We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a four star hotel!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Glenmoriston Town House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Glenmoriston Town House to your Saves list
Glenmoriston Town House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
The Hague
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not a four star hotel!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Reception was not organized, could not find our reservation which we booked months in advance. When asked to speak with a manager and/or supervisor there was no one available on site. The £170 per night rate for luxury accommodation was no where near what they post on their website. The tv was small with only a few fuzzy channels.The room smelled stale and dusty. Hairs in shower and the towels smelled of fish. After a call to have a replacement none were delivered. I myself am an international traveller. Language difficulities however is not a good excuse to have restaurant staff constantly getting food orders wrong. Waiting to be served a drink on a patio for about 1/2 an hour I moved into the empty piano bar. There was no bartender and had to ask reception several times for some one to take an order. When I was served a drink the man left immediately not to return until I had to approach the front desk again. When we entered the Abstract restaurant the staff were unwelcoming and encouraged us to eat in the other one across the car park. This hotel may be fine for the business traveller , but for a family or weekend getaway it lacks the facilities and obvisously the staff required to run an efficient hotel. When I checked out no asked if I enjoyed my stay and when I asked again to speak with the manager at 10 am there was still no one on duty. I was extremely dissappointed with this overall experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    126
    69
    34
    25
See reviews for
24
202
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights - as a family of four in two rooms. Both were on the top floor of the old building, with river views, tasteful decor, and were excellent. Double room had a cosy little window seat with cushions, extremely comfortable feather-topped bed, extensive refreshments, HUGE bathroom with plenty of toiletries, helpful staff. Free wireless internet worked well on all our iPhones and laptops!

The sunny weather probably helped, but Inverness is delightful, especially if you walk down the river to Ness islands (turn left out of the hotel). Eden Theatre just opposite over the footbridge is worth a visit too. Plenty of good restaurants within walking distance of the Glenmoriston if you don't want to eat there (a bit pricey). Breakfasts included in our £120 room rate were perfect, with a choice of continental, porridge, kipper, full Scottish cooked. My only tiny gripe is that the coffee served at breakfast was in a very small cafetiere that cooled down within minutes.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Booked this through lastminute.com and got a really good rate £120 B&B in a truely beautiful room.
The attention to detail was fantastic - robes, toiletries, mineral water, newspaper, tea and coffee - all that you would expect and more!
Had a meal in the Brasserie and it was also fantastic - the food was wonderful and the staff were more than attentive.
Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

In bleakest January secured a reasonable deal £60 pp B and B. But the room was sooooo small and no bath, really can't see how they can justify charging more than the many nearby guest houses.
Just past the smelly kitchen referred to by previous reviewers, my room was very noisy, directly opposite a washing machine or dryer. It was eventually turned off but only at1am mid-week!
WiFi was intermittent , only one reading light and several TV channels did not work. Dinner in the Brasserie was mediocre to say the least, much tastier, and cheaper, options just a short walk along the river.
It was warm, on a very cold evening, but I did expect much much more given the website claims.

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

The room was OK with a good shower - no bath, but prices could have been lower, especially in January.
Had dinner in the Contrast Brasserie in the hotel annex. Service was good, but meal was spoilt by one of the "toughest" Sirloin Steaks. After complaining re this, when asked if I had enjoyed the steak, one might have expected to have been offered a complimentary coffee - now that would have been the sign of excellent service!
Breakfast was also, unfortunately, also served in the Brasserie. One does not expect to have to walk across a car park to a hotel annex for breakfast, especially in the winter.
Also, when checking out, hotel bill was presented on a blank piece of paper - no hotel stationary used, until this was queried. Also no "Did you have an enjoyable stay" asked by the Receptionist.
It is the little things that make an enjoyable stay - clearly there is room for improvement here.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

We were touring Scotland on an extended trip from New Zealand. This place was the highlight of our trip. The food in Axis restaurant was subperb. European serving staff who knew how to provide tip top service and the dishes were to die for. The deserts were out of this world. The wine waiter was a delight and although French knew as much about New Zealand wines as we do!

This set the standard for our whole trip, and unfortunately spoiled us totally.

I would definately recommmed The Glenmoriston if ever in Inverness.

  • Liked — fresh and clean
  • Disliked — rooms a bit on the small side
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

My fiance and I booked 1 night as we were having a night out in Inverness. We got a great rate through late rooms of £90 room only. The hotel has a nice reception and bar area. Our room was not in the main hotel area so we were a little worried when we were lead past the noisy kitchen to our room. We were please when the door blocked all the noise. The room was fairly pleasant although small but bed was huge. Our window looked onto the next building with a path running past our window so we did have to close the curtains. The coffee machine was an added bonus and we had no bath but a good shower. We had a few drinks in the piano bar which was really nice. Worth the £90 we paid would stay again.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenmoriston Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Town House

Address: 20 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Inverness
#8 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenmoriston Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenmoriston Town House Inverness is a stylish four star deluxe property on the banks of the River Ness, perfectly located within the heart of the capital of the highlands it provides an impressive contrast to the cities more traditional hotels. The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with luxury and style and provides an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland’s abundance of unique landmarks. The Glenmoriston Town House is conveniently just twenty minutes from Inverness Airport and only ten minutes walk from the city main line station.Experience unparalleled luxury in one of our 30 stylish bedrooms, designed with comfort in mind boasting heavenly beds, delicious duvets, fluffy towels and luxury toiletries not to mention the impeccable service you'd expect! Great food and wine are very much entwined in the Glenmoriston Town House experience and we offer an exceptional choice of restaurants. For a memorable culinary experience, visit the acclaimed Abstract - the only 3 AA Rosette hotel restaurant in Inverness – or try the chic and stylish informality of the Contrast Brasserie. In addition, the hotel’s destination Piano Bar offers Scotland’s finest whiskies from over 250 distilleries and our mixologists are constantly developing the most wonderful cocktails to tantalise even the most demanding taste buds.The Glenmoriston Town House will ensure a quality stay whether business or pleasure. Just over 3 hours from Edinburgh or Glasgow it is the perfect property for any number of occasions, be it family get together, sporting holiday, romantic escape, or just a break away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Glenmoriston Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Town House Hotel Inverness
Glenmoriston Town Hotel
Glenmoriston Town Inverness
Glenmoriston Town House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenmoriston Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.