We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended if you love good spice and generous portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rajah Restaurant

The Rajah Restaurant
2 Post Office Avenue | Queensgate, Inverness IV1 1DN, Scotland
(01463) 237190
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 186 restaurants in Inverness
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Northampton UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Recommended if you love good spice and generous portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

In the inverness area and like a curry? Get yourself to the Rajah. Friendly service, clean and tidy and great portion sizes. I had a Chicken Jalfrezi which was huge, hot and had lots of peppers, onions and nicely flavoured and well cooked chicken. Also had a lovely mushroom bhaji and a cauliflower (gobi aloo) bhaji with lots of flavour and spices. Others in my party were equally pleased with a vegetable biryani stuffed with various veggies and a nicely warm chicken tikka masala. Cobra is good on draught and kingfisher is bottled. A good pickle tray too with lovely lime pickle to be had. Other Indians are nearby but i feel this is as good as its going to get for this city.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    111
    72
    23
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went there on the off chance on Saturday and got a table in about 10 minutes. I asked for hot meat puri which isn't on the menu but the chef made it for me and it was the best I'd ever had. Will definately be going back and may even start using their takeaway. Its a fair bit further than our usual but well worth the drive!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Rajah is an Indian restaurant in a basement location just off the centre of Inverness. It is outstanding. Claiming to be the oldest Indian restaurant in the Highlands, Rajah seems to have had enough time to perfect some truly fantastic spice blends for what is nominally a very generic menu.

Rajah is seemingly well known in the area so was quite busy. Despite that it was still possible to fit a large group in on a friday evening. As a busy restaraunt it is of course bustling which is how an Indian should be. The decor is plain and simple.

Service is fine, efficient collection and dispersal of orders without being too pushy on extras like more drinks.

The drinks list is somewhat more extensive than an Indian needs but the standards are all there.

Price is very reasonable, clocking in at around £7-£9 for a main dish.

Most important in an Indian restaurant is the food. It is outstanding. The Dansak was pitch perfect. A note of caution on the Jalfrezi which comes somewhat hotter than standard. The traditionals starters are all fine, it is the main courses which excel. The blend of flavours is just right, so rare for an Indian to be able to hit exactly the right notes.

A real surprise to have such superb Indian this far north. Rajah compares with high quality South Asian cuisine found among the best in more traditional curry locations much further south in Britain.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quite big and nosiy, but excellent food and very good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This restaurant is not suitable for a romantic dinner for two - too big and nosiy for that. The food however, tastes wonderful. We had papadums, two starters and two veggie curries. Way, way too much, but really delicious. The waiters were quick and polite. We loved it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linlithgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“100% in all respects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Myself and my son booked a table here on Saturday 18th May. The restaurant was mobbed but we were still seated at our allocated time of 7pm after being served with a drink in the bar area.

We ordered poppadoms which were served with an excellent tray of relishes. My son ordered Chicken Kurma which he declared to be the best he had ever tasted. I ordered my usual Chicken Dupiaza which most Indian chefs destroy by over cooking the onions. The Rajah cooked this dish to absolute perfection with succulent fresh chicken and onions which had a slight crunch to them.

We also had a pilau rice, chappati and naan bread that were all first class.

I would recommend this establishment to anyone who visits Inverness and the eating experience surpasses any that I have had in Indian restaurants in the Central Belt. It is 31 years old and is as busy and popular as it has ever been.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rajah Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Rajah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rajah Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.