We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with our one night of luxury” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Teaninich Castle Hotel

Teaninich Castle Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Teaninich Castle Hotel
Save
You added Teaninich Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Alness, Inverness IV17 0XB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #194 of 227 Inverness B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed with our one night of luxury”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We had planned this night as our 1 luxury night of our road trip in Scotland - staying in a scottish castle! We opted for the four poster bed with exclusive use of hot tub, champagne and chocolates. Great deal for £140, so we thought. The sat nav took us to the distillery rather than the hotel itself. When I tried calling the land line it wasn't working. We started to think the place didn't exist, when we did get through we were told that the sat nav will do that and to continue down the same road. My first advise to the hotel owners is to state that on their website. Secondly, when we arrived we were told the card machine had broken the night before at a wedding and therefore we would have to pay cheque or cash. They could have advised that on the phone 10 minutes previously when we called. Once we arrived we were seen to our room and then came downstairs for a couple of drinks in the bar and some dinner. We were effecitvely the only guests staying apart from a few wedding guests from the previous night who we saw later on that evening. After dinner we went for a walk in the grounds, however we soon discovered that the owners (whether current or previous) had in fact sold off a lot of land and there wasn't really anywhere to walk to. We did however find the hot tub .... dusty, full of leaves and a broken branch! So when we enquired about the 'exclusive' (by that I mean walk down two flights of stairs, out the front door and round the side of the castle opposite the staff kitchen door!) use of the hot tub we were told they tried it last night for the bride and groom but it had tripped the electrics. I'm afraid to say that hot tub had not been touched in months. We managed to get a discount for the whole evening and gave back the champagne and chocolates as we were not bothered about our romantic night of luxury, however, we wish we had left and seeked alternative accommodation instead.
Decoration in the bedroom was tired especially the dated pink bathroom suite with pink carpet, food was average - chicken with haggis served with leaves and chips - rather an odd combination and breakfast was locally sourced from Morrisons.
A big disappointment compared with some of the delightful self catering and B&B's we had already stayed in for half the cost.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane01349, Manager at Teaninich Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
I am really sorry that you felt our breakfast came from morrison as this is not true, all our sausages and black pudding etc come from our local butchers,
there was a wedding on the night before you arrived, the guests were enjoying the lounge up stairs for meeting up with there family. The land was sold many years ago and we do not advertise that were part of the distillery. The castle still has lovely grounds and path ways for walking or running, you can go as far down as the A9,
we did give a discount on your room as away of appoligising for the hot tub.
We would like to appoligise for any disapointment on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    1
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
8
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oxelösund
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

My husband and I travelled from Sweden for my nephew's wedding and it was worth the trip. We stayed 3 days and enjoyed a 'full Scottish' breakfast every morning freshly cooked. The wedding was well organised and expertly carried out by the friendly and efficient staff. The location was perfect for wedding pictures with spring blossom on the trees. The whole family enjoyed themselves and would recommend Teainich Castle for family celebrations and holidays.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Brilliant location for a wedding, the staff where amazing will be going back up in the summer to see the family, definitely will be staying there again

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alness
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

This is a really lovely place to stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone coming to the north of Scotland. I am local to the area and stayed at the Castle on the occasion of my daughter's wedding. The marriage and reception was held at the Castle and we couldn't have wished for more. The meal was first class the accommodation very spacious and comfortable. The staff took great care of us and I have no doubt we will be using their restaurant facilities very soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

I got married and stayed here on the 23rd April this year. What an experience. From the moment I arrived everything ran like clockwork, Jane and her staff made sure everything was in the right place at the right time and I had a completely worry-free wedding.
The wedding breakfast was delicious, a choice of 3 starters, mains and deserts. Everyone had something good to say about the food and I had two deserts (I know at least one person who tried all three...)
The room was perfect with a beautiful four-poster bed and a lovely large en-suite bathroom, and the champagne went down well too!
All in all it was a wonderful day, one of the best I have ever had. Thank you Jane, Phil and all your staff for going above and beyond for me..

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Thank you to our hosts & staff who made our stay so enjoyable. The arrangements for our son's wedding and reception were excellent. The accommodation was stunning, with the Castle set in lovely grounds. We were made so welcome and feel we have made new friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Thank you so much for making our week-end so good and relaxing, even though there was a wedding taking place on the Saturday!
The atmosphere was so friendly that we were always at our ease with you and, should we visit Alness again, (which I hope we will), we would be delighted to spend it in the Castle.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Teaninich Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teaninich Castle Hotel

Address: Alness, Inverness IV17 0XB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Teaninich Castle Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teaninich Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.