We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront

The Waterfront
70-71, Huntly St | Inverness-Shire, Inverness IV3 5JN, Scotland
+44 1463 233870
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 199 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The items on the varied menu werre well cooked and priced competitively. Aileen is an asset to the establishment. She gets you to buy a bottle of wine when you only thought you wanted a glass!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    101
    20
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Birthday night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Four starters - Posh Fish and Chips x 2, Sirloin Steak, Steak pie and chips. and yes value for money. Scottish entertainment after our meal, what more could you ask for.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“More restaurant than pub.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Good service by waitress. Friendly staff and great cider on tap.
Food was good and tasty. They have something called scampi
But it is deep fried heavy breaded fishy item, not what I was expecting.
Do not order the "scampi"
They can not control the clients so hearing the "f" word every other word is something you need to put up or choose another place to eat.
We choose to go to another restaurant the next night.
In fact if I lived near by I would choose another place almost very night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWaterfront_12, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your visit to the Waterfront. I was disturbed and disappointed by your reference to foul language being used in the restaurant. However, to suggest that our customers would be subjected to foul language on a regular basis could not be further from the truth. We are a family run establishment where families and children are welcome and we do not accept any inappropriate behaviour of any sort.

With regard to your Scampi - this is a dish of shrimp or prawns, typically sautéed in garlic and butter and often topped with bread crumbs - which is how we do it at the Waterfront and it is a very popular dish with our customers.

I do hope that this did not spoil your trip to Inverness and if you are back here again perhaps you will visit us and experience the atmosphere that so many other customers have commented on,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brentwood essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food and service was excellant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great location by the waterfront, with very helpful staff and acceptable food. The staff are the main selling point who went out of there way to cater for our needs.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly, atmosphere, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is the place to be on a Thursday night. It has a local feel, good food, reasonably priced drink and
great Scottish music from Kenny. A hidden gem.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.