We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year at Bunchrew House-the Best! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bunchrew House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bunchrew House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bunchrew House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bunchrew, Inverness IV3 8TA, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 hotels in Inverness
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“New Year at Bunchrew House-the Best! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2007

What a great place! My husband and I stayed for one night on 31st Dec (my birthday!) and what a great time was had by all.

Our room (Craigton Suite) was everything you could ask for. It had wonderful views of the beauly firth, it had a lovely conservatory to sit and read. The bed and sheets were 5*, and the bathroom was enormous with a large tub and a power shower/ wet room area. Dont forget the underfloor heating! Bathrobes mini bar etc

The evening started with a champagne reception forllowed by the most wonderful 5 course dinner. We are both vegetarian so the chef went to an awful lot of hard work to provide the two of us with a different menu. The best meal ever in a hotel too. (Cashel blue cheese souffle fab). the service was second to none, - they even left me a birthday card at the table. All the staff were amazing, friendly and efficient (im sure they would rather have been having a dram at home after all!!)

The evening went on to dancing which i am glad to say everyone joined in. Then a fireworks display.

The only problem was that the room was so luxurious and cosy it was hard to stay away from it.

Quite frankly five star accomodation in a five star location with five star staff and food.

Cant wait to go back. Have booked already!

Well done everyone at Bunchrew

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    56
    17
    15
    5
See reviews for
49
166
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2006

Stayed one night and weathered an exiciting storm at this great spot on a loch. Rooms are wonderful, with buit-in fireplaces. Excellent staff. Nice restaraunt, but the menu a bit limited. Highly recommend!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — LImited menu
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2006

We celebrated our 15th anniversary with a trip to Scotland. We tried to see as much of the country as we could and Bunchrew was our favorite hotel by far. From the moment we arrived, Anne, Deborah and the entire staff made us feel special and welcome. Our room (Lovat) was large, comfortable and romantic with a 4-poster bed. And the FOOD! We couldn't wait for dinner each night, to see what surprises Chef Walter created. His chantrelle soup and lobster bisque were divine! Location is great - just outside of Inverness, very quiet, right on the water. Perfect as a base if you want to do daytrips to explore the rest of the Highlands. We'll definitely be back!

  • Liked — Great service and overall romance
  • Tips/Secrets — Each room is different, so if you want a particular room, call at least 4-6 months in advance.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2006

WOW,
what can I say?
Terrific hotel, gorgeously sexy rooms, food to die for!

I have stayed in a lot of hotels, but this one rates in my top 5..or maybe top 2.

The standard of the hotel is really high in cleansliness, friendliness, service....I could go on and on.
Lets just say, it lives up to what it says on its website.
Its located just on the outskirts of Inverness, it has a lovely welcoming feel to it, without the full "tartan Scottish" thing..low key, relaxing, but you just know you are getting the very best of Scottish hospiality when you check in.
The dining oom is lovely, with well spaced out tables with full tableclothes and silver cutlrey. Need I say more?
The rooms are all the say in the website.

13 out of ten would be my rating.

  • Liked — So romantic
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — they often advertise late booking deals so you can get a real bargain, dinner, bed and breakfast with an upgrade if you book late
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

My wife and I spent one night at Bunchrew in late September and found its location, ambiance, hopsitality and charm a delightful experience. We had gone there to celebrate my 60th, and the innkeeper Deborah warmly greeted us at registrationand had a special birthday card waiting for me at our dinner table that evening. Located just out of Inverness in a quiet location, it makes a perfect location to stay for area travelers, and the staff and service couln't have been better.
Arriving around 4pm after normal tea time and having 7:15pm dinner reservationsa, we sat in the cozy living room in front of a roaring fire and they served us tea sandwiches, a delicious cream of cauliflower soup, and , of course, tea. All of this - as you would expect - served by uniformed staff with lovely linens and silver service.
Despite the previous reviewers comments about dinner, we found the dining room with all of its glass windows and ambiance to be charming and the angus steak was delicious, but it was essentially one course instead of many as we had at other inns on our trip. That would be the only negative in our opinion.
The grounds along the Firth are beautiful and we walked the stony beach at low tide. We found two old glass jars buried in the sand. It's a great place to explore and the glawn and furniture above the beach is a perfect place to relax and soak in the sights and sounds of the sea birds.
Our room was the MacKaye suite, and it was perfect - with a beautiful view of the Firth. All room amenities were top quality.
We'd love to make a return visit and to stay at least 2 nights so that we could explore more of the Inverness area.

  • Liked — The charm and ambiance of the inn.
  • Disliked — Wish dinner could have been 4-5 courses instead of one.
  • Tips/Secrets — We loved the MacKaye suite overlooking the bay.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KieraB, manager at Bunchrew House Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2006
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the lovely review. We are just slightly unsure about what is meant by one course dinner as each night our menu offers an amuse galle, a starter, main course and dessert or cheese followed by coffee and petis fours. The set is price is 36.50 pounds.

We hope you will come again and sample some more of dinner menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

I got married and had my wedding reception at Bunchrew and it was so fantastic that I wouldn't know where to begin.

The staff are absolutely fantastic and will do anything to meet your needs. They are welcoming, friendly and professional from start to finish. And this is not just for brides and grooms - they treat all guests fantastically.

The food is also wonderful and they have an award winning chef.

The rooms are all comfortable, different from each other and have their own 'character'. They all have their own names - no room numbers. I have seen each and every room and they are all well presented - it was hard to choose a bridal suite.

The grounds are also beautiful and away from the hustle and bustle of the city, although it is still very easy to reach, being only 10 minutes away by car.

If you stay at Bunchrew, you will be blown away by the service of the staff and the high quality throughout. At my wedding I can honestly say that the staff felt more to me like guests than anything else. Absolute gems!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

My family and I stayed at the Bunchrew House just outside Inverness for one night in July 2006. The building itself is very picturesque and is situated on beautiful grounds amid flowering gardens. It is literally on the shore of the Beauly Firth. We stayed at this hotel during very beautiful and very warm weather. There are numerous chairs and benches set out on the grounds that were very inviting. It was lovely in the late afternoon to be relaxing in a lawn chair watching the sun set over the Firth and be surprised by the staff bringing a coffee service with scones, jam, and clotted cream. We stayed in the Ardfearn Suite which was nicely decorated, very spacious and quite comfortable. However, it was on the third floor (no elevator) so be prepared for a climb. Before I arrived, I noted the negative comments about the food by other Trip Advisor travelers, and decided to risk it anyway and have dinner at the hotel. It was indeed a mistake, and the biggest disappointment about the Bunchrew. Without going into detail, the ingredients were obviously fresh and of good quality, it was the way the chef put it all together that was surprisingly bad. I can't believe the restaurant has earned two rosettes from Michelin. I thought the breakfast was OK, much better than the dinner.The staff was very polite, charming and helpful. I would stay there again, but never eat there again.

  • Liked — Room quality
  • Disliked — Food in the restaurant
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bunchrew House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunchrew House Hotel

Address: Bunchrew, Inverness IV3 8TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#3 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#6 Family Hotel in Inverness
#12 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunchrew House Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th century Baronial mansion; lies in 20 acres of lawns and magnificent woodlands; only yards from the sea and 3 miles from Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Bunchrew House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunchrew Hotel Inverness
Bunchrew House Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bunchrew House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.