We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Turkish food?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aspendos

Aspendos
26 Queensgate, Inverness IV1 1DJ, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 181 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Like Turkish food?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is the restaurant for you if you like Turkish and Mediterranean food. The owner is attentive to every detail to be sure the food is exactly what you expect - great food. The location isn't as desirable as some since it's really near a bus stop, but if you're exploring City Centre anyway it's very convenient.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    106
    27
    12
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great Turkish food, with exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is the third time I've been to Aspendos with a large group of business colleagues. Each time it gets better.
The service is second to none in Inverness.....you might get treated to a traditional Turkish folk song and dance if the owner is in full flow.....the food is excellent and nothing is too much of a problem.
When large business groups go for dinner, there's always a chance that the group all arriving at different times, choosing to share, change orders etc will annoy the staff, but I have to say the owner and waitresses seem to take it all in their stride, laughing and joking with their customers.
We choose meze to start with then all ordered individual main courses. The food was delicious, beautifully cooked and served relatively quickly given the size of the party.
This is definitely one of the best restaurants in Inverness

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great service-great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We ordered the mezze menu (which comes w/your choice of a glass of red or white wine) for the four of us - all was delicious. Very nice ambience & service. Would go again if we lived there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Dissapointing service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We did not have a good experience at the restaurant. Surprising after reading other reviews. We went in at 8 pm and asked how late they were open. They told us 9:30 and then asked 'are you planning to stay longer' in a way that suggested that we don't want to seat you if you do. We also saw another couple leave after sitting down. Service was dissapointing.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I was taken for dinner here two nights in a row. The food on both occasions was fresh, delicious and authentic to the region.

I really can stress enough how impressed I was with both the food and the staff. The service was first class. The owner personally took the bone out of my seabream for me.

I'm going back to Inverness for a wedding next month and the first thing I'll do is stop in here for my lunch!

Thank you to the kitchen and the wait staff for making such a great impression. My mouth is watering even just remembering your food.

Well done and keep it up!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aspendos also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Aspendos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspendos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.