We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stratherrick Road, Inverness IV2 4LF, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

An excellent hotel. Lovely staff who are willing to help you at all times. Bar area very relaxed and great for kids. Short walk into Inverness town centre. Excellent breakfast. very spacious family room with huge bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    85
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
58
144
17
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

There is always a danger in returning to a hotel that literally blew you away last year, for a second time!

With my Dad now a year older (93), and a tad slower than last time, everyone at the Lochardil went out of their way again this year to ensure that we had a wonderful 7-night stay.

We didn't notice very many changes, if any, but this is not a reflection of the Lochardil slipping behind, it's simply that they're doing everything just right, in our opinion. The Lochardil is at the top of the league, and rightly deserves to be, refelcting the wonderful teamwork from the staff, and ever-onsite owners.

No one could have done more for us, and we'd love to be there again in 2014, although I put some 2,415 miles on the clock, driving from home in Devon up to Scotland and back, and driving everyday into the glorious Scottish Highlands.

We have now got a Blue Badge for Dad, and while parking is never an issue, the wide, designated spaces, are so close to the restaurant, Garden Wing, and main building, that this should never be a problem for anyone.

For those of you with a Garmin SatNav, it still tells you that, on approach, the hotel is 'on the 'right', when it's actually on the left, and whenever you want to travel in the Fort William direction, Garmin delights in sending you down a single-track road with passing spaces! This is, of course, nothing to do with the hotel.

Finally, if you have a weather app on your phone, or look at the daily printed weather forecast in the hotel, you'll see that it tends to be raining every day!

Well, we just had some rain on a trip to Mallaig, but otherwise never needed more than shirt-sleeves the whole stay! Warm and sunny, with a stunningly-vlue sky.

As a local in Ullapool summed it up: 'I'm annoyed with the weather forecast each day, because it suggests that it'll be raining all the time, so people don't want to come and visit us!'. This is so true, but at least means that so much of this wonderful country, its scenery and people don't end up like England, where there are too many people, too many cars, and a far less-cultured ambience wherever you go.

It's over 600 miles from home, but well worth every drop of diesel, I'd say!

I'm praying we can make it next year, God willing!

Room Tip: Ask when you book - give some idea of your personal needs, and you'll surely be well accommodate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for this very kind review. We are all delighted that once again you enjoyed your time with us and it was great to see you both back.

We try our very best - it is not always possible to please everyone but we do our utmost to ensure our guests enjoy their stay and it is super when the efforts of our first class loyal manager and staff are appreciated. They work very hard to please so thank you.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is exactly what you'd expect - room was clean and comfortable but nothing special. The bar was ok and the overall feel of the place was somewhere you'd stop for a night or for a work trip rather than a destination in its own right. Check in was a bit random, the person in reception didn't seem to be the right person to do the check in. All in all pleasant enough. We paid £112 for the room which felt a little high for the quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review I am glad you found things as expected.

Regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is a little walk outside of the main city but in a beautiful setting. The rooms are lovely; spacious, well equipped, comfortable and clean. It's a quiet location so you don't get disturbed by traffic etc. the breakfast is served in the conservatory and includes good Scottish choices including kippers, black pudding and freshly cooked eggs. Staff are helpful and offer advice on where to go and will happily organise taxis etc. Its a lovely hotel which shows off Scottish hospitality to its best!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room in the annex as you have a nice outdoor seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We try our very best and it is nice when appreciated. Our loyal hard working staff are our biggest asset and your kind words are welcome.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel as I was attending a wedding also being held in the Hotel, and I am happy to say that everything concerning both the wedding and my own personal stay was of the highest standard. This was however of no surprise to me as this was my second stay at this hotel, and a high standard of quality and service is obviously something that this business makes a priority to maintain. The staff were excellent in every department, from reception to the restaurant to the service at the wedding. My room itself was excellent, very clean, modern bathroom and comfy. So all in all, thoroughly hopping some more of my friends decide to get married at this hotel as it will give me an excuse to stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest


Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the service was to your satisfaction once again.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Our room was in the extra building on the property and not in the main area. The front desk staff were great, the rooms were clean but the bed wasn't comfortable. We had supper at the restaurant just once and wouldn't do it again. The waiters had no clue about things on the menu or didn't understand the questions or had to go ask someone. Our waiter even had to ask someone in the kitchen if we could add a scoop office cream to the dessert. The food wasn't very good either. It was just ok.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

my daughter held her wedding reception here on the 6th july 2013 the manner in which we were treated on our arrival,and indeed during our stay was nothing but simply professionalism at its very best I would recommend this hotel and all its staff for all their care and attention to detail no matter how small it was a pleasure to stay there and I would do so again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review. It was a pleasure to have you all stay with us and to be entrusted with your daughter's wedding reception. We are delighted that the day went so well and that you all enjoyed being here.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel

Address: Stratherrick Road, Inverness IV2 4LF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#1 Business Hotel in Inverness
#2 Family Hotel in Inverness
#5 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel is set in it’s own spectacular gardens in a peaceful area of the City.The main hotel has 12 luxury bedrooms and the adjacent Garden Wing which opened in early 2006 has 16 deluxe bedrooms all furnished and equiped to the highest standard.Personally supervised by the owners Eileen and Graeme since 1985 Lochardil provides comfort and quality to its guests, good scottish food where they can relax and enjoy the facilities . Free extensive onsite parking with free wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lochardil Hotel
Best Western Inverness
Inverness Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.