We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsmills Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsmills Hotel to your Saves list
Kingsmills Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Inverness
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“FABULOUS HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed over night at the Kingsmills on Friday 5th October with a group booking. We booked in at 3pm room 201 it was fabulous, huge bed massive bathroom really comfortable feeling about the place.We went and used the leisure facility it was very nice, the pool is small but had a nice relaxed atmoshere about it. Dinner was served at 7pm the food was delicious and the staff very efficient and friendly. Breakfast the following morning was excellent only thing was the fire alarm went off so we had to vacate the building , it was only a fire drill and this procedure has to carried out, it did not cause too much disruption.Overall we had a lovely stay in a very well run clean hotel and would certainly recommend it in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest Innes33,

Thank you for taking time to write a guest review. I am delighted to read that you and your party had a fabulous stay at the Kingsmills Hotel. I will pass on your praise to the chef for compliments regarding the food and the Restaurant and Bar Manager for the quality of service.

I apologise the weekly Friday morning Fire Drill made you evacuate the hotel until it was communicated to you that it was a test. This happens every Friday morning usually between 10.30am and 11.30am to ensure we test a different call point every week and ensure all associates are comfortable

Kind Regards


Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    283
    117
    31
    17
See reviews for
167
409
32
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were looking for a nice hotel in Inverness and had not booked in advance. After a quick phone call negotiated a good rate (was last minute search for accommodation). On arrival greeted pleasantly and decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. Not too pricey and excellent food. Stayed in deluxe room and found it was very comfortable with huge double bed.
Breakfast the following morning was great.
Included in the price is free use of the spa and pool. Nice pool with jacuzzi and worth making the time to take advantage of the facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest "TimSurrey"

Thank you for the guest review. I was delighted that you were satisfied with your last minute search for a quality hotel. I am glad to read that our reception team are up-selling our own restaurants and you enjoyed the quality of the food and the service, as well as good value for money. We do buy local ingredients when we can this does cost a little more however the quality is worth it.

I am also glad you enjoyed relaxing in our leisure club.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights from 24th September. We stayed in a classic room which was nice. The bed was huge. Bathroom could be doing with modernisation though. Tried both restaurants in hotel and had 2 lovely meals. Breakfast good too. Staff friendly and helpful. Used leisure facilities which were good, pool small but it wasn't busy so it was fine. Location good, about a ten to fifteen minute walk into city centre. Would stay again if we were in that neck of the woods.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest "LyndseyEK",

Thank you for your guest review. I am glad you and your husband enjoyed your recent stay. I agree with your feedback that our classic rooms are very comfortable, however are very traditional, especially the bathrooms. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed dinner in both our Inglis Restaurant - fixed price and Conservatory - a la carte. The leisure club does host a 12 meter pool, jacuzzi pool, steam room and two gyms. It is quite club and very rarely do you have to wait for kit or the pool too busy.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Kingsmills.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here in April 2012 in The Kings Club. This is a very modern and luxurious annexe of the main hotel. We stayed for 3 nights in the cocoon room. We couldn't find fault. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean. The rooms were to a high standard. We had a view overlooking the Golf Course with a private balcony. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If your budget stretches, stay in the Kings Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest "David_Pat_Sumner",

Thank you for your guest review and for your loyal business. I was delighted you enjoyed another fantastic stay in our Kingsclub and Spa hotel. I was delighted you enjoyed the hard work and fantastic design that goes into providing this fantastic offering. I was also delighted to see you complement our Housekeeping team with feedback on the high level of cleanliness. I am glad to say that you are not alone in your compliments, as we have just be award the best hotel 2012 by the Highlands and Islands Tourism Awards

I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here as part of a coach holiday in the Scottish Highlands. This hotel is worth the four stars in every way. From the friendly welcome at the front reception to the well appointed room and bathroom and the delicious fre on offer. Two small problems were put right straight away, no problem whats so ever. Highly recomended and well worth the four night stay.
I was very impressed with the cleanleness of the streets all around the Inverness area. No litter, weeds, dog dirt, or grafitti to be seen. It was a pleasure to be there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your guest review. I was delighted to read that you really enjoyed your four night stay at the hotel and enjoyed visiting Inverness and the surrounding Highlands. The quality of life up here is fantastic, we are so luck to live in such a beautiful clean environment.

Hopefully we will see you you back here one day.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Five girls went from work on a mini spa day at the Kingsmill. From start to finish we had a truly excellent time. All staff were very helpful in all aspects of our spa day. We had a relaxing time in the pool area where we were served tea and cakes. After our swim, jacuzzi and use of sauna and steam room we were taken over to the Kingsclub for our platter lunch, presentation and quality of food again excellent and served by cheerful and pleasant staff. After our platter lunch and dessert we had a massage, again very welcoming and friendly staff. A truly wonderful day enjoyed by us all. I have stayed overnight at this hotel and was impressed then. But due to time and family commitments unfortunately we could not stay overnight this time. Certainly recommend to all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest "Brunodog"

Thank you for the feedback on your girlie spa day. I am delighted to read that all five of you enjoyed the whole day and were very well looked after from every department and every associate you encountered. We have a beautiful spa combined with great associates. A winning combination. Spread the word!

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at The Kingsmills for 1 night, whilst in Inverness for business.
The hotel looked very nice from the outside, and the staff at check-in were very friendly and helpful, but although the room was very large and the bed very comfortable, there was a huge amount of dust and cobwebs in the room (room 47, on the first floor).
The shower had very poor water-pressure, which was a significant problem for my wife, who wanted to wash her very long hair.
The Leisure Centre was good – decent range of cardio and resistance machines, along with a pool, Jacuzzi, steam room etc.
We had dinner in the A La Carte Conservatory (the regular Inglis Restaurant was fully-booked), and it looked very nice – until we ordered. My wife had no trouble making herself understood when she ordered the linguine, but my order for a burger caused some difficulty. I asked if it could be well-done, and the waitress replied that the burgers well all cooked in this way, and definitely cooked all the way through.

20 minutes later, the linguine arrived along with …………………………………. Fish & Chips ! I explained to the (same) waitress that I had ordered the burger, and she then went off to the computerised till to check – she then returned and said that somehow she had typed Fish & Chips into the ordering screen.
She apologised and said that the chef would make a burger immediately, so off went the fish (along with the linguine), and another 20 minutes later the 2 meals appeared.
Sadly, the burger had been rushed, and was most definitely not cooked all the way through. If I want to eat Steak Tartare, I will order it, but when I want a well-done burger that is what I expect.
It might have been a useful touch to perhaps offer a complimentary drink / dessert / whatever to compensate for this error, but sadly no such offer was forthcoming.
This was the only negative to our stay, but it was a significant negative, and it is to this particular dish that I attribute the intestinal episodes that I suffered during the next day.
If we return, I will be wary of what I order from the menu, but with so many choices of accomodation in Inverness I may just "vote with my feet".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest "RickersScotland"

Thank you for your guest review. I am glad that you found your bedroom comfortable. I will pass on your comments to housekeeping as this is very unusual, that you found your room dusty. We are a very busy hotel and every room is nearly used every day and obviously cleaned every day. I apologise regarding you dinner service in our a la carte restaurant. Clearly we got that wrong for you and did not rectify it on the night which is very unusual. We have a very good food and beverage team however clearly we got it wrong on that night. Please contact me directly off line so I can address this. I do want you to return to Kingsmills hotel and enjoy your next stay as you should have on the first occasion.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmills Hotel

Address: Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#5 Family Hotel in Inverness
#8 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#14 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsmills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
conservatory a la carte restaurant and also Inglis table d' hote restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kingsmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmills Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsmills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.