We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unbelievable experience - just before Christmas, very special.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Culloden House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Culloden House to your Saves list
Culloden House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
East Hampton
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“An unbelievable experience - just before Christmas, very special.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed here the week before Christmas. I believe that we were the only guests at this mansion-style castle-like hotel, just outside of Inverness. The place was magical and as the only guests, for the standard rate, we got the presidential suite! It was a bit cold in the room, but had a fire. That was my only possible "complaint," but not really, as expected in Scotland in the winter. This was really a special place. The common areas were incredibly appointed as one might expect in such an old school sort of hotel. We were actually able to help ourselves to an open table of exquisite rare single malt scotches from the area - a big plus! This was likely due to light staffing around the holiday, as most of the area shuts down completely, with only a few distilleries open, BTW. The hotel, coincidentally has a sister in Northern California, near Muir Beach, which has been a favorite of ours for years. We were surprised to see this upon departure, to say the least!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    43
    13
    11
    5
See reviews for
40
137
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at Culloden House Hotel on Friday 14th March. We were blown back by the suite we stayed in. The fireplace was on for our arrival meaning the room was lovely and warm. The room was tastefully and traditionally decorated to suit the period of the house without it feeling old or worn out. The property is charming in all aspects and breakfast the next morning was outstanding. I had the fresh kippers and the texture and taste were perfect. I have had the pleasure of staying in many hotels but have never received service at breakfast like we received from Kyle. The gentleman was professional, always alert and knew exactly how to conduct and effortless breakfast service. This was the first time we had stayed at Culloden House Hotel but certainly won't be the last. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We were married in Culloden House 2 years ago and my hubby decided it was high time we returned. This time with our 8 month old baby and of course, our dog. We were given a room at the end of the house which was brilliant as it had an outside door to let the dog in and out. Massive lounge and 2 bathrooms, ideal for baby to have her own "room". We were given a lovely welcome, and it was so nice to see Kyle and Lorraine again. Kyle deserves the award he was recently given for hospitality as he is on hand constantly and made us want for nothing. Room immaculate, lovely rainfall shower. Okay some reviews make comment of the decor being dated but you wouldnt want to walk in and find the place 'modern' - the decor fits in exactly well with a property over 300 years old - CLASSIC. Breakfast was cooked to order - black pudding gorgeous! Accommodated with a (clean) high chair and cooked the baby porridge! Nothing to complain about. This place belongs in our hearts and I do not understand why people are rating Culloden with one or two stars. They have obviously never stayed in a high class establishment before and I really dont know what they are expecting?! Anyway we love it, so five stars to Stephen, Murray, Kyle and the Team!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardersier, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Culloden House recently for the night, we would have been better staying at the nearby Smithton Hotel. Although at times it did feel like we were in a care home.

I have been in Culloden a number of times over the years with work for dinner and I always leave disappointed with the quality of food. It's a genuine flashback to the early 80's, which is no good thing. Boring, predictable menus, childish plating of dishes. The food is very plain and sadly often cold. The food lacked seasoning and freshness. Vegetables had been microwaved. When I asked about the freshness of the fish I was told it was frozen which I already suspected. Surely fresh fish isn't too much too expect when paying the premium charged here.

The restaurant on the whole is cringeworthy. Scottish Chef of the year takes the helms in the kitchen though, ha, I have eaten better in pop up kitchens than the dire food dished up here. Overpricing is a usual theme at Culloden. 3 courses here can be more expensive than restaurants in Scotland rated by Michelin. The dining room is very dated, along with the rest of the hotel needs a total refurb.

Our room was cold, wifi didn't work, toilet had a foul odour, dusty, I could go on.

Breakfast was a let down too. Everything had been cooked earlier in the morning and by the time we had breakfast at 9:30, it was dry, cold, chewy and devoid of any flavour. Come on how hard is it to cook breakfast to order?! It wasn't like it was busy.

When I was asked on check out how everything was I politely gave my views and was shocked by the behaviour of the general manager. He was extremely unprofessional, threatening and incredibly rude. This is a man who obviously has issues and should not be dealing with customers if he cannot control himself. Having just handed over the best part of £500 I felt entitled to my opinion but obviously the truth hurt on this occasion.

I do not intend to ever return to the pretentious Culloden house and do not recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

The second time we have stayed in Culloden house and once again we were not disappointed. Definitely our favorite hotel in Scotland, stunning rooms and beautiful grounds. The staff go above and beyond to make your stay very enjoyable and relaxing. Excellent selection of whisky!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Greg M,

What can I say! It was OUR pleasure to have you back and were only sorry we didnt have a celebrity guest for you too meet this time!!

After such a long journey to get too us we were delighted to welcome you and your family back.

Hope to see you again soon at your favourite Scottish Hotel!!

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Culloden House Hotel is a very charming and grand mansion house close to Inverness and the Culloden Battlefield. We have been meaning to stay here for a long time and finally got round to it recently.

Our experience was very pleasant indeed. Staff were polite and attentive, food was lovely and our room was very nice too.

It's not cheap but we would definitely recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in the Inverness area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Indeed the highest praise we can ask for is when a guest takes the time to tell people they enjoyed their stay, thank you!

"Happy to recommend" is what we aim for with all our guests, we dont always get it right but the percentages are highly stacked in our favour and we do listen to all the feedback that our valued guest give us.

Thanks once again and I hope to have the pleasure of your company in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Some friends and I stayed at Culloden House for the Hogmanay celebrations. The service was exceptional and food was amazing. The staff have created a relaxed ambiance while still upholding very high standards.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
It was our pleasure! Delighted that your party had a great time and hope to see you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Culloden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden House

Address: Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#7 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#9 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Culloden House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Gold list property, Georgian Country House which boasts first class service in the Capitol of the Scottish Highlands. Award winning cuisine, magnificent walled garden and gracious rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Culloden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden House Hotel Inverness
Culloden Hotel Inverness
Culloden House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culloden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.