We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Customer Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Inverness Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Inverness Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Inverness Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Street, Inverness IV1 1QY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Customer Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We checked-in here for a night on our way back to Manchester from Isle of Skye and we were glad we stayed at Mercure.
Meeting Laura upon checking-in was a most pleasant experience as we have met the most polite, patient and helpful front-desk staff ever! Laura was knowledgeable and most accommodating to our requests, a real gem of your hotel indeed. She was even apologetic for not being able to get a river-facing room for us except a suite which was really not our choice for a one-night's stay. We wish we had a chance to meet her again upon check-out but it was not meant to be. Regardless, this hotel had plenty of other priceless gems as their staff and their rooms are comfy to boot. Had a great time here despite a night & will be back should we drop by Inverness in future. Thank you Mercure Inverness staff!
ps. Love your pool table too & your lobby is so cozy/warm & homely. Kudos!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed it so much and will share your feedback with Laura on Reception. We have 2 Laura's that work on Reception so although its difficult to tell which one you met, I am confident it could have been either one of them as they are both valued members of our team.
I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    156
    165
    72
    33
See reviews for
70
201
37
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The whole team at the mercure have made my month long business trip a little more bearable. Nothing has been too much trouble from the team. It has been a real pleasure staying here and thanks to both Lauras, suzan, Kamil, Maria, Grant & Victoria I will come back for in my own time to enjoy everything the hotel has to offer. The food was excellent at both breakfast and dinner.The hotel has a small but fully equipped gym with a pool with all the poolside extras you'd expect. The hotel is in the best location and is only a few minutes walk from the train station and the main shopping centre. There are plenty of nice places to eat around the hotel. It can be a little loud out in the streets at the weekend but you'll get this in all the local hotels too. I'd recommend spending a little extra and upgrading to a privilege room they include a little more space with a coffee machine and a few extra things such as gowns and slippers. The staff are what make this hotel so special and I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us at Mercure Inverness. I am really pleased that you found our team to be so helpful, they work very hard and we are very proud of them so its nice when other people notice that as well.
I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future and once again, many thanks for your feedback.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Irene and I arrived unannounced around 9pm on a Wednesday night to a smiling polite and very efficient receptionist (Laura) who gave us a price for the one night including breakfast which we gladly accepted. Checked in quickly and arrived into a large well appointed room. Bed was huge comfortable and spotlessly clean, shower and bath facilities were superb. Breakfast was awesome with huge choice of foods all well prepared well set out with staff on hand to help with any requests. Check out like the check in was flawless, we left feeling refreshed and delighted we chose this hotel over others.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Inverness and hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I stayed at the hotel because I was working in the area. It is very conveniently located in the city centre.

On arrival the car park us to the rear and parking is free for residents so ignore the parking meters.

The decor and general appearance in public areas is of a very high quality hotel.

I stayed on the 3rd floor and was lucky enough to have a room overlooking the river with some fabulous views. The room was bigger than expected and decorated to a high standard. The bathroom was not of the same standard and without sounding too fussy would benefit from a thorough clean.

Breakfast was good with a wide variety of foods on display including haggis. No decent Scottish hotel should be without haggis at breakfast.

I used the sports facilities which are situated on the lower ground floor. The pool was great and it was a nice way to start the day by being able to go for a swim.

The staff are all pleasant and helpful and there are a decent selection if eating places within a short stones throw of the hotel.

Would a stay again? Yes definitely

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time to review your stay. I appreciate your constructive and positive feedback. Please be assured that this will be used as we continually try to improve our service.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria b.c.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Tiny door, big room.

As my travels draw me further north I've looked for more standard hotels with out feeling too much of a corporate feeling.
Sue was wonderful at check in...my double bed, big soaker tub and soft lush pillows made for great sleeps for a few nights.
My room looked over the river ness, I could see the cathedral and several of the bridges that span the ness. It's a quick flowing river and with the high winds visiting the same time as I, it made for some wonderful pictures.
Breakfast had a bountiful buffet of all English and highland classics. Well presented..I only had dinner once, but I can attest to the burgers, thick cut chips and sticky toffee pudding.
Both barmen were quick, professional and a wealth of informational knowledge. I'd stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted that our team were able to be of assistance to you and they will be pleased that you have mentioned them.
I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Inverness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Inverness Hotel

Address: Church Street, Inverness IV1 1QY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Inverness Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Mercure Inverness Hotel for a dramatic Highland backdrop and Inverness Old Town right on your doorstep. You can't get more central than this! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Inverness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inverness
Inverness Ramada
Mercure Inverness Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Inverness Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.