We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Station Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Highland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Highland Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Highland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Station Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Royal Highland hotel is adjacent to the railway station,right in the center of Inverness.Stepping inside is like stepping back in time.The decor throughout a little tired looking but that just adds to its appeal and attractiveness.My room was small clean and modern and perfect for one nights stay.
Breakfast was like a scramble as there was a famished coach party in,however the buffet breakfast was adequate,though im not keen on tea and coffee served from a machine.
All the staff i came in contact with were excellent and very freindly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to contact us directly for any assistance you may need prior to placing a new booking and thus making your stay with us even more memorable and we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    342
    216
    106
    90
See reviews for
110
442
74
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great location, adjacent to train station. Nice grand building & foyer but could do with a facelift. Floorboards outside my room were very noisy; I heard every person walk past through the night. Bed was brick hard & shower was poor.

Dinner menu was not appealing so visited TGI Friday's next door but cooked breakfast was good. I liked the chiller beside reception serving soft drinks; nice touch.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Being a heritage hotel built in 1856 , we do try ensure that the character of the hotel remains intact while modern facilities get added to it and we would like to reassure you that structural condition of the building is conforming to all the latest standards.Please feel free to contact us directly for any assistance you may need prior to placing a new future booking and thus making your stay with us even more memorable and we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Royal Highland is an extremely pleasant throw back to another time when train travel was graceful and elegant and the hotels by the stations were equally so. Our room was small but immaculate with large windows that actually opened - always nice. Best of all were the bathroom fixtures - perhaps original but in great condition, large bath tub with oodles of hot water. The location in downtown Inverness was wonderfully central - we were within easy walking distance of everything. Walked in the old part of town that evening - great music from the local pubs. It would have been fun to stay longer.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the opposite side to the train station. There's a fair bit of noise in that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to contact us directly for any assistance you may need prior to placing a new booking and thus making your stay with us even more memorable and we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My wife and I have just come back from a short rail holiday booked through Railtrail and our base was this historic railway next door to the railway station in Inverness. Our room was excellent, clean, we'll maintained and large, we'll in keeping with the traditions that we expected. We started each day with a good well presented breakfast in the large dining room and the staff were friendly and attentive, we'll led by the restaurant manager, a very friendly lady who made us all welcome.
At the end of the day when we all, 19 in our group, got back to the hotel the restaurant staff were well organised and ready for us and delivered a good table d,hote menu. I personally prefer to have my coffee served separately from my dessert, this would be my only criticism. I think the hotel is perhaps mostly geared up for tour parties, many who maybe only stay one or a small number of nights and perhaps this may mean that a solo traveller or couple may not be best suited to stay here. All in all my concerns about the hotel from other trip advisor respondents were not a problem and I would be happy to stay here again on a group trip.

Room Tip: We asked for a double room nothing more. Our room overlooked the roof of the station and was perhaps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Let us also reassure you that with our 86 rooms we cater to all categories of visitors - leisure, corporate as well as upper end group travel - almost in equal proportion. Please feel free to contact us directly for any assistance you may need prior to placing a new booking and thus making your stay with us even more memorable and we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed here for two nights as part of a Shearings tour. Very ornate public rooms and in its era a fine luxury hotel for the great days of the railway. Clean and comfortable. We had a small room with sloping ceiling in the top part of the hotel. Recently decorated with attractive furnishings and a small but functional modern bathroom.
The downside however was the standard of the evening meals. Several of the group failed to eat the meals they had chosen. Chunky slices of undercooked turkey, and piles of penne pasta together with undercooked potatoes on the same plate. The cheesecake had a soggy bottom(Mary Berry wouldn't have been pleased) A few of us even left the soup. Sorry Royal Highland but did not come up to expectations.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
While we are delighted that you have enjoyed your accommodation but we are also disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the evening meal and we would like to apologise for the same. Our kitchen team tries very hard to deliver the best quality meal experience and our Executive Head Chef is looking personally into all the points raised and we would like to reassure you that corrective steps will be initiated.We hope that will give us another try on your next visit to Inverness so that we can provide you with the experience that a majority of our guests take back with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Arrived on December the 30th of 2013 was meant to stay until the 1st of Jan 2014, checked out the following morning. I was greeted by the rudest lady at the front desk, I explained that my partner as sick with the flu and could we get into our room a hour earlier than the 3 o'clock check-in, if looks could of killed I would of died on the spot. Needless to say the room wasn't given to us until 3.30 or so. This put a bad taste in my mouth that I couldn't over look. We left the following morning. The hotel itself is in need of renovation as some of the areas looked like the haven't been done up since the 80's.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your checking in experience on 30th of December in 2013 and we would like to apologise for the same. The year end period of the hotel usually have a very high occupancy and being the Festive Period of the year, some of theguests may have delayed the check out which has possibly caused our inability to provide you the keys before our scheduled check in time, however, we apologise once again if any member of our staff, who are normally complemented for their friendliness, behaved in any way other than our high standards..We hope that will give us another try on your next visit to Inverness so that we can provide you with the experience that a majority of our guests take back with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Booked two single rooms at this property due to its proximity to the train station ( Station is right next door) and having stayed here many years ago, I did remember it being a comfortable hotel with lovely public areas. The hotel has had a refurbishment over the years and the foyer with its beautiful staircase is impressive. The bar and restaurant are modern and inviting. Single rooms are small but not broom closets and furnishings were tasteful with all the modern amenities. Limited free wifi but this wasn't too much of an issue. There can be some noise from the shopping centre next door depending on where your room is located. We did no hear any noise from the train station however. This is a convenient hotel if you have an early morning rail connection or you want to be able to disembark the train in Inverness and walk directly into your hotel. Excellent value for money and I would stay at this property again but would probably be a little more particular about room location not facing the street or shopping centre.

Room Tip: Convenient Location and good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We felt very happy that you chose to return back to us and we are indeed fortunate to have a very high percentage of repeat guests. Please feel free to contact us directly for any assistance you may need prior to placing a new future booking and thus making your stay with us even more memorable and we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Highland Hotel

Address: 18 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Highland Hotel is the oldest hotel in the centre of the Highland capital, Inverness. In 2000, the property was carefully restored, retaining its unique character associated with the bygone age. As soon as you enter the hotel you will appreciate this. In the foyer the grand staircase, the inspiration for the Titanic's staircase, leads to the 84 spacious refurbished bedrooms - all with very high ceilings. The decor is rich with traditional furniture and deep colours. The rooms all have soft furnishings and antique style furniture. The excellent bathrooms are generally medium to large in size. For over 151 years, the hotel has been looking after travellers from all over the world. Perhaps its popularity stems from the fact the hotel is a grand place to stay. Large bedrooms, large lounge areas, quiet meeting rooms, good food, prime location and friendly staff all play their part. All local amenities close to hand, but within a 5 minute drive you are out into the dramatic Highlands. Lochness is only 7 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Royal Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Highland Inverness
Hotel Royal Highland
Royal Highland Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Highland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.