We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy due to poor sound insulation, avoid.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Inverness Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Inverness Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Inverness Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Street, Inverness IV1 1QY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very noisy due to poor sound insulation, avoid.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is immediately opposite several pubs which are very noisy from people shouting during the night. Woken up constantly, avoid staying here on Friday or Saturday nights! The insulation did not help keep out the noise from the streets, the 'acoustic vents' in the windows completely ineffective. No double glazing. Bathrooms very dated, think of 60's or 70's style and you are about right. Staff nice and friendly though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, I am sorry that your were not completely satisfied with your stay. We have just completed phase 2 of 3 in replacing our windows and they are all double glazed with an acoustic vent as you mentioned. I apologise if you felt this did not help reduce the noise from our city centre and we will of course look into this matter.
I appreciate your feedback on our team and will share this with them.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    155
    165
    72
    33
See reviews for
69
201
37
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

1st stay at this hotel and not particularly impressed. Was woken several times through the night by outside noise(probably revellers leaving a local pub at 3am). Noisy plumbing, poor insulation and at very best - average food. Won,t return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay, I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay.
We always appreciate the opportunity to make amends and I would be grateful if you would contact us direct and we can discuss this in more detail, my Operations Manager, Suzan Latto, is always available to discuss such issues.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The room was comfortable and the staff on the front desk were very pleasant. However, the rooms that are advertised as facing the picturesque old town do so over the bins and other mess outside the kitchens. Also, the windows were not double glazed and the noise from shouting drunks leaving the local pub/clubs was ridiculously loud. I could practically hear every word.

Room Tip: Ask to face the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We are working to try and reduce the noise experienced from our city centre location and have recently installed new windows with an acoustic vent to reduce noise disturbance.
I appreciate your feedback and we will use this as we continually try to improve our service.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The staff were really friendly and helpful, the rooms were beautiful and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was amazing for the money and the location was unbeatable. Only downside was that we could hear the other guests in their room, and bathrooms for that matter, and that blocking out the noise from the street did not work a 100% but still one of the best places we staved at

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the pakring area rather than the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate your constructive feedback and we will use this as we work continually try to improve our service.
I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your visit to the UK and have a safe journey home.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Have recently returned from a stay at this hotel. In the main the hotel is (a) centrally located (b) clean and (c) majority of staff do care about the service they provide. The hotel however is in desperate need of refurbishment as fixtures and fittings are really worn however there are some things management can do to improve this. Throughout my stay curtains were hanging down in the breakfast restaurant which were not repaired, not in my opinion a big job and something which can easily be put right. Perception after all is reality and if they cannot be bothered to repair a curtain what else can they not be bothered about. In addition I did experience attitude from one of the breakfast servers (the old lady with collar length brown hair) who displayed real attitude when I asked to sit next to the widow, despite the restaurant being empty and based on the other mornings attendance, would not fill up in the 30 mins I was there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I appreciate your constructive and honest feedback and we will use this as we contiinue to try and improve our service.
I am sincerely sorry that you encountered issues while staying with us, please be assured that we will rectify these.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a reservation confirmed and paid for three months in advance of our trip. After 3 1/2 hour train ride we arrived to find out no rooms were available. The staff mumbled a weak "Very sorry, but we have booked you to another hotel." I asked to speak to the manager and she apologized about a computer problem and our reservation had not been confirmed, even though I showed her a printout of payment confirmation. Her response was to hand me a map with the location of the hotel who accepted our reservation. I suggested she get us a cab at no charge and come up with something better as recompensation. She offered one evening meal at the other hotel. I was so disgusted with their total disregard for the inconvenience they caused that I couldn't wait to leave and accepted the offer. Stay away from this place and avoid their incompetency.

Room Tip: Don"t book a room. This place is a waste of your time and money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest
Please accept my sincere apologies that we were not able to honour your reservation with us, this was due to a systems error. If you would like to contact my Operations Manager, Suzan Latto, directly at the Hotel we would be more than happy to look at ways of making amends with you.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Inverness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Inverness Hotel

Address: Church Street, Inverness IV1 1QY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Inverness Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Mercure Inverness Hotel for a dramatic Highland backdrop and Inverness Old Town right on your doorstep. You can't get more central than this! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Inverness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inverness
Inverness Ramada
Mercure Inverness Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Inverness Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.