We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isle of Skye Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hebridean Explorer

The Hebridean Explorer
Inverness, Scotland
+44 7943 863292
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private Tours around the Scottish Highlands and Hebrides with a local Highland guide. Explore stunning views, dramatic landscapes, ancient and medieval history, Scots Gaelic culture and Highland traditions. John Alasdair Macdonald, is a native of the Outer Hebrides and was raised in a Scots Gaelic speaking family. Getting "off the beaten track" and discovering the best of the region is always our aim on all our Highland and Hebridean tours.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Isle of Skye Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Thank you John for a fantastic day exploring the highlands. We truly enjoyed our day spent visiting and learning from. Your passion, knowledge and generosity made this day unique and memorable. We will recommend your tours without any hesitation.

Francoise and Guy, Montreal, Canada

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Thank you John for an outstanding day. Not only did the weather put on a spectacular show for us, but your sense of humour and knowledge was second to none. You were extremely flexible with whatever we wanted to see and do and looked after us at all times. I will recommend your tour to everyone as this is the sort of tour people should experience if they want professionalism and personal service. You are remarkable and we loved every second of it. We hope to come back some day and see more.
Shannon & Jared, Perth Western Australia

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have just had the best day possible, with a charming man who goes out of his way to make your day special. Would totally recommend one of his tours.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, IN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I am kbtigger's sister and I heartily second everything she said in her review. I'm a history buff and John knows the history of Scotland inside and out. In addition, I'm a speech/ language pathologist and very interested in the meaning and pronunciation of Gaelic, which John patiently explained. The scenery and places we visited were spectacular, but John's knowledge and friendliness made the trip. My husband wasn't along on this trip but after hearing about it, he wants to visit, so we'll be back!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Highly Recommended Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I took a tour in October with John to visit Urquhart Castle, the Loch Ness, and Eilean Donan Castle. We traveled around the UK for 17 days, and our day with John was by far our favourite. We were very impressed with the ease of booking a tour, as well as John's flexibility to develop a customized itinerary.

John's knowledge of Scottish history made for fascinating travel discussion and his obvious passion for Scottish heritage helped fuel the fire. We thoroughly enjoyed discussing history with John, as well as Scotland's many ties with Canada. It felt as though we were traveling with an old friend rather than taking a guided tour.

We strongly recommend John if you're looking to gain a better appreciation for the Scottish culture and heritage. It was an absolute pleasure to spend the day with him, and we have told all our friends and family to visit Scotland and take a tour with the Hebridean Explorer.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hebridean Explorer also viewed

 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Hebridean Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hebridean Explorer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.