We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gathering Place - CLOSED

Gathering Place
87 Academy Street, Inverness, Scotland
01463 713244
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Me and my boyfriend went into the gathering place with our son and im very sceptical about cleaness and i havent seen any thing dirty the food was really high standard we had a lot of food aswell the gentleman also asked if we want to take the rest of the food with us the chinese lady was lovely she served us the food and i will deffo go back when we r in inverness and i will tell every one of my friends to come here very good atsumspere

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gathering_boss, Manager at Gathering Place, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your feed back we are happy you enjoyed your visit and we are always happy to have families with children that is what our restaurant is all about good food good service and of course cleanliness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    5
    0
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Health issue”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Usually, I'm very sceptical about having Chinese food in Britain. Because most places cater to the tastes of drunken pub goers, the quality bar tends to be rather low. My Dad was visiting from the States and dying for Chinese food, so we went in -- somewhat enticed by the "Malaysian" tag for this restaurant. My Dad, who grew up in KL, didn't recognise any Malaysian dishes. Perhaps the worse part of the experience -- the waitress had a persistent, deep, wet, hacking cough. She severed water and prawn crisps after coughing into her hands. We left shortly after. We didn't order any food, but nothing on the menu seemed to say anything more than the typical greasy fare.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gathering_boss, Manager at Gathering Place, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
I am sorry to hear you was not happy with your visit but I can assure you and all our customers that our food is certainly not "greasy fair" we only use the finest ingredients and best grades of meat as you will see from all the other reviews 99% of our customers are happy and do return.
I can only appolgise for the member of staff in question she had only just turned up for her shift and was promptly sent home after 20 minutes as soon as I realised she was not well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Friendly restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great restaurant serving a vast range of Chinese and Oriental cuisine.Well priced quality house wine.Friendly fast service.Best chinese food in inverness.Pay a visit here and you will not be dissapointed!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Finally a decent sit down Chinese in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

After a few ales round town on New Years eve we got hungry so decided to stop in here for something to eat. The restaurant was nice and busy with a good atmosphere. Its smaller than i thought it was going to be but its nice and light not dark n dingy.

The orders for drinks and food were taken swiftly in a friendly manner. The courses arrived in good time, fresh and hot. I had Peking ribs followed by Singapore Fried rice which was yummy and a large portion too. The ribs were lovely and tender with the sauce not too sickly just right.

My girlfriend had the curry wontons and then the hong kong style chicken with crispy noodles. The waitress did ask if she like sweet things because it was extremely sweet dish and in the end she could only have about 2/3 of the dish because of this and also the size of the portion again.

Im very glad that the Gathering Place is a good place to eat because Inverness has been lacking a decent sit in Chinese restaurant since Dickens shut down. I would be happy to return here again with no question. The prices are also very reasonable too which is another reason to give it a try.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
379 helpful votes 379 helpful votes
“Nice food and even better takeaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This place is always so quiet don't know why though! Not long to wait for food, no parking outside but there is about 600 yards away.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gathering Place also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gathering Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.