We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outlander Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inverness Day Tours

Inverness Day Tours
Boglashin, Inverness IV63 6XJ, Scotland
01667-455699
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 48 Activities in Inverness
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experts and authors in Scottish history and heritage take you on exploratory excursions, building in distilleries, boats, ferries and attractions. 6 passenger vehicles (8 by arrangement). Our ethos is an exclusive and personal approach to providing scenic and historic tours. Tours visit Skye, the far north, Loch Ness (speciality), Applecross (amazing), Speyside (hic!), City to City, Great Glen, precious Glen Affric, Glen Coe, Mull and Clan Tours (speciality). Also Diana Gabaldon Outlander Tours (speciality).
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outlander Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

We spent a couple of weeks in Scotland in August and one of the highlights of our trip was the Outlander Tour with Hugh Allison. While more expensive, we opted not to open the tour to others. Hugh's knowledge of all things Scottish was quite amazing. My husband has not read the book so many of the references did not mean anything to him but he also thoroughly enjoyed the day. I would highly recommend Inverness Day Tours.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
LA, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Tour with George”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

We had a wonderful Isle of Skye tour with George Munro on Thanksgiving this year. George was extremely knowledgeable about the area, Scottish history, and also quite charming. We highly recommend George as a guide! We had a lovely visit and hope to visit again in the future!

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Doesn't Get Better Than This”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

We spent three fascinating days touring the Highlands with Hugh Allison in late September. His vast knowledge of history and culture, and charming personality, kept us entertained throughout the whole trip as he created a route that took in all of our requests. When there was a question that he could not immediately answer he always got back to us later, no matter how arcane the historical note might have been. And, when the little snafus that can happen in any journey (in our case a ferry with mechanical problems), Hugh was able to reroute the tour with aplomb, making sure to substitute sites of equal interest, despite adding many hours to his own driving time. We will book again.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

I booked an Outlander tour with Hugh and then opened it up for the share a tour scheme - and spent the day with some new friends :) Hugh was incredibly knowledgeable and the scenery was amazing. I loved being able to see the places mentioned in the book, and others that represent places in the book (such as Lallybroch). Highly recommended.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We spent a wonderful afternoon touring castles and cathedrals, and visiting the Whiskey Shop in Dufftown. Hugh's knowledge of the area, and his love of Scottish history made it both very enjoyable and educational. Being able to cater the tour to the four of us made this the perfect way to enjoy Scotland. I would not hesitate to book Inverness Day Tours the next time I am in Scotland.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inverness Day Tours also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Inverness Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inverness Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.