We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but only if you can get a deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Inverness

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Inverness to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stoneyfield, Inverness IV2 7PA, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good but only if you can get a deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We try to avoid staying in Inverness as its hotel prices have gone through the roof since it got its "city status" and chain motels/hotels such as HI Express and Travel Inn prices are nudging towards £100 per night !!! Instead we try to arrange our journey to be able to overnight at Perth which is much less pretentious but on this occasion we had to book Inverness and fortunately, perhaps because it was in a slow period before Christmas, we got a price on line of just short of £60.
Given that HIE now throw in a "hot" buffet breakfast we took the offer and weren't disappointed in the hotel for that price. It was up to this chain's standards - ie you know what to expect - ie you can navigate to the loo in the dark without stubbing your toe on the bed etc etc. Nice touch here was the "soft pillow" offer which, after a long drive was most welcome.
The only real downside to this stay was the adjacent restaurant "The Snowgoose" which used to be pretty good for a pub supper but their standards have dropped and the food was neither hot nor particularly good quality. Maybe their microwaves were playing up as we weren't the only diners complaining about the food.
The bar wasn't a particularly pleasant experience either - not because of the drinks, but because of the surly bar staff. I was left to wait while two scottish customers who came in after us were served. Ok, perhaps I should have spoken up but should I have to ?
HI Express should "have a word" with the people who run the restaurant as it reflects badly on them as much as the restaurant given that it is located on the same property.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gminverness, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel and I am glad that up to the run up to christmas you managed to find our hotel affordable for your budget at that time. Although I cannot comment for the restaurant across from us I will be meeting with the manager this week and will certainly pass on your comments to him.
I hope that you will be able to visit us again soon and wish you a very happy 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    214
    82
    17
    5
See reviews for
91
178
21
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Binfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Just a Holiday Inn. but isn't it a beauty to know in advance what to expect? :)

though there were some things that made this Holiday Inn a very good Holiday Inn:
1) Staff was incredibly helpful, polite and courteous, always greeting you with a smile
2) Complimentary breakfast: much better than expected for a freebie
3) Very reasonable price: even on New Year night the cost of the room was very affordable
4) Extra electric heater in your room so you can make it as warm as you like.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gminverness, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback which I have relayed back to the staff, it always pleases us when our guests not only enjoy their stay but share this with ourselves and others. we hope that you will come back and visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

As usual a reasonable night only one problem TV reception very poor need to be sorted.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Just had a two day break at the Express by Holiday Inn at Stoneyfield near Inverness.
First, the complaint.
On checking in and producing the printed form inviting us to take advantage of "Complimentary Wi-Fi during your stay" we were told that the Hotel were not doing this as they were changing providers and were maybe not going to continue the offer. As it was on the Hotel wbsite a few hours before we checked in, I found this strange. I tried to connect my laptop in the room and found that there was indeed a Wi-Fi connection available and I simply needed a vouched code for access. I duly returned to reception and after a little gentle persuation given a code by the duty manager. (which unfortunately expired on the second evening). My complaint is:- Why was I told that the provider was changing and the offer was not available, when it clearly was. Sorry guys, but if you advertise "complimentary Wi-Fi" when booking, you really shouldn't use excuses for not providing it.
OK that's that out of the way. The Hotel was fairly close to a sizeable retail park with a couple of fast food outlets and a big Tesco,so you won't starve. Quite a few other shops to browse as well.
A bus stop, where you can get a cheap trip into Inverness city is situated in the retail park, with very regular buses,so you can have a night out without worrying about driving, or taking taxis if you're on a tight budget.
The Hotel has a huge car park and a decent restaurant next door . The Snow Goose has a good menu and reasonable prices.
The rooms are modern and clean, with a good sized en-suite shower room. Unlike a lot of reasonably priced ( I hate the phrase "Budget") hotels, the room heating worked and was controlable by the guest. The bed was adequet but not as comfy as we had experienced in other Holiday Inns. The public areas were clean and modern, with little damage to fittings etc. The Great Room, with small bar and TV's was well furnished and again, spotlessly clean. Breakfast was served here from 06.30 til 10.00am, and was of very good quality. There was plenty of choice for all tastes, the tables were kept cleared and cleaned (the duty manager was
also helping when the restaurant was busy) The staff were polite and helpfull, as was Weronika, the young lady who looked after our room. It was nice to see a mixture of staff ages, as guests from teenagers to OAP's can feel comfortable asking for help. I wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again, nor to recommend it for anyone who wants to visit Inverness, but doesn't want to shell out a fortune for some of the overpriced city places. Top marks Express by Holiday Inn, Inverness, thanks for a nice break (don't forget the Wi-Fi though)

