We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Italy

Little Italy
Stephens Brae, Inverness, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 181 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Excellent food, friendly and efficient italian staff, great atmosphere, in a very handy location. We had a leisurely lunch and felt that we could have lingered all afternoon if we had time.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    83
    34
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A little bit of Italy in Inverness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Went here with a work colleague following the reviews on TA. Were not disappointed. Its a small place with only a few tables, however it looked very authentic (forgive the Goodfellas/Godfather/Scarface posters) and the food and service was excellent. The bruschetta was the best I've ever had. Well recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inbhir Nis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Faultless and the best Pizza anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Second visit for us and it proved that they are no one hit wonder. The service was faultless and the staff were attentive without being too in your face.

There's a lovely atmosphere in the restaurant and it's very family friendly ( I think the owner was in with his kids when were there this evening) it has a real continental feel to it - which is not too bad for a rainy and blustery Inverness.

The food was just brilliant, I'm not one for gushing and can be very particular when it comes to eating out but I really can't speak highly enough of the place. If you like Italian food then do yourself a favour and avoid Bella Italia/Pizza Express etc etc, you won't regret it. It's not much more money and the Pizza was the best I've had anywhere.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Unexpected suprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Stumbled upon this place whilst on a recent business trip.

Excellent food, backed up with great service.

A real gem of a place & will visit again on my next trip.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wow what a gem...you really can believe all the great reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

I don't usually believe all the reviews I read on here...but with so much praise for Little Italy I thought there must be something good about it!

So.....I took the plunge and took my husband there for dinner this evening to celebrate his birthday. We're a young couple on a tight budget so usually go for the same old chains as we know what to expect....but such a refreshing change to find somewhere lovely like this! I can genuinely say we were both really impressed tonight.(and having worked in the restaurant industry for the past ten years I'm pretty fussy!!)

Restaurant is fairly small (9 tables), totally spotless with very friendly professional & efficient service and delicious home-cooked Italian food. Relaxing atmosphere, very reasonably priced menu and yummy food! Uassuming, un-pretentious, not trying to be something that it's not. Just honest, good food at great prices. Shame this level of service idn't the norm....feels like a novelty to find it. We'll DEFINIETLY be going back for more...maybe coffee or lunch on our next shopping trip?!

So yes you can believe all the good reviews!!

One suggestion though...worth booking ahead! Seems to be a very popular place!!
Thanks Little Italy for a lovely evening and keep up the good work!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Italy also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Little Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.