We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenmoriston Town House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Glenmoriston Town House to your Saves list
Glenmoriston Town House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Charming hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Great. The rooms are beautiful, clean and nice to relax in. The food is wonderful 'Abstract' Restaurant has a fantastic menu and Contrast is wonderful for lunch. I asked for a good place to go for walks and sightseeing the reception staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. An asset to the hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    126
    69
    34
    25
See reviews for
24
202
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

This hotel was the only real disappointment on our 10 day trip through Scotland. We thought this was going to be a real treat, but the hotel was just mediocre. Our room was very small, very hot, and the bathroom was very dated. For over $200 a night, it was a very bad value. We expected a beautiful room and a modern bathroom. Warning -- the wake-up service doesn't work (we heard the manager say "again?") when the receptionist told him of our problem. Lack of wake-up call caused a great inconvenience (there are no alarm clocks in the rooms, either). On the positive side, the breakfast was good and the location is great.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chepstow
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Very nice city center location next to the river bank in Inverness. Plenty of car parking & hotel looks nice. Did not try restaurant for evening meal & breakfast was OK.
Room I had was in an annexe & quite small; different to rooms you see on their web site....Room furnishings & bed were good quality.
TV in the room had poor picture quality & limited channels
Bathroom shower only & quite small with no window.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Stayed at the Glenmoriston for one night in February 2010, and had a magic time. we had a superior room overlooking the river with modern furniture, an extremely comfortable bed, and a massive bathroom.

Breakfast was lovely, and also enjoyed a nice candlelit dinner at the Abstrakt restaurant downstairs. Would defintely stay here again, but would be paying the extra to stay in the superior room onve again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

My husband and i booked a stay at the Glenmoriston May bank holiday to celebrate our 5Th wedding anniversary. The location of the hotel is ideal on the banks of the ness river with lovely views. Unfortunately the problems started when we went to check in at 4pm as advised on our arrival an hour earlier. When reception staff were presented with the pre paid hotel voucher it was noted that there was no record of our reservation.(The hotel booking was made through travel republic) We were asked to wait in bar area. Fortunately we were lucky to receive the last room in the hotel or not as the stay progressed (Room no 1). The room we were given was a standard room similar to what we had booked. It was extremely small,cluttered,dated and not in the best repair i.e broken tiles in the bathroom. Room security was poor with one flimsy lock insitu. I personally did not feel safe in the room. The room adjacent and upstairs was noisey when they flushed their toilet or turned their taps on a huge racket could be heard. As we were celebrating our wedding anniversary i had pre booked dinner in Abstract restaurant in the hotel.The menu choice was fair. The food quality was good, its presentation fair. We were given complementary food items in between courses. Between each course there was a considerable wait. Do not eat here unless you have lots of time on your hands and expect poor service. From starters to completion of desert took approx 2.5 hours. However when you ask for the bill and it doesn't arrive 30 minutes later and you haven't been asked if you drinks would like to replenished we left the restaurant. In the bar area we ordered post dinner drinks and for the restaurant bill. The bar staff alerted the manager on duty. We explained what had happened.Apologies were given and told that it would be followed up. Complemantry drinks were provided however still no restaurant bill appeared. We were asked by hotel manager to eat in other retaurant in the hotel the next evening where he would personally look after us. The next evening we decided to eat early 6pm booking. The service to begin with was satisfactory even though the restaurant was very quiet and their was only one waiting staff. Menu choice good. Food quality good. We had starters, main course and asked to see dessert menu. After 45 minutes we managed to get the attention of the only waiter and asked for the bill. which was incorrect as were charged for drinks ordered which never got to our table.Well where do i begin with breakfast the next morning. Terrible service for start to finish. Ordered the full cooked breakfast. Delicious. Continental buffet selection poor. No cold meats or cheese to choose from. Poor bread selection unless you ate sliced bread or croissants only. On our last morning breakfast experience didn't improve was told no brown bread available in the hotel as it didn't get delivered. There ars lots of small shops within hotel proximity where brown bread could be purchased. Upon check out lots of unhappy people checking out complaing about poor service and lack of staff in the hotel. We checked out of the hotal swiftly as possible not wanting to spent another moment there. Did get to see final sum for our restaurant bill from first night but no breakdown. Will definately not be returning or recommending to friends or family .will be advising against them staying here. In my opinion hotel does not deserve to keep its current star rating without lots of imput from management to improve this hotel overall.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed for the weekend, booked through laterooms at £75/night, but was forced to pay the at upgrade of £30 because the reserved room was really cramped. The room were extremely basic and for 4* this was not right. We ended up with a family room in an attic conversion, which again was fairly small - I'd hate to have 4 people in it! I have stayed in several hotels of all class and 2* guesthouses have been on par. Beds were extremely uncomfortable, far too soft, left bones aching next day.

Nevertheless, the dining areas and bar have nice modern decor and breakfast was varied and nice. Staff could not have been more friendly or helpful and I cannot fault them on this.

Location is perfect, 5 minute walk and your in the heart.

In summary, not worth the money. If your after a bit of luxury, which I was, then this is not the place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Stayed in Inverness for a night to do some shopping and hear a band... Was going to book a budget hotel but decided to increase the budget a bit and choose somewhere a bit more comfotable..... The Hotel was a real surprise... We stayed in a seperate building with 2 large windows overlooking the River. I upgraded to a superior room - it was spotless and really comfortable, but a bit on the small side. There were plenty of other guests but it was perfectly quiet - didn't hear a door bang once! We didn't take advantage of all the Hotel's facilites - the lounge areas downstairs would be perfect if you were stying with friends - big comfy sofas, nice lighting etc. Breakfast was tasty - no cheap and greasy sausages :) Would definately book again...... ps Did spot some rooms at the back and side of the main building that looked a bit like a motel extension?

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenmoriston Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Town House

Address: 20 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Inverness
#8 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenmoriston Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenmoriston Town House Inverness is a stylish four star deluxe property on the banks of the River Ness, perfectly located within the heart of the capital of the highlands it provides an impressive contrast to the cities more traditional hotels. The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with luxury and style and provides an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland’s abundance of unique landmarks. The Glenmoriston Town House is conveniently just twenty minutes from Inverness Airport and only ten minutes walk from the city main line station.Experience unparalleled luxury in one of our 30 stylish bedrooms, designed with comfort in mind boasting heavenly beds, delicious duvets, fluffy towels and luxury toiletries not to mention the impeccable service you'd expect! Great food and wine are very much entwined in the Glenmoriston Town House experience and we offer an exceptional choice of restaurants. For a memorable culinary experience, visit the acclaimed Abstract - the only 3 AA Rosette hotel restaurant in Inverness – or try the chic and stylish informality of the Contrast Brasserie. In addition, the hotel’s destination Piano Bar offers Scotland’s finest whiskies from over 250 distilleries and our mixologists are constantly developing the most wonderful cocktails to tantalise even the most demanding taste buds.The Glenmoriston Town House will ensure a quality stay whether business or pleasure. Just over 3 hours from Edinburgh or Glasgow it is the perfect property for any number of occasions, be it family get together, sporting holiday, romantic escape, or just a break away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Glenmoriston Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Town House Hotel Inverness
Glenmoriston Town Hotel
Glenmoriston Town Inverness
Glenmoriston Town House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenmoriston Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.