We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub with amazing food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront

The Waterfront
70-71, Huntly St | Inverness-Shire, Inverness IV3 5JN, Scotland
+44 1463 233870
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 197 Restaurants in Inverness
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Stilwell, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great pub with amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We went to the Waterfront to have a bite at a riverfront pub. We expected ordinary pub food. The selection proved to be terrific and the meal was delicious. The vegetarian enchilada and vegetarian lasagna were great. I had the lamb and it was terrific. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    92
    19
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good food, nice atmosphere and a lovely view of the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

have been here on a few occasions with my partner and cant fault it at all, always very busy. staff are friendly and overall a really nice atmosphere

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips served in paper!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A pleasant, riverside pub/restaurant. Excellent, friendly service.

"Posh Fish & Chips" comes served in paper (just like those from a fish and chip shop). But you do get a plate. The quality of the food is very good, the service is quick and the value is pretty good.

The wine is reasonably priced and (as this is also a pub) there is a wide choice of other drinks.

I would happily go here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“good food, good atmosphere, good music!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This pub/restaurant is everything you could want in a Scottish pub.
The place has a very nice, casual atmosphere with a beautiful old bar. The riverside location on the River Ness is pretty, and easy walking to get to (no outside seating that I noticed). The tables next to the windows are probably the best seating, if you can get one. Service was very friendly and reasonably prompt.
The food was perfect for the venue--lots of traditional Scottish dishes and everything was fresh and tasty, and of course good beer, whiskey, and wine choices from the bar.
My favorite part of the experience might have been the music, which sounded live and was probably coming from somewhere in the back room, which we did not go into, but they were playing traditional Scottish melodies, and at some point, I found myself singing Loch Lomond along with the fellow at the next table, and I swear we were both getting teary!
So, a very pleasant place to either have a casual bite or hang out at the bar while enjoying some good music.
They did seem pretty popular with both locals and tourists, so I would suggest reservations if you want to have a meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Birthday Memory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Thank you to Peter and crew who made my birthday a great memory. We were weary travelers from Lundin Links, and needed some food fast. Although they were full to the brim on a Friday night, Peter moved tables and chairs to accommodate us. He even asked the kitchen to stay open late. The food was lovely, in appearance and taste. There was live music and terrific local guests to visit with. Stopping here at The Waterfront was definitely the highlight our of long day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.