We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsmills Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsmills Hotel to your Saves list
Kingsmills Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Bolton, Ontario
1 review
“Couldn't have been better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2008

We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. The food was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel room was clean, large and full of character. We'll be back!

  • Liked — Hotel's charm
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    283
    117
    31
    17
See reviews for
167
409
32
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past when it was owned by the Marriot Hotel chain. My main gripe with this Hotel on my recent trip is with the very poor standard of food during our evening meal. The Prawn Cocktail and Fish and Chips were the poorest meal I have had in many a long time. Yes I would stay in the Hotel again but I would prefer a supermarket sandwich than eat within. You have been warned..

  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

Lovely hotel. The rooms were very clean and the beds were so comfortable and large. The hotel was well maintained and cosy. We felt really welcome. We had stayed here before and had the same amazing experience with friendly, patient staff, clean rooms and the swimming pool was brilliant. Child were welcome too and we didn't feel they were a nusiance at all. The breakfast was also beautiful. The only thing I could possibly fault was the price of the evening meals. I would certainly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

The Kingsmill was a safe bet. The consierge was very friendly. The food however was nice but the portion sizes were extremely disappointing and over priced as a result. Small issue over bar overcharge. Facilities as you would expect for a Marriott were good. Bed room was a good size and well kitted out. Unfortunately someone hadn't flushed the loo before we arrived! lovely!!

  • Liked — The comfort and size of the bedroom
  • Disliked — poo in the loo and poor value of food
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire, Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

My wife and I joined 3 other couples for a weekend in Inverness. How lucky we were to have chosen The Kingsmills. A real quality 4 star hotel which we just couldn't fault. The staff were just so attentive and friendly. We'll be back !!!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — no faults
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmills Hotel

Address: Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#5 Family Hotel in Inverness
#8 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#14 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsmills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
conservatory a la carte restaurant and also Inglis table d' hote restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kingsmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmills Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsmills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.