We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenmoriston Town House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Glenmoriston Town House to your Saves list
Glenmoriston Town House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
blockbuster
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Attended a wedding here on the 12/10/13 and the service and facilities were flawless. Fantastic food (dinner and breakfast) along with immaculate rooms containing the comfiest beds I've ever had the pleasure of sleeping in, easily better than the 5 star Landmark Mandarin Oriental in Hong Kong I've previously reviewed. Staff performance coordinated by Ben was a major standout for me, could not have asked for anything more. As already outlined by previous reviews, the views and setting are picturesque making this hotel a must for any visitors to Inverness, easy 5 star Trip Advisor rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    126
    69
    34
    25
See reviews for
24
202
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invergordon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed at The Glenmoriston a couple of times with my partner and standards have not slipped.Good view over the river and nice rooms. Glenmoristons Piano bar has a great atmosphere with a wide selection of scottish whiskys, cocktails and fine wines. Nice place to stay for a traveller coming to the highland capital.

Two choices for food -

Contrast - Value for money mixed with fine dining. *Preferred choice*

Abstract - 8 course tasting menu is a must try, good service, more expensive fine dining.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Glenmoriston Town House Inverness have very comfy beds & pillows. Our room was spacious, clean and had a river view. However, description stated we had a shower but the shower was just a hand held shower in bath which was useless as bath was under the eaves. Advise checking this out before making your booking. Breakfast was good. Lovely bar but bit short of bar staff. In great location along the river Ness. Lots of accomodation along this road. No lift.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We arrived after a flight and feeling somewhat flustered and tired, the hotel manager greeted us with a warm welcome and a glass of wine each ;) the hotel has a very intimate friendly atmosphere, with the class and the elegance of a larger establishment. Needless to say we will visit again, from Cheltenham UK, Many thanks to everyone for making our stay rememberable ;)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A very nice hotel in a great location on the River Ness. walking distance to many restaurants. The staff was a bit abrupt, not too friendly. The room was clean, good value and very quiet.
The breakfast was hearty, but again the staff was disorganized, rude and did not follow up with coffee etc. It may have been an off day for everyone, as the hotel is a great option in Inverness.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here for the first time last night for our 10th wedding anniversary. The staff were excellent from arriving till leaving, food was of the highest quality and the whiskey menu was not bad too :). Overall a great place. We'll be back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel and were given a room in lodgings across the courtyard from the main hotel. Our room was quite large and nicely appointed with lovely views of the Ness river. The hotel is located on the banks of the river Ness and within a short stroll from town. There is a choice of restaurant - bistro or fine dining, but we only tried the bistro and found the food to be quite good. Internet was free and freely available, which is always a big plus for us. The room was well cleaned and the staff friendly and welcoming. Overall we thought the hotel was good value for money and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind and generous review. I send you the regards of the entire team. We wish you safe travels and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenmoriston Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Town House

Address: 20 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Inverness
#8 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenmoriston Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenmoriston Town House Inverness is a stylish four star deluxe property on the banks of the River Ness, perfectly located within the heart of the capital of the highlands it provides an impressive contrast to the cities more traditional hotels. The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with luxury and style and provides an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland’s abundance of unique landmarks. The Glenmoriston Town House is conveniently just twenty minutes from Inverness Airport and only ten minutes walk from the city main line station.Experience unparalleled luxury in one of our 30 stylish bedrooms, designed with comfort in mind boasting heavenly beds, delicious duvets, fluffy towels and luxury toiletries not to mention the impeccable service you'd expect! Great food and wine are very much entwined in the Glenmoriston Town House experience and we offer an exceptional choice of restaurants. For a memorable culinary experience, visit the acclaimed Abstract - the only 3 AA Rosette hotel restaurant in Inverness – or try the chic and stylish informality of the Contrast Brasserie. In addition, the hotel’s destination Piano Bar offers Scotland’s finest whiskies from over 250 distilleries and our mixologists are constantly developing the most wonderful cocktails to tantalise even the most demanding taste buds.The Glenmoriston Town House will ensure a quality stay whether business or pleasure. Just over 3 hours from Edinburgh or Glasgow it is the perfect property for any number of occasions, be it family get together, sporting holiday, romantic escape, or just a break away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Glenmoriston Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Town House Hotel Inverness
Glenmoriston Town Hotel
Glenmoriston Town Inverness
Glenmoriston Town House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenmoriston Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.