spa. The team there are very friendly and do look after all guests to a high standard. Since your feedback we have investigated the drainage issues you have mentioned regarding the showers and had these adjusted. Like all new buildings there are allows some little points which do not come stright away, however this is now resolved.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Rooms were of good size,but needed to be redone. Lighting for reading was poor. Whie the bathroom had a stall shower, it was very, very cramped.The restaurant was very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2010
Thank you for your feedback.

Kingsmills hotel changed ownership in November 2007, since then the new owners have been investing back into the hotel which has increased the condition standards greatly. The investment will continue through out the whole hotel, however I hope you can appreciate it can not all be done at once.

If you would like to contact me directly I would be keen to hear your comments on your poor restaurant experience.

Yours Sincerely

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmills Hotel

Address: Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#5 Family Hotel in Inverness
#8 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#14 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsmills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
conservatory a la carte restaurant and also Inglis table d' hote restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kingsmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmills Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsmills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.