We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B, lovely folks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Quaich Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Quaich Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Quaich Bed and Breakfast
36 Greig Street, Inverness IV3 5PX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 220 Inverness B&B and Inns
Oxford
1 review
“Excellent B&B, lovely folks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here after a wet day in the Cairngorms and really enjoyed it. The owners are both lovely people, the rooms were comfortable and clean, the breakfast was big and delicious, and every aspect of our stay was easy. I would highly recommend this spot to anyone visiting Inverness or just passing through!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
32
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Host is very friendly and helpful. Could not fault the room. Breakfast was good too. Love the pancakes! Was with my partner so this place was ideal as it was quite! Located just before the walk bridge to the heart of the city centre. If I were to come back to Inverness I would stay here. Value for money too. High speed free wifi is also a added bonus!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We reserved here after we searched a lot, and this b&b had the best price!
When we arrived Arafeh showed us the room (very clean) with en-suite, suggested us some restaurant and pub to hang out in the evening and explained us how to reach Loch Ness (very close). He was really very helpful, and very polite!
In the morning there was no cooked breakfast but it was not a big deal since we had some gorgeous pancakes and very good croissant + muffin + coffee + fresh fruit and everything else! Really a good breakfast (I loved muffins). During the breakfast Arafeh spent some time with us, telling us some funny story about the city: he's a really welcoming guy!
I can't say good enough about him!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed at the Quaich during a ten day hill walking extravaganza so I really was only there to sleep and eat breakfast. The continental breakfast was wonderful after the horrendous greasy fry-ups I'd faced at the previous B&B I was booked into. Lots of fruit and cereal plus pancakes and a boiled egg with tea, coffee, juice etc.

The decor of the hotel was modern, fresh and welcoming as was Arafeh himself though he did ask me to pay for my stay the day before I was due to check out (Is this a new B&B thing? The previous B&B owner asked me to do so as well - maybe I just look dodgy - I declined and paid the day of check out).

Free wifi was excellent (ask Arafeh for the password) as was the flatscreen TV.

The rooms aren't greatly soundproofed so if there is a full house and a lot of coming and going to the communal bathroom, you can find your sleep a little more disrupted than you might like but for the price and the location, this was a great B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I want to be fair about this B&B but I have to state I was a little disapointed.

Pros - clean as a whistle, room and bathroom is spotless, bedding smelt very fresh The TV is a good size and really good reception. Location is excellent as near centre but really quiet part of town.

Cons - room was freezing for most of the part - unable to control heat in room. Owner was unable to offer breakfast at the time I was leaving as it was deemed 'to early (6.45 am)'

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

Loved my stay here at the end of a Highlands driving tour. The best B&B I stayed at during the whole trip. One suggestion I would make is to offer a Scottish breakfast option to those who would prefer one

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stopped for one night but I can say this was the friendliest B&B experience I have ever had.
Arafeh (I hope that's his forename) couldn't have been friendlier from my original booking conversation to on the morning of departure he brought me extra coffee as I watched the Rugby World Cup final in his guest lounge!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Quaich Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quaich Bed and Breakfast

Address: 36 Greig Street, Inverness IV3 5PX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Quaich Bed and BreakfastThe Quiach B & B is a charming Victorian terraced house built in 1872. The house has been tastefully refurbished retaining many original features and offers guests quality accommodation at affordable prices. Located in a quiet residential area, just close to the city centre, The Quaich is a 3-5 minute walk from the shopping pedestrian precinct, Inverness Castle and Loch Ness is only a 15 minute drive from the house. With a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere and It's the ideal base to visit Inverness and the Highlands and also a good base for golf and family holidays.Our RoomsWe have 2 double rooms with en-suite facilities, one twin room and one single room. Both twin and single room share bathroom facilities. Please note that the twin room is on the 2nd floor and it might not be suitable for some people.Price includes: Substantial continental breakfast Wireless Internet all around the house Parking on the street (permit provided) Non-smoking establishment We are opened all year round (even Christmas Day and New Years Day) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Quaich Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quaich Bed And Breakfast Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quaich Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.