Room Tip: We always try to get a room where we can see the car, but it's not required here. We were at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gminverness, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your experience of Staying at the Holiday Inn Express Inverness, I am extremely sorry about the confusion to do with your internet voucher and am glad that this was sorted out to your satisfaction. The offer that you are speaking about is free wi-fi for the first night stay only as provided. Again accept my apologise for the misunderstanding. I am glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and thank you for your detailed description of what we offer and how comfortable the staff made your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This is a great hotel. Room and bathroom were lovely. Bed was comfortable and choice of pillows. Breakfast in morning was wonderful. lots of variety of hot and cold food. Staff were very pleasant. Nice outlook out our window over the water.Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Coming from New Zealand, on our first trip to Scotland, we came to Inverness with no knowledge of the city. This hotel isn't central, however having a rental vehicle, it was easy to access the city from the hotel. We enjoyed our stay, with helpful staff. Complimentary breakfast was also welcomed and more than adequate. Would stay there again if we ever made it back to Inverness.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gminverness, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and we really hope that when you visit the highlands again you will stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We arrived early, before check in time, having travelled overnight adn asked if we could check in. We were told we could if our room was ready, but sadly it wasn't so we went away and had a nap in the car until we could check in. The weather by then was atrocious with sleat and a gale force wind, but we were given a warm welcome. After a shower, we fought our way across the car park to the inviting-looking pub for dinner, only to find a note on the door to say they had had to close due to the weather conditions (we found out later that the roof was leaking). Back at the hotel we asked where we could eat and were told that we could have a take-away delivered to eat in the lounge. Several menus were handed to us & we ordered a very nice Chinese meal. Other guests ordered Indian food or Pizzas. It was just a pity that the hotel hadn't put a notice on the inside of their door to warn us that the pub was closed and save us the very wet and chilly walk.
The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Complimentary hot & cold breakfast was included in the very reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gminverness, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Happy New Year to you and thank you for letting us know about the good and the bad points of your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and sadly the staff within the hotel on the evening of the Snow Goose shutting its doors were not informed themselves to do with this until later in the evening, we certainly would have informed our guests if we know about the problem but would like to apologise for the Inconvenience cause
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Inverness

Address: Stoneyfield, Inverness IV2 7PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Inverness
#15 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Inverness 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the comfortable Holiday Inn Express Inverness hotel, 6 miles from Inverness Airport and 1 mile from Inverness city centre. Green surroundings make the modern Holiday Inn Express Inverness a pleasant base for your trip. Relax with homely touches such as free wireless Internet. We're 1 mile from Inverness city centre and close to the A96, with ample complimentary parking. It's a short taxi or bus ride from Inverness Airport to the hotel and you can reach Stirling and Perth via the nearby A9. Invite up to 30 people to seminars in Holiday Inn Express Inverness' meeting room, which overlooks the countryside. Delegates can relax in the breakout space and enjoy a business lunch prepared by our friendly staff. Visit companies in the Inverness Business and Retail Park next door. Enjoy your own snacks in our sociable Great Room and choose from the daily complimentary breakfast buffet which features a continental selection and hot items. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Hotel Inverness
Holiday Inn Inverness
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Inverness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.