We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely dog friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsmills Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsmills Hotel to your Saves list
Kingsmills Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
blairgowrie scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“lovely dog friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just back from our 4th short break in a year at Kingsmill. We love this hotel as does our Labrador! We always ask for the same garden room which has access to the lovely grounds which even have a dog poo bin! My husband loves the buffet breakfast (as do I) and the dinners are marvellous and varied. We have stayed here in all weathers and always feel very safe, cosy and secure. The staff are so friendly and so very smart and helpful. We would not stay anywhere else now in Inverness and would recommend it to other dog owners. Will hopefully return in October,

Room Tip: dog owners should ask for a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    317
    122
    35
    21
See reviews for
183
448
32
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thurso, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I tried to book a two night stay online in the kingsmills, close to Raigmore, for my wife to stay in while I was in hospital. On the calendar displayed on the website, there was a £69 sunday night special B&B rate available as well as the £125 saturday night, if I picked a 2 night stay it would not include the Sunday B&B offer, but a dearer price of £250. I phoned the hotel from the hospital and the person at the desk "sorted" it, £10 dearer than online, to include the Sunday B&B. I was discharged from the hospital early so instead of cancelling the night in the hotel, up to 6pm according to online, I decided to use the chance to have a relaxing night in what my wife told me was a lovely room. I informed the front desk that I would be staying the night and was told it would be an extra £10 for breakfast, I said that the"Sunday Night" offer was for up to 2 persons staying in the room. She said no, I would have to pay, as there were other people waiting at the reception and to save any hassle, she paid the extra £10, she had already paid in full on arrival.
We chose to dine in the bar for dinner, I asked when ordering if it would be ok to charge to the room, as my wife was told on arrival she could, or pay as I had the money in my hand, no problem to charge sir was the answer. We ate our food which was lovely then went out for a walk. On arrival back in our room the phone rang, it was someone saying that her hotel account had been closed and she would need to go down to pay. She went back down to reception and they knew nothing about the problem? They contacted the bar and found it was them that phoned. I think totally over the top for a £30+ bill that could easily be sorted out on check out.
I have found the Kingsmills to be one of the poorest hotels I have stayed in for customer service. Premier Inns/Express By HI are usually a last resort, I stayed in the Express by Holiday Inn while my wife underwent a hip replacement in Raigmore last year and I could not fault it, I wish I chose it this time for her to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I recently attended a wedding at Kingsmills Hotel and can say that I thoroughly enjoyed my meal and the waiting staff did an excellent job. The band "Torridon" were excellent and kept the guests on the dance floor all night. However, after the wedding service, we were vacated to the bar adjacent and were expected to stand the whole time while they set up the room ready for the wedding meal. The speeches were timed and not allowed to go over the half hour which resulted with some speeches left unsaid. While the wedding party were getting their photos taken and the staff once again sorted the dining area into the dance floor, we were once again made to stand. The dance foor was too small for dancing and as the night wore on, it began to come apart. The senior member of staff that was left in charge was not very happy when approached about one small complaint at the meal. Some of the guests ended up sitting on the floor and even that did not seem to make any impression on the staff. Standing around in excess of two hours in heels is not pleasant. No coffee served at the table after the meal, we were sent into the bar area where guests were left to stand around with cups of coffee while young children played about. Not the best venue for a wedding in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Kingmills Hotel is a bit away from downtown but a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are spacious and clean, the restaurant provides a good buffet breakfast, and even when there is a wedding going on there, it is quiet. We stayed in the original part of the hotel and really liked it. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Spent the night recently in the Kingsmill hotel and could not really fault it, we stayed in the new wing in a family room. Room was perfect. Staff very friendly and food was spot on, going back in November and fair looking forward to it. Don't know if the 3 hours free wifi was for public areas only but it was not very effective in the room. Well done and keep up the good work.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed in the new building which has an undersized elevator that shuts down when more than people try to use it. The staff needs training on the fire alarm system. One of our fellow travelers bumped the fire alarm and it took the staff a very long time to shut it down so we could get power in our rooms restored. Other than that the hotel is nice and the staff friendly. Lots of golf courses in the area of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Very nice hotel, excellent room, welcoming staff, very nice public areas, free spa facilities and great breakfast.

This is a very nice hotel not far from Inverness city centre, right next to Inverness golf club.

We had a luxury family room and the room really was excellent, a very high standard indeed and I would have given the hotel 5 stars but for two minor gripes.

1. The wifi is free in the lobby but costs £9.95 for in room wi-fi (for 24hrs) - in this day and age this should be free. Come on Kingsmills...this is such as easy thing to rectify!

2. The television reception was very poor - only some ITV channels but no BBC channels and no sky sports (as promised on the channel guide). The next day we had no channels at all...to be fair we did not complain as we in the room for a very short time but the TV should still work as advertised. This was room 414.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was delighted that you had a great stay and enjoyed the service and quality rooms and food and beverage.

WIFI is free in the all the lounges and reception area. Bedroom wifi is available at a small cost £2.50 per hour, £4.95 for three hours or £9.95 for 24 hours. The amount of time used, ie you can log on for 10 minutes then use the other 50 minutes tomorrow, all just for a one hour ticket.

The TV reception should not be like this and I will have investigated ASAP and receify.

Kind Regards


Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmills Hotel

Address: Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Inverness
#6 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#8 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#14 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsmills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
conservatory a la carte restaurant and also Inglis table d' hote restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Kingsmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmills Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsmills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.