We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place To Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Inverness

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Inverness to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stoneyfield, Inverness IV2 7PA, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Good Place To Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel recently and found everything as it should. The bedroom was clean and tidy with everything you needed. The staff were friendly and well organised with the breakfast staff always stocking up the buffet with freshly cooked food. The bonus of staying with Holiday Inn Express is that there is a cooked and or continental breakfast included. This gets your day off to a good start. Based on my experience I would easily recommend this good value for money hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front and it was very quiet, I think all the rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your review and I hope that you will visit us again soon
Kind Regards
Cathy Macleod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    235
    88
    19
    5
See reviews for
105
188
21
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Huge tesco in a walking distance coupled with microwave in the hotel gives u a wide variety of cheap F&B options.. Nice cozy rooms, basic but warm breakfast, n very welcoming front ofc staffs... But hotel should think of relooking at the carpets n the prehistoric tv...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay. as part of our ongoing projects within our hotel we will be renewing our televisions and also some new carpeting will also be taking place.
Kind Regards
Cathy Macleod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I didn't expect mucg from this as we mainly chose this because the price was very reasonable but it actually turned out to be quite good. The rooms were very nice and had obviously been renovated recently, the view wasn't great but then again I didn't expect it to be. The location was also quite good, but I'd say that you need a car as it is right next to the highway. The breakfast was so much better than expected, there were actually different things to choose from, and most of it was good. So this hotel is definitely recommendable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your review and I am so glad that you had an enjoyable stay and that the hotel has exceeded what you initially thought. I hope you will come and visit again

Kind Regards
Cathy Macleod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed for one night as we were looking for an economical overnight stay in the area.

The location itself is handy for the A9 and access to the south, north and east of Inverness but the immediate location is nothing special. It is within walking distance of a large retail park but options for eating out there are limited to Pizza Hut and Burger King. We did not try the Snow Goose pub immediately opposite the hotel as it seems to get unfavourable reviews in Trip Advisor.

The room was relatively modern and nice and clean, as was the rest of the hotel.

We had breakfast (included in the room rate). The food was OK, a reasonable range given the market the Holiday Inn Express chain is aimed at. The service itself it was friendly and polite.

If I was looking for an economical stopover for a night in the area then I’d consider this hotel again although if I was staying more than a couple of nights I may be more inclined to stay somewhere more centre in Inverness.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent comments concerning your stay and I hope that you will consider staying with us in the future

I would like to add that although the Snowgoose restaurant reviews may not be favourable at the moment. The hotel is in no way affiliated with Snow goose restaurant and can only pass on what our guests comment about their experience to the management there.

Kind Regards
Cathy Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were offered this hotel on a tour package to Scotland for one night only, thus really do not have in depth knowledge of location etc however, one things which was very handy during stay was its distance to Tesco, which is hardly 5-10 minutes. Very beautiful interior and polite staff.
One thing, I hated most during stay was Wi-Fi, it is not complimentary, it should be something that hotel management should consider.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms shared by out co-travelers had a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope that you will be able to visit again soon,
We do offer free Wi-Fi in our lounge area

Kind Regards
Cathy Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you want to explore the surrounding area its a great place to stay - but only if you have a car! Located across the road is a tesco supermarket (24/7), petrol station, shops, cinema, and 3 food places.

Its easy & quick to get to the city centre, aviemore and elgin!

Basic hotel, free breakfast & good base

Also theres a microwave available for use

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
thank you for your comments and i hope you will visit again soon

Kind Regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

It was handily located for my trip.

Typically HI Express - Well presented and all the staff were friendly.

There were a couple of staff members who were 'in training'. Well done and "Good Luck" to them both and thanks for your thoughtfulness.

Room Tip: Nothing to do with the hotel - The adjoining pub was not at all friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
So glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and your good wishes have been passed onto our staff in training

Kind Regards
Cathy Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Inverness

Address: Stoneyfield, Inverness IV2 7PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Inverness
#15 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Inverness 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the comfortable Holiday Inn Express Inverness hotel, 6 miles from Inverness Airport and 1 mile from Inverness city centre. Green surroundings make the modern Holiday Inn Express Inverness a pleasant base for your trip. Relax with homely touches such as free wireless Internet. We're 1 mile from Inverness city centre and close to the A96, with ample complimentary parking. It's a short taxi or bus ride from Inverness Airport to the hotel and you can reach Stirling and Perth via the nearby A9. Invite up to 30 people to seminars in Holiday Inn Express Inverness' meeting room, which overlooks the countryside. Delegates can relax in the breakout space and enjoy a business lunch prepared by our friendly staff. Visit companies in the Inverness Business and Retail Park next door. Enjoy your own snacks in our sociable Great Room and choose from the daily complimentary breakfast buffet which features a continental selection and hot items. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Hotel Inverness
Holiday Inn Inverness
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Inverness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.