We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely to be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Culloden House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Culloden House to your Saves list
Culloden House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely to be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Thankfully this place never changes, the same friendly welcoming faces, beautiful bedrooms and public areas and lovely food. It is not cheap but you get what you pay for, we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    43
    13
    11
    5
See reviews for
40
137
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stirling
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Having just read an "extremely negative" review on Culloden House Hotel it prompted me to write this!

Having sent many of our Clients from around the World to Culloden House Hotel over the years I have nothing but praise for Steve, Pat and all their Staff! I have regularly received positive feedback and words like "Amazing" and "Awesome" are frequently used in their Tour Experience feedback forms and e-mails!

I have stayed at a number of properties all over Scotland and Culloden House Hotel is up there with the best!


Neil Robertson

Director

www.standrews-golftours.com

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We stayed at Culloden House over New Year and had a wonderful time. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the food was excellent and the entertainment was superb - two evenings of Scottish dancing and a most interesting talk on Hogmanay about Bonnie Prince Charlie and the '45 Rebellion, including a demonstration of how the kilt was originally worn. It was clear that a great deal of effort had been devoted to ensuring that the Hogmanay break was a success.

The heavy snowfalls at the time of our visit prevented us from seeing much of the surrounding countryside, but we were able to walk in the nearby woods, and the scenery was magical.

We thoroughly recommend this hotel, and hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

The room was a decent size, very well decorated with comfortable chairs and a big bed and the bathroom had a fantantastic jacuzzi bath which was easily big enough for two! The public rooms had nice open fires - gas rather then real log, but no less cosy for that. The staff were just as they should be, friendly and helpful without being intrusive. We didn't eat dinner but the breakfasts were perfect. Only one small complaint - when we arrived we were hungry but much too early for dinner and couldn't be bothered going into Inverness so we ordered some snacks. Although they were OK they represented poor value especially the cheese board which comprised of 5 oatcakes, three small (really small) pieces of cheese, a few bits of celery and about six grapes for £10! But that is the only complaint - otherwise it was just lovely.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

A few days away to celebrate a birthday seemed like a good idea so we booked a suite at Culloden House Hotel. On arrival we were greeted nicely and felt good. Our suite turned out to be one room - not our idea of a suite - and bathroom. Most of the staff were pleasant and quite helpful but there was one person whose demeanour and what seemed almost lack of interest in us was quite off-putting. Another party took up most of her time. The food was o.k. but not nearly as good as we have had elsewhere over the years. Very disappointed to have the same menu offered each evening. Sausage skins were almost impossible to cut into! It wasn't a cheap stay - we had been aware it wouldn't be when we booked and were prepared to pay but the experience left us feeling
let down and ripped off. The hotel was superb years ago but the same can't be said of it now.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

From the minute my wife and i set eyes on this palace we knew it would be something special. The greeting from the staff was exceptionally warm, friendly and helpful. They just couldn't do enough. Our cases were taken to the room which was both elegant and romantic with that very important aura of history and romance in the air. My wife cried when she saw the warm welcoming fire, it was just so beautiful. After a fantastic shower in the ornate luxury bathroom we went to dinner and were politely seated in the lounge for drinks and time to select from the menu. The food was so succulent and tender, with these wonderful flavors, it really was that good. The waiter was brilliant, a touch of Scottish humor and great service and always a smile with his nice words.

We retired for the evening and slept "as snug as a bug in a rug" (we had a great nights sleep). The bed was both comfortable and beautiful, which really pleased my wife who usually has difficulty sleeping away from home.

My wife and i are both early risers and were down in the lounge before 06:00 playing chess in the lounge. The night porter kindly supplied us with coffee a smile and a kind word. Breakfast and the service were to the standards i now expected from the Hotel. The breakfast especially is worth a mention, mouth watering to say the least and set me up for a great day.

In Summary, this is one of the best hotels in which i have ever stayed, exceptionally, clean, bright,warm and very welcoming, my current job has me traveling the length and breadth of Britain and i have stayed in supposedly fantastic hotels costing far more than the Culloden but really were a poor substitute.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

This beautiful hotel set in delightful grounds was exactly what we'd hoped it would be. From the moment we turned into the elegant driveway and set eyes on the romantic historical house we felt like we had entered another world. The staff were charming and courteous and readily available. They could not have been more helpful.
The food was wonderful, especially the home made biscuits. The whiskey selection superb! The decor of the hotel was timeless and romantic with beautiful open fires and relaxing armchairs to sink into. We have recommended this hotel to our friends and family and will definately be returning ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Culloden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden House

Address: Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#7 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#9 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Culloden House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Gold list property, Georgian Country House which boasts first class service in the Capitol of the Scottish Highlands. Award winning cuisine, magnificent walled garden and gracious rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Culloden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden House Hotel Inverness
Culloden Hotel Inverness
Culloden House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culloden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